Homebrew Dslinux

RadiationX

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Nov 2, 2010
Messages
4
Trophies
0
XP
2
Country
Okay guys.. I've been trying to get Dslinux working for a while... I have a DSI With AKAIO 1.8.1, acekard 2i
I have tried other threads. But none of them seemed to work... So I thought i'd start one with some professional help :3
But yeah
ohnoes.png
I've tried patching the ROM. But it would still load with 2 white screens

Btw... Please dont rage at me for starting a new thread etcetc;
Anything more you need to know Just ask...


Thanks guys
 

Kwigg

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2010
Messages
112
Trophies
0
Location
Lancashire
Website
Don't have one
XP
37
Country
RadiationX said:
Okay guys.. I've been trying to get Dslinux working for a while... I have a DSI With AKAIO 1.8.1, acekard 2i
I have tried other threads. But none of them seemed to work... So I thought i'd start one with some professional help :3
But yeah
ohnoes.png
I've tried patching the ROM. But it would still load with 2 white screens

Btw... Please dont rage at me for starting a new thread etcetc;
Anything more you need to know Just ask...


Thanks guys
 

Porobu

Gbatemps Shiny Latias
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
1,042
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
422
Country
Kwigg said:
RadiationX said:
Okay guys.. I've been trying to get Dslinux working for a while... I have a DSI With AKAIO 1.8.1, acekard 2i
I have tried other threads. But none of them seemed to work... So I thought i'd start one with some professional help :3
But yeah
ohnoes.png
I've tried patching the ROM. But it would still load with 2 white screens

Btw... Please dont rage at me for starting a new thread etcetc;
Anything more you need to know Just ask...


Thanks guys
 

Fudge

Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra
Banned
Joined
Aug 26, 2009
Messages
2,653
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
New York
Website
Visit site
XP
642
Country
United States
Rydian said:
Just so you know, the web browser on it is worse than the DSi's built-in one.

Just making sure you're not wasting your time.
Who said he wanted to use the web browser?
 

tomrev

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2009
Messages
365
Trophies
0
Website
www.buycheapipodshop.com
XP
323
Country
United States
Forget to use DSLinux on DSi or have no expansion ram.

DSLinux Web browser is not worse than DSi. Retawq (a really weird web browser name ?) is best text base web browser on DS system. It has several advantages over other DS web browsers - increase wireless speed cap to over 100kB/s (other DS web browser has about 10 - 20kB) , stability, multitasking (this is the miracle for DS Homebrew soft, switch tab from web browser to text editor). Only minus point is no capability to render image. However, expansion RAM is MUST to run it.

DSLinux had very high potential but developer stopped to develop.
frown.gif
 

RadiationX

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Nov 2, 2010
Messages
4
Trophies
0
XP
2
Country
I /didnt/ REALLY want it for the browser lol...
But ya' know. Im into this stuff rofl. >.>

The Dsi has something like 16MB of ram.
And the Lite had like, 8mb...
So really the opera expansion is only adding an extra 8MB.
so really the ram input is the same as the DSI... Plus it has a faster CPU
So you Would really be getting the same results as the ds lite was getting...
I dont see why it wont run o.o
 

Dialga.The.Maste

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2009
Messages
143
Trophies
0
Location
Earth
XP
295
Country
Canada
RadiationX said:
I /didnt/ REALLY want it for the browser lol...
But ya' know. Im into this stuff rofl. >.>

The Dsi has something like 16MB of ram.
And the Lite had like, 8mb...
So really the opera expansion is only adding an extra 8MB.
so really the ram input is the same as the DSI... Plus it has a faster CPU
So you Would really be getting the same results as the ds lite was getting...
I dont see why it wont run o.o
When you use a flash cart on the dsi it goes into a state called DS mode, while in this mode

the cpu is underclocked to ds level
the ram is limited to 4mb (ds level)


So its like using a ds without slot-2
 

RadiationX

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Nov 2, 2010
Messages
4
Trophies
0
XP
2
Country
I knew about the "ds mode" and they cant get into the normal DSI mode cause the common key.
or something. Shoulda thought of it
ohnoes.png

You guys are always smarter than me.
 

ninjaapple

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 2, 2010
Messages
97
Trophies
0
XP
102
Country
Chad
tomrev said:
Forget to use DSLinux on DSi or have no expansion ram.

DSLinux Web browser is not worse than DSi. Retawq (a really weird web browser name ?) is best text base web browser on DS system. It has several advantages over other DS web browsers - increase wireless speed cap to over 100kB/s (other DS web browser has about 10 - 20kB) , stability, multitasking (this is the miracle for DS Homebrew soft, switch tab from web browser to text editor). Only minus point is no capability to render image. However, expansion RAM is MUST to run it.

DSLinux had very high potential but developer stopped to develop.
frown.gif

Actually, there is an option in DSlinux to render imager. check it on youtube.
mellow.gif
 

ninjaapple

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 2, 2010
Messages
97
Trophies
0
XP
102
Country
Chad
RadiationX said:
I knew about the "ds mode" and they cant get into the normal DSI mode cause the common key.
or something. Shoulda thought of it
ohnoes.png

You guys are always smarter than me.

well now the common key has been found so guess what.......
yaynds.gif
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    K3N1 @ K3N1: Maybe one day I can be Bruce almighty