DSi emulation potential.

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by ShakeBunny, Oct 21, 2008.

Oct 21, 2008

DSi emulation potential. by ShakeBunny at 7:58 AM (4,437 Views / 0 Likes) 32 replies

  1. ShakeBunny
    OP

    Member ShakeBunny GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    316
    Location:
    Nope
    Country:
    United States
    From what I've found on the DSi it says that it will be more powerful than the DS Lite in several aspects (RAM, CPU, etc.)

    So, what systems should be able to be emulated on the DSi? I'm not expecting something like N64, or PSX. I just want to know if the DSi would be able to run anything that the DS Lite cannot. Thank you.


    Oh, and I know that the system running the emulator has to be three times as powerful as the system being emulated (I suspect many will comment saying something like this.)
     


  2. Wabsta

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I expect an update of NeoDS... [​IMG]
     
  3. ShakeBunny
    OP

    Member ShakeBunny GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    316
    Location:
    Nope
    Country:
    United States
    Cool, NeoDS is awesome.

    I just thought of something. Will the DSi be able to emulate the SNES's special chip for certain games like Super Mario RPG and the Megaman X games? That would be really sweet.
     
  4. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    I thought it only had more ram (which doesnt mean much of anything anyway)
     
  5. Wabsta

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Wouldn't that be emulating like 4 processors? (sound en normal processor from the snes itself, and from the cartridge?)
    I'm not to sure on this one, but from what I know about it, it would be impossible for the DSi...
     
  6. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Dont make me rant you.
     
  7. m3rox

    Member m3rox GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,673
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    Where do people keep getting that it has more ram?

    All I've seen on the specs is that it has built in storage space.
     
  8. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    I've never heard anything but vague rumors about the DSi having more processing power. I certainly haven't seen any specs about how much more powerful the CPU would be. As for the RAM, it's probably just the 8MB browser RAM pak built in (it has to at least have this to have the browser built in), which is smaller than what flashcarts offer and quite possibly slower.

    My guess about how much extra emulation potential the DSi has over the DS: None.
     
  9. Wabsta

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well, the NeoDS works better with more RAM (If you have the Ram pack inserted, it just works better).
    So, they are probably going to let it work with the built in ram, since it's more then 4mb now...
     
  10. Wabsta

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Oops, double post.
     
  11. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    This crap is nonsense, and almost as prevalent as that 24-hour legal ROM rule people are so fond of.
     
  12. omatic

    Member omatic GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    408
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    The only difference in terms of emulation performance is that the SD card slot might be of some use. According to the released specs, there isn't a difference in processing power, ram, or etc.
     
  13. kikuchiyo

    Member kikuchiyo 大阪に生まれた男

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    687
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    This whole thread's nonsense.

    How would we know? The machine's not out anywhere! People aren't even sure how much RAM the thing has.

    And even if the DSi is more powerful than a Lite (and I'm not convinced it will be - I haven't been paying that much attention to the machine's specs, but I'm pretty sure it's fundamentally a DS with a better screen , some cooler firmware, and a couple of cameras duct taped on), it wouldn't matter at all if it's locked down tighter than Fort Knox.

    What are the chances of my toenail clippings transforming into a penguin army, who serve my every beck and call, until all the nations of the earth are under my rule or destroyed? Just asking.
     
  14. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    About the same as the chances that the DSi will be able to emulate the SNES games that have extra processors in the carts.
     
  15. mysticwaterfall

    Member mysticwaterfall Streamforce Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,868
    Location:
    Right behind you
    Country:
    United States
    The emulation potential will be the same as it is now... as others have said the only real spec difference is the expansion pak built in. So, just look at homebrew that uses the pak, like Quake 2 ds (required) or SnEmulDS/Jenesis (used for large games).
     
  16. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Unfortunately, that is incorrect. Emulation is not an exact science, and emulating the different architectures and chips in can use considerable computing power. Conversely, some things are very easy to emulate (like an 8086 processor on an ix86 machine)
     
  17. Japhle

    Member Japhle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    236
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    While the Emulation capabilities aren't increased, I wouldn't be surprised if the GBA hardware was still in it so then you could download GBA games from the DS ware store and play them,(this statement has no known proof behind it.) which would mean that you could still play GBA roms on your DS even without the slot 2. with a firmware hack or something or other.
    edit:I meant via the onboard memory or SD slot.
     
  18. kikuchiyo

    Member kikuchiyo 大阪に生まれた男

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    687
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States

    From this I assume you have a DSi. How is the firmware, cool? Easily hackable?
     
  19. xJonny

    Member xJonny ...

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395
    Country:
    The answer is we don't know.
     
  20. mysticwaterfall

    Member mysticwaterfall Streamforce Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,868
    Location:
    Right behind you
    Country:
    United States
    I don't need a DSi to know this. We already have everything the DSi has that makes a difference in emulation if you have the expansion pak. The new features of the DSi - cameras, mp3 player, sd slot - don't magically make it able to run emulators the DS can't. An N64 emulator could care less if there's a camera.

    I do think the the SD slot has some possibilities of hacks to run stuff directly from it, for instance gba games if they offer those as downloads. But that's not really an increase in potential, as the DS can already play gba games. It would just make it easier to do since you wouldn't need a slot 2, and it wouldn't be emulation in the first place since they would run native.
     

Share This Page