DSBrowser - Dual Slot

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by cornaljoe, Dec 6, 2007.

Dec 6, 2007

DSBrowser - Dual Slot by cornaljoe at 6:10 PM (4,465 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. cornaljoe
    OP

    Member cornaljoe GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    523
    Country:
    United States
    DualSlot Browser lets you browse and copy files to the filesystems available. Meaning if you have two FAT based flashcarts inserted, you will have access to both!

    Be aware this is a very basic version. Hopefully once I learn more about DS coding, I'll get a cool GUI going. Suggestions and comments are welcome. Thanks to all that helped me get started!

    Download
     
  2. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    That's sounds awesome! I hope you'll make it very good [​IMG] The double DLDI support is awesome!
     
  3. cornaljoe
    OP

    Member cornaljoe GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    523
    Country:
    United States
    The second DLDI(DLDS) section was created from work by cybermind on GBAdev. All thanks should go to him on that matter! But glad you like it!
     
  4. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Then he's a freaking genious! If I understand it right, it patches an empty DLDI file, and it puts that code in the original file to support the SLot-2, right? That's awesome! I hope more programs will make use of this, until every homebrew game can support dual DLDI [​IMG]

    Btw, you did an awesome job too, by making the program itself. I'm going to try it right now. Unless you've screwed it up really badly you'll make the frontpage of the site I'm admin at, NDSS.NL [​IMG]

    I did a couple of tests using my M3 Real and M3 Lite:

    1st DLDI: M3 Real
    2nd DLDI: M3 Lite
    Running from: M3 Real Slot-1 mode
    Result: works great

    1st DLDI: none
    2nd DLDI: M3 Lite
    Running from: M3 Real Slot-1 mode
    Result: works great (thanks to DLDI autopatching)

    1st DLDI: M3 Real
    2nd DLDI: M3 Lite
    Running from: M3 Real Slot-2 mode
    Result: works great

    1st DLDI: M3 Real
    2nd DLDI: M3 Lite
    Running from: M3 Lite
    Result: two black screens

    Very impressive!


    Edit: Posts edited together, duplicate deleted. Don't double post. [​IMG] - Ace
     
  5. pasc

    Member pasc GBATemps official GBA Freak

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,570
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Could you please add keyrepeat (pressing the down button thousand times is annoying) in the next version please ? Thx in advance, and good work, keep it up !
     
  6. science

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    Can't try this out because I don't know where my Supercard is, but does this let me put roms on my supercard, and boot from slot 1, and select a game from either my slot 1 or slot 2? Giving my 1.5 GB of storage instead of just my 1 GB in slot 1?
     
  7. cornaljoe
    OP

    Member cornaljoe GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    523
    Country:
    United States
    Pasc:

    Yeah, I meant to implement this right before I released it. It will be in the next version.

    maikelsteneker:

    During my test your last senario should work. Are you booting the file correctly? Does the M3 Lite use the "ds.gba"?
    Thanks for the support! To find out more about DLDS go here: GBAdev Forum. Cybermind posted his work there.

    Seja_8:

    I included Bootlib 1.2 in my project. It doesn't work on any of my carts but should work on a few. Bootlib only works with homebrew. But if my program can't boot it, just copy and boot it from your cart menu! Find out more about Bootlib here: GBAdev Forum

    Thanks for the input! And can you post your test results with booting on different carts. Also you don't have to have two carts to use this. You can patch for just DLDI and it will still work. Only with one FAT of course.
     
  8. roadbusta

    Member roadbusta GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    Australia
    I tired this program by launching it from my M3 Real, patched with the supercard lite .DLDS file, to be used with supercard lite in slot 2. When I load the program from the m3 real, it simply says "Auto DLDI compatible" then gives me two black screens.

    I tried running an already M3 Real patched .nds file through the .bat file, again used with the supercard lite DLDS file, but the same thing happens.

    When I use a clean DualSlotBrowser.nds file in the M3 or Supercard lite, it boots, but I only have acces to that specific cards directory. Eg if I boot from the M3, I only have access to the M3 files, or If i Boot from the Supercard, I only have access to the supercard files.
     
  9. enigmaindex

    Member enigmaindex the Scarecrow

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    663
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Wait i am bit confused. So if you have both a Slot 1 and Slot 2 Devices and had 2 gig in slot 1 and 1 gig in slot 2. This homebrew would combine the space together (not sure if that is th right way to say it) and give you 3 gig? Yeah n00b question deal with it.

    EDIT: Or am i on the totally wrong track?
     
  10. SuperGeek

    Newcomer SuperGeek Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    It allows you to manage the spaces on the Slot-1 and Slot-2 devices at the same time, but individually.
     
  11. enigmaindex

    Member enigmaindex the Scarecrow

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    663
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Oh okay, thats awesome. Thanks for clearing that up SuperGeek, too bad i don't have a Slot 2 to try this out on.
     
  12. .::5pYd3r::.

    Member .::5pYd3r::. Viva La Pizza

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    The GREAT Southern Land :D
    Country:
    Australia
    are you going to release the source?
     
  13. cornaljoe
    OP

    Member cornaljoe GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    523
    Country:
    United States
    jaymz52:

    Yeah, but I want to clean it up first and get the program to 1.0. It's full of code that does the same thing and things to cover up bugs. Now that I have a better understanding on what to do, the new version should be easier to maintain and understand.
     
  14. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    No, I used the NDS-file. The M3 should work okay with them though. But I'll try again later today.
     
  15. cornaljoe
    OP

    Member cornaljoe GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    523
    Country:
    United States
    roadbusta:

    It's hard to figure out the problem without having the hardware. I can suggest to try this DLDS file: Modified Supercard DLDS.
     
  16. nl255

    Member nl255 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,995
    Country:
    I bet the problem is the auto-dldi patching that some slot1 cards do. Is there a version of the no-dldi patcher that works with dual dldi software yet?
     
  17. Arch Feline

    Member Arch Feline GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    230
    Country:
    United States
    Does this mean that I can run DSBrowser on my R4

    View files, move, copy, rename and delete, create new folders?
     
  18. kwliu

    Newcomer kwliu Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    I found it seldom work for my M3DS Real & M3 SD Perfect.
    When it fail to show fat2: it take a long time to load.

    It's wonderful and useful when copy game from DS friend when computer not available.
    The most need improve is the copy speed, don't know limited by homebrew or DS/FlashCart hardware.
     
  19. CTi

    Newcomer CTi Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Sweden
    Hi

    I tried DualSlot Browser v0.8 on a M3 DS Real with the M3 SD DLDS and it worked fine. However, I'm running into problems when I try using it with my slot-2 M3 Lite Proffesional using the same DLDS. When I try starting the program I see some quick numbers flashing by and then the screen goes blank. Any suggestions on what I might be doing wrong?
     

Share This Page