DS Lite can't turn on after replacement cover

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Clumsyhands, Mar 7, 2010.

Mar 7, 2010
  1. Clumsyhands
    OP

    Newcomer Clumsyhands Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Denmark
    After my L button got loose I decided to buy a new case since I already had to open my current up to fix it.
    While installing the components into the new case my brother messed with the speakers causing one cable to get loose.
    I soldered this cable back on to the DS again and it seemed like it fitted now I think I might have hit the cable here (thats the flatwire I think)
    Also when I placed the bottom case on the DS the power button inside broke off, this could be fixed by turning the DS on again with a long tiny object like a toothpick (ordered a new switch to fix this)


    Now the problem is when I turn on the DS, the lower screen simply flashes white for a split second and the DS goes out again.

    Is this caused by breaking the flatwire, and if so can it be fixed simply by replacing the topscreen with a new one?
     
  2. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Check the Ribbon cable to the top screen. A White screen flash means the non-flashing screen is broken. This is usually caused by an inproperly secured ribbon cable.

    [​IMG] Be more careful while messing with electronics!!!
     
  3. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Chances are it's not inserted properly, lemme find you an image of what it should look like.
     
  4. Clumsyhands
    OP

    Newcomer Clumsyhands Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Denmark
    Do you mean like the cable just isn't properly inserted?

    Looks like it's inserted from top to bottom and the hinge is attached properly, but will await your picture and try to make it work again [​IMG].

    and looks like the ribbon has a little bend on it, would replacing this ribbon (ordered a new screen, with ribbon) make the DS work again?


    And yeah next time I'll give it all the time it needs [​IMG]
     
  5. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The bit where the cable connectings into the motherboard is where it's probably gone wrong.

    But if you did break it, then yes; a new top screen will fix the issue (but you have to desolder the speakers off the old screen and back onto the new one).

    Should be fully inserted as shown here:

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Clumsyhands
    OP

    Newcomer Clumsyhands Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Denmark
    Oh god, yay.

    been using that DS every single day, was afraid I might have to buy a new one, and soldering is no problem for me, I'm actually quite good at that particular part [​IMG]
     
  7. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You really should have checked all your connections before ordering a new screen to be sure you needed it
     
  8. Clumsyhands
    OP

    Newcomer Clumsyhands Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Denmark
    Well I can still cancel the order in case it works [​IMG]
    Which I know first thing in the morning ^^

    Thank you Jamstruth and ShatteredScreens for the help was afraid everything was lost.
     
  9. Clumsyhands
    OP

    Newcomer Clumsyhands Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Denmark
    Great news! it worked, cable was 1 mm out in one side, cancelled the order of the screen and just need to replace the power switch now [​IMG]
     
  10. BlackDave

    Member BlackDave Official GBATemp "Cleanup Guy"

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    The Promised Land...
    Country:
    United States
    I encountered a DS lite that was broken off the hinges at the LEDs side... The bottom screen would flash but not the top. Lucky me the "accident" only displaced the ribbon
     

Share This Page