DS #2050: Populous DS (Japan)

JPH

Banned!
OP
Banned
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
6,881
Trophies
0
Website
jphtemp.net
XP
1,140
Country
United States
^^ndsrelease-2897^^
Killermech posted a tutorial to show you how to add English language to the ROM
yaynds.gif


Quick tutorial:
1. Download
dslazy


2. Open your Populous NDS ROM and select 'NDS unpack', wait till it's done.

3. Go to the folder data/text/ and open the English folder, mark everything and select copy.

4. Now go back one folder and open the Japanese folder, select paste and select yes to overwrite everything.

Save the text file and go back to dslazy.

5. Select 'NDS Packer'
When it's done, select where to save it and there you goÂ
wink.gif
 

Punx

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 15, 2008
Messages
24
Trophies
0
XP
216
Country
Taiwan
Is there much jap text?? Playable??? I'd love to try this out.... great times way back when, with populous and megalomania, and some other game that looked like populous.. damn forgot the name
 

Jon eBegood

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 10, 2006
Messages
56
Trophies
0
Age
46
Location
Neupont City
Website
users.skynet.be
XP
130
Country
Belgium
Is there much jap text?? Playable??? I'd love to try this out.... great times way back when, with populous and megalomania, and some other game that looked like populous.. damn forgot the name

Powermonger???

250px-Powermonger_Amiga.png


Played it a lot on my Amiga...

Gonna try this after work...
 

Punx

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 15, 2008
Messages
24
Trophies
0
XP
216
Country
Taiwan

Killermech

Cookie Monster
Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2004
Messages
1,809
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
274
Country
Good news guys. I checked the rom and it contains english text as well. Not everything gets translated, but enough to make this 100% playable it appears
yaynds.gif

popee1.jpg
pop2hp6.jpg
pop3hu3.jpg


EDIT: Multi6, languages:
Japanese
English
Francais
Deutsch
Italiano
Español
 

sazman

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 26, 2007
Messages
31
Trophies
0
XP
23
Country
YAY! thanks killermech downloading now brings back a lot of memories but even though it is playable is there the common grammar mistakes like in most half arsed translated games? i know im arkward but ill try this out and get back to you lot

P.S is the language set to your ds or do you have to change it in options
 

Killermech

Cookie Monster
Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2004
Messages
1,809
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
274
Country
YAY! thanks killermech downloading now brings back a lot of memories but even though it is playable is there the common grammar mistakes like in most half arsed translated games? i know im arkward but ill try this out and get back to you lot

P.S is the language set to your ds or do you have to change it in options
I did some quick looks and played some tutorial games. The grammar is alright.. very understandable though. Atleast from what i've played so far.
No option to change it, you'll have to unpack the rom and change in a text file or do the usual 'copy over english folder to japanese' to get it.
 

Punx

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 15, 2008
Messages
24
Trophies
0
XP
216
Country
Taiwan
YAY! thanks killermech downloading now brings back a lot of memories but even though it is playable is there the common grammar mistakes like in most half arsed translated games? i know im arkward but ill try this out and get back to you lot

P.S is the language set to your ds or do you have to change it in options

I did some quick looks and played some tutorial games. The grammar is alright.. very understandable though. Atleast from what i've played so far.
No option to change it, you'll have to unpack the rom and change in a text file or do the usual 'copy over english folder to japanese' to get it.


Err.. newbie to this. What programs do you use to unpack the rom?

EDIT: NVM, found DSLazy.. will try to play around with it
 

Dominator

the world end without you
Member
Joined
May 9, 2007
Messages
695
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Not on the earth
Website
www.ipodtutofast.com
XP
287
Country
France
ok let me explain to you what i learn

all the forlder are cretaed (all languge) but only japanese and english are translate

When i try to place the fr folder the in game texte don't appear on if you open a french or other language file there is nothing write in it plus the size of japanese is 83.5 ko (english too) but other folders are 2.52 ko

so All are created and you can easly make your own translation from the english text (some texte still mising in english folder (option for example are blank ) )

thanks EA !!!! (yeah rally!!)


can someone make a link to the dslazy tutorial (for noob) i'm to busy now lol
 

Killermech

Cookie Monster
Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2004
Messages
1,809
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
274
Country
Quick tutorial:
1. Download dslazy
http://blog.dev-scene.com/ratx/archives/1

2. Open your populous rom and select 'NDS unpack', wait till it's done.

3. Go to the folder data/text/ and open the English folder, mark everything and select copy.

4. Now go back one folder and open the Japanese folder, select paste and select yes to overwrite everything.

Save the text file and go back to dslazy.

5. Select 'NDS Packer'
When it's done, select where to save it and there you go
wink.gif


EDIT: Didn't notice I used the text file way on the rom I already copied the language folders on
wacko.gif

Will work now.
 

Dominator

the world end without you
Member
Joined
May 9, 2007
Messages
695
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Not on the earth
Website
www.ipodtutofast.com
XP
287
Country
France
and don't forget only english text are present if you chose an other language the game work but all are blank box XD its funny

(for me i don't touch this file i just replace the eng folder by jpn folder and odify the jpn folder ( i work to write the mising english text )
 

Hadrian

Everybody knows badgers like MASH POTATOES!
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 12, 2004
Messages
16,984
Trophies
3
Age
41
XP
4,746
Country
United States
Sweetness! Had a feeling there was English in this one, I just hope its a better port than Sim City.

Would try it but gotta do tempcast in a bit.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: @BentlyMods, Priiloader and BootMii as boot2 and you're all set