Downgraded to 4.1 from 4.2 Bricked wii but have boot2 installed and sh

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Dynodevil, Nov 5, 2009.

  1. Dynodevil
    OP

    Newcomer Dynodevil Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As title says, i retardedly managed to brick my wii due to rushing on my part and not taking the time to read into it more. However from what i've read now i see a glimmer of hope,, i have bootmii as boot2 installed and showing upon bootup but i'm afraid i'm at a loss as to where to go from there. Anyone have any ideas? I know i'm a fucknut for doing it in the first place but i come here for help.
     
  2. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Just go intro Homebrew and install a functioning system menu IOS from the WAD Manager.

    If that doesn't work, it might be possible to run a .elf from the bootmii folder, not sure, haven't tested it. Cboot2 is ideal for that.

    Also, if you have a nand dump, thats the best fix.
     
  3. matguitarist

    Member matguitarist GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Just install ios 60 v6174 with NUSD pack to wad if you were in 4.2 ios60 v6400 is a stub cause the 4.2 system menu use ios 70 downgrade to 4.1 only give brick .... cause downgrader download the latest version of ios that is stub ...
     
  4. Daco

    Banned Daco Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    473
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    Belgium
    you can say that again
     
  5. ziddey

    Member ziddey GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    542
    Country:
    United States
    dop ios / mod can get you your needed ios60 back.

    mod can also install 4.2 system menu again
     
  6. Dynodevil
    OP

    Newcomer Dynodevil Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've got the system menu wad for 4.2, i presume i can just install that through bootmii then and i'll be able to get to the system menu again?

    Edit - I don't have preloader btw which is another error i know, just bootmii as boot2, can i actually save the wii or am i fucked. I can see the wii, homebrew channel but neither load and then SD and settings

    Edit 2 - Managed to get wad manager to boot through using cboot2 and other such things following a guide, the only problem is that my wiimote doesnt respond once i get there, i can power the wii with it but then it just stops at wad manager.
     
  7. nikeymikey

    Member nikeymikey Waiting for SALT to rescue the Wii U Scene!!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    866
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try using a GameCube controller
     
  8. Dynodevil
    OP

    Newcomer Dynodevil Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a classic controller but that doesnt seem to work either, i'll see if i have another

    Edit - I just have the one i'm afraid, doesnt seem to work in wad manager though
     
  9. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    D you have a nand dump?
     
  10. Dynodevil
    OP

    Newcomer Dynodevil Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Afraid not, i'm hoping that a friends controller that is synced to my wii will fair better on the wad manager part
     
  11. judremy

    Newcomer judremy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan, United States
    Country:
    United States
    Classic controller is basically the same as using the wii remote. The Remote cannot communicate with the system, so you have to try something else like a GAMECUBE controller like a previous poster said. If you don't have one, go buy one for about $5 from Gamestop or something. It's that or send the Wii into Nintendo and possibly pay $200 to get it fixed.

    Reading is fun!
     

Share This Page