Does having a SLOT 1 and 2 in at once really

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Kael1, Dec 11, 2007.

Dec 11, 2007
  1. Kael1
    OP

    Newcomer Kael1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Austria
    For instance when I have my SLOT 1 and 2 in there and I am playing something off the SLOT 1 that does not use the second slot device at all..? Is the DS still accessing the SLOT 2 device and draining power ?
     
  2. Doggy124

    Member Doggy124 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    831
    Location:
    Thailand
    Country:
    Thailand
    want to know too, I'm using R4 with 3in1rarely use it but keep it in DS all the time)
    Should I took 3in1 out when not in use?
     
  3. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    it shouldn't... as long as whatever is being run in slot one isn't accessing the slot two, there should be no difference.
     
  4. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    there is
    slot 2's do actually drain power
    if you dont believe me, play until the battery led JUST turns red and then take out the slot 2 and the light will become green again
     
  5. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    you gotta be kidding me [​IMG]
     
  6. beautifulbeast

    Member beautifulbeast GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    405
    Location:
    Madrid
    Country:
    Spain
    Sounds weird, but that would explain why my battery lasts so little lately [​IMG]
     
  7. test84

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    I just have a slot-2 device, what if i take out PassCard when the game is loaded?
     
  8. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    The answer is yes. Both DS and GBA cartridges contain two pins on them, power and ground, so they suck power whenever they are plugged in. Slot-2 devices with RAM are especially battery-hungry.

    That would improve battery life, yes. The only estimate I've heard about that is that it adds about 1 hour, though I'm not sure how accurate that is.
     
  9. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    Slot 2s drains power, R4 drains power in sleep mode.

    EDIT: spelled drains wrong. [​IMG]
     
  10. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    what about the default dust cover? sucks power?
     
  11. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    There are two contacts which are always attached for power, etc. So having a card plugged in will shorten battery life by a very minimal amount (compared to using it for rumble, RAM, etc).
     
  12. Jaejae

    Member Jaejae Superfly Don't Used

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    625
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    The default dust cover does in no way suck power, the pcb is only in it to keep the slot 2 contacts clean.
    The pcb essentially acts as an extention of the slot 2 contacts.
     

Share This Page