Hacking Does a 128gb micro sd need preparation before installing a9lh?

Illusque

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 16, 2016
Messages
10
Trophies
0
XP
78
Country
Swaziland
Hi guys

I have a full stock o3ds on 9.9.0 with the original 2 gb sd card and I'll soon follow Plailect's guide to hack it. I plan on buying a 128 micro sd card (with an adapter of course).

Now, I have some questions. First of all, I know I have to format the card in FAT32 in order to use it with my 3ds. I know there are some issues with 128 gb sd cards and I read in this forum that I shouldn't install a9lh on a 128 gb card. So I read Plailect's FAQ and he doesn't mention anything about issues with high capacity cards, except the slowdowns (but they're not a problem for me).

It would be perfect if you could help me with this and tell me if/how I have to prepare the sd card before following the guide and also tell me your experiences with large sizes sd cards.

Thanks for reading,
Illusque
 

Cha0tic

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2013
Messages
734
Trophies
1
Age
30
XP
1,901
Country
United States
I haven't had experience with anything above 32 gb on my 3DS but I'd assume it's the same prep as any other card.
 

driverdis

I am Justice
Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
2,867
Trophies
2
Age
31
Location
1.048596β
XP
2,838
Country
United States
to have a 100% guarantee that no issues can possibly happen using a 128GB card for A9LH installation, I would use a 64GB or smaller card to do the downgrade and A9LH install then switch to the 128GB.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Deleted User

Dust2dust

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2010
Messages
2,445
Trophies
2
XP
4,463
Country
Canada
I think even just using the stock 2GB SD card to install A9LH would be enough, as the NAND dumps are not so big with an o3DS. He'll just have to keep transfering them back and forth to his computer. As for the 128GB, once A9LH is installed, i would format the big capacity card with emuNAND9. This tool never failed me to format an SD card for use with 3DS. Then it's just a matter of copying the content from the small 2GB card to the 128GB one.
 

Stevo_l33

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2016
Messages
179
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
345
Country
United States
Also unless it's different on an o3ds, remember to set cluster size to 32kb and set as primary using mini partition tool.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Haymose

Illusque

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 16, 2016
Messages
10
Trophies
0
XP
78
Country
Swaziland
to have a 100% guarantee that no issues can possibly happen using a 128GB card for A9LH installation, I would use a 64GB or smaller card to do the downgrade and A9LH install then switch to the 128GB.

Yeah I think I'll do that if I can borrow a small sd card just for the install.

I think even just using the stock 2GB SD card to install A9LH would be enough, as the NAND dumps are not so big with an o3DS. He'll just have to keep transfering them back and forth to his computer. As for the 128GB, once A9LH is installed, i would format the big capacity card with emuNAND9. This tool never failed me to format an SD card for use with 3DS. Then it's just a matter of copying the content from the small 2GB card to the 128GB one.

I'm not sure 2 gb is enough, the guide's FAQ recommends at least 4 gb so I'll try to find a bigger one just for the install.

Only Devmenu & BigBlueMenu freeze on accessing >100GB free space.
FBI should have no incompatibility like this.

Thanks, I'll be careful with that.

Also unless it's different on an o3ds, remember to set cluster size to 32kb and set as primary using mini partition tool.

I'll probably try a 64kb cluster size cause it apparently reduces load times.
 

DrunkenMonk

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2007
Messages
523
Trophies
1
Age
31
XP
1,751
Country
United Kingdom
Following Plailect's guide, there's nothing special you need to do beyond formatting the sd fat32 and as much as people would like to say otherwise I say the difference between 64k and 32k cluster size is negligible and isn't worth losing space over, stick with 32k.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Stevo_l33
D

Deleted User

Guest
Also unless it's different on an o3ds, remember to set cluster size to 32kb and set as primary using mini partition tool.
You should set cluster size to 64k because loading times will be faster on 128gb SD cards.
 

TarkinMX

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
197
Trophies
0
XP
325
Country
United States
I installed a 128GB card in my o3ds xl and had menuhax with rxtools on it. When a9lh first came out I installed a hard mod, made a backup and then made the switch without giving any thought to the card size. Either I was lucky or the card size doesn't really matter. Not saying it's ok to do what I did but anyway, good luck with yours.

Btw, the larger size does affect the boot time. It's painfully slow compared to my wife's with a 64GB in hers.
 
Last edited by TarkinMX,

MisterPantsEyes

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2015
Messages
402
Trophies
0
XP
731
Country
Germany
I installed a 128GB card in my o3ds xl and had menuhax with rxtools on it. When a9lh first came out I installed a hard mod, made a backup and then made the switch without giving any thought to the card size. Either I was lucky or the card size doesn't really matter. Not saying it's ok to do what I did but anyway, good luck with yours.

Btw, the larger size does affect the boot time. It's painfully slow compared to my wife's with a 64GB in hers.
I guess I will stay with my 64 gigs then. :/ Even though it's nearly full.
 

TarkinMX

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
197
Trophies
0
XP
325
Country
United States

Stevo_l33

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2016
Messages
179
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
345
Country
United States
I don't know if the card I have is a great one or not. The manufacturer and type may be the problem as well.

Here's a link for mine on amazon, https://amzn.com/B00W77C1W4
And my wife's sd card, https://amzn.com/B00IVPU7AO

I'll see about timing the two and see what the difference in boot time is.
The link to your SD card has been working perfectly for me for about 6 months or so. Never have had errors, slow down or any issues period. My best friend has the same one as well with no issues and uses it to transfer files more than me. Hope that helps anyone!
 

TarkinMX

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
197
Trophies
0
XP
325
Country
United States
The link to your SD card has been working perfectly for me for about 6 months or so. Never have had errors, slow down or any issues period. My best friend has the same one as well with no issues and uses it to transfer files more than me. Hope that helps anyone!

Was there a particular way you formatted it? When I start my o3ds I have to wait 3-4 seconds for all the icons to appear, I have mine formatted with 32KB clusters.
 
Last edited by TarkinMX,

Stevo_l33

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2016
Messages
179
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
345
Country
United States
Was there a particular way you formatted it? When I start my o3ds I have to wait 3-4 seconds for all the icons to appear, I have mine formatted with 32KB clusters.
No thats about right. I use mine on an N3DS and it takes about that long. Of course mines loading up about 40-50 icons so maybe thats why but that seems normal to me. Also 32kb cluster.
 

TarkinMX

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
197
Trophies
0
XP
325
Country
United States
No thats about right. I use mine on an N3DS and it takes about that long. Of course mines loading up about 40-50 icons so maybe thats why but that seems normal to me. Also 32kb cluster.

Mine has always done this no matter the amount of icons. I have a lot more now since I utilize the DS forwarder.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Stevo_l33

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I'd rather spend like $150 more for a surround receiver.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I bought the game at launch never fucked with it until recently
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Its fun, I like it, even tho I'm not a big harry potter fan. Like a wizard rpg. Flying around on a broomstick is cool.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Flying sucks ass on it
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Nuh just takes a min to get used to. I think you can upgrade or buy new broomstick also that are better.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I weirdly like inverted controls on all flying type games
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Prob can change it, inverted flying controls.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Only thing that annoys me is trying to find wtf to do in it
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Alright off to the store, later gators.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Some places amaze me were not in network with your insurance would you still like an appointment
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    uhhh, I think I'll just stick with my PSP 3001
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    lol, Now I gotta go to the store for more Coffee Mate n other stuff.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    i downloaded final fantasy vii into my tv stick
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    i mean, the game was already there but its the japanese version
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    and i only downloaded disc 1 so far bc of storage stuff
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    @BigOnYa, yeah the patty on McDs burger is 1/10th of a pound now and I think that's the pre cooked weight lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I use the app for the 20% off coupon and it's still over priced
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @Psionic Roshambo, why is mcdonalds overpriced if their food is bad?
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    i mean why is mcdonalds food overpriced
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Inflation and greed
    +1
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    it's just fries, make 'em at home
    +2
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I make potato wedges at home with spices and stuff lol
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: I make potato wedges at home with spices and stuff lol