Directly Booting Wii Games

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by darkfoxtokoyami, Mar 24, 2009.

Mar 24, 2009
  1. darkfoxtokoyami
    OP

Newcomer darkfoxtokoyami Newbie

United States
    Hey guys,

Basically I'm a college student and I use my Wii mostly for playing Smash Bros Brawl. The issue is that because the Wii is moving around constantly, it's difficult to keep track of the wiimotes and keep fresh batteries in them. Is there a way (preferably without modchips) that my Wii can boot directly into a (legit) game disc?

I've poked around the forums and cIOS looks promising, but I could use someone to just point me in the right direction.

Thanks,
    Dark Fox

2. FenrirWolf

Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

United States
    What you can do is downgrade your Wii to version 3.2 and install an application called Starfall that patches your system menu with various hacks. Among those hacks are a patch to enable a recovery menu when you boot up the Wii while holding the Y button on your GCN controller, and another hack offered by the same app is one that will autoboot whatever Wii game is in your console while in this recovery menu. It also has an update blocking feature so games won't try to make you upgrade back to 3.4.

Anyway, in the end all you have to do is start up your Wii and hold Y on the GCN controller in the player 1 slot and then Brawl will boot itself up shortly thereafter.

I'd imagine Preloader can offer the same functionality, but I've never messed with that and so someone else would have to give you the details.

3. cwstjdenobs

Member cwstjdenobs Sodomy non sapiens

United Kingdom
    Or, if you're prepared to run a backup, you can use BootMe off of Wiibrew to patch the iso to autoboot

4. darkfoxtokoyami
    OP

United States
    Thanks guys, I'll look into it.

5. MicShadow

Member MicShadow GBAtemp Fan

Australia