DaedalusX64 makes progress! One step closer to N64

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by War, Nov 7, 2008.

Nov 7, 2008
  1. War
    OP

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    [​IMG]

    "Woot for progress! For the past couple of days, all we've been hearing from the DaedalusX64 team were updates and partial changelogs. Time to change all that with some concrete evidence. Shinydude100 has announced that they've finally managed to compile their first alpha build for DaedalusX64! Congrats to Captain Morgan, shinydude100, Kreationz, Moers, and Wally!

    For now, shinydude100 has only managed to check a few games if they worked or not. He says that though the alpha build isn't at full speed yet, the general FPS speed has increased. It seems he even had quite a good run on Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time!

    Certain games have dramatic speed-increases that are sustained in certain spots like main menus and logos. I almost screamed when I saw the Nintendo Logo on The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time run for like a good second at 129 FPS. Then of course it dropped down, but the menu before initiating game-play ran at about 55-60 Frames per second. The area of the game where Link walks out of his house to be greeted by Sarah, that seemed to run at about 8 Fps Average, but it goes up and down, the Z target makes it jump up to 9 FPS and running around drops it to a 6.8 to 7.. Each PSP may run this differently due to: If your psp is at 333 Mhz, if your options are set the same way I have mine, etc.

    Of course, this being an alpha version, it doesn't get released to the public. As Kreationz said in the previous post, the first public beta (yes, beta) will come out around early December.

    DaedalusX64 - Image 7Be that as it may, we get a special treat from the DaedalusX64 team. They're letting us in on the progress - visually! Chilly Willy has posted a couple of screens of Mario 64 running on his TV with the following message:

    Just a teaser for those of you not a dev.

    Screenshots of Mario64 running on my TV. The aspect ratio in the pictures looks off, but remember these are a shots of an NTSC TV. I have it set for no overscan. Oh - fixed the screenshot function too. It was dumping the screen after one update when it needed to be dumping after two updates. Now you actually get an image instead of a blank screen. "

    Source + tons of pictures!
     
  2. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    MEH we need beta versions that we can test not an unreleased alpha and screenshots [​IMG]

    oh well back to XBOX version for me [​IMG]
     
  3. War
    OP

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    Well, he said the beta will be released in Decemeber.
     
  4. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ... >_<
    just when i find out my new psp is most likely pandora proof.
     
  5. Anakir

    Member Anakir Project: Melee

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,253
    Location:
    Canada.
    Country:
    Canada
    Is it only for PSP 2000's? 'cause I remember something about PSP Phat having less RAM or something? Er no idea. I have a PSP Phat so I'm just wondering if PSP Phat can handle it.
     
  6. SkyintheSea

    Member SkyintheSea GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    199
    Location:
    America
    Country:
    United States
    All PSP's have the same amount of ram. You gotta overclock them to 333mhz. (Full speed)
     
  7. m3rox

    Member m3rox GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,673
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    Please, don't type anymore. [​IMG]

    The PSP slim has more RAM than the phat (this is common knowledge). You don't have to overclock anything. With custom firmware you can simply tell your PSP to run games at 333 mhz.
     
  8. Rock Raiyu

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    ..where did you read that from? 2000 PSP's have more RAM on them which is why they can run Skype and Phat PSPs can't. D:
     
  9. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    that is called overclocking.
    for the psp standard speed is 222mhz, so making it run at 333 is overclocking(tough that speed is well within the safe regions of overclocking)
     
  10. ChaosBoi

    Member ChaosBoi Ushiromiya Battler

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,326
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    I'm just hoping this can at least play HM64, as it's the only game I really want to play for the N64 but haven't yet [​IMG] .
     
  11. Anakir

    Member Anakir Project: Melee

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,253
    Location:
    Canada.
    Country:
    Canada
    So.. can PSP Phat handle it..?
     
  12. War
    OP

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    Unless the new team decides to take advantage of the Slim's extra RAM, which I hope.
     
  13. Papayo

    Newcomer Papayo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Right over there -->
    Country:
    Ireland
    It's not really overclocked. 333mhz is the PSP's native speed. Sony underclocked it to 222 to save battery life. [​IMG]
     
  14. cosmo2389

    Member cosmo2389 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Um... The Slim is said to have 64MB of RAM while the Phat has only 32MB...

    Just thought I would put the actual numbers out there.

    And this sounds pretty sweet!! Just think, if it gets good enough, a portable Smash Bros would be created!!
     
  15. ackers

    Member ackers GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've been following this since the news broke out and I really hope they do a good job of it. To be able to play OOT (my favourite game ever) on my PSP would just rock!!!

    I think I remember reading that shinydude100 only has a Phat and that Phat's are his priority and when someone asked if he would make it Slim compatible he said he will do his best. I also think, when someone asked about the Slim's extra RAM, he said they might try and do something with it but the extra RAM is not that useful for what they are doing.

    Oh and as for Sarah, he must have meant Saria (if that's spelt right [​IMG])
     
  16. quim69

    Member quim69 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    485
    Country:
    Andorra
    No, the PSP standrd speed is variable - it runs at 222 but games increase this on the fly as and when needed.
     

Share This Page