CycloWiz Update Coming - This week.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by student69, Feb 26, 2007.

Feb 26, 2007
  1. student69
    OP

    Newcomer student69 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Canada
    Here is the news article from the CycloWiz website. Sounds good, especially for those people having problems. The only thing I am looking forward to is no more slowdowns, but lots of people have been having other problems too.

    Oops sorry I just saw the other thread on this subject sorry for the double post. Feel free to delete this thread.

     


  2. jaxxster

    Member jaxxster The Heretic

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,423
    Location:
    South East London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So this will make the wiikey less wanted. If this happens then i'm glad i got a cyclowiz!!! Weeee!
     
  3. Presto

    Member Presto GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    Ft Worth, texas
    Country:
    United States

    i think everyone just stole wiikey code lol
     
  4. jaxxster

    Member jaxxster The Heretic

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,423
    Location:
    South East London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Im not bothered if they stole any code [​IMG] At least now if this upgrade is true i wont have to buy a wiikey.
     
  5. driftprince86

    Newcomer driftprince86 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    "Partial compatibility" meaing it appiles to SOME games out there, right? Hopefully this can fix my problem on booting up GC DDR Mario Mix NTSC-J w/o swapping.

    I hope this update fixes the slowdown laggy videos also.
     
  6. rkenshin

    Member rkenshin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    448
    Country:
    United States
    Well WiiKey doesn't require soldering a stupid switch to upgrade
     
  7. EarthBound

    Member EarthBound a/s/l?

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    Fort Worth,Texas
    Country:
    United States
    I saw the new pdf of the install guide for the cyclowiz.So you need to solder points T/S to a switch to use this update?
     
  8. Presto

    Member Presto GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    Ft Worth, texas
    Country:
    United States

    i hope soon all games get supported
     
  9. student69
    OP

    Newcomer student69 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Canada

    Yes you will need to install a switch. I found a small toggle switch works well, and there is lots of room on the back of the console to mount a switch. I just drilled a hole between the vent and the usb ports and put my switch there. A locking switch would also be a good idea.
     
  10. g.crow

    Member g.crow beide mittelfinger hoch

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    770
    Country:
    United States
    no need to drill a hole to mount a switch...

    mars
     
  11. lookout

    Member lookout GBAtemp Board Room

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,619
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'll point out: they don't have Recovery mode (Can recover from a bad flash) like wiikey or Wiinja Deluxe.

    If you really lucky upgrade your chip via DVD or F***up! just say good bye to your CycloWiz.
     
  12. Presto

    Member Presto GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    Ft Worth, texas
    Country:
    United States
    i can see all the posts now of noobs having a bad flash
     
  13. mattwasx

    Newcomer mattwasx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    I'm guessing lookout and Presto both have wiininja's and are jealous that the cyclowiz is actually upgradeable. Gbatemp members has been putting down cyclowiz since day one and in my opinion its better than the wiininja. And now if you want to get the same functions as the cyclowiz you have to buy the new deluxe wiininja.
     
  14. Presto

    Member Presto GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    Ft Worth, texas
    Country:
    United States

    i ordered a wiikey and a wiinja DX
     
  15. cheesyPOOF5

    Member cheesyPOOF5 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    419
    Country:
    United States
    I too have noticed this massive bias towards wiinja. I can guarantee you this news won't end up on front page.
     
  16. Presto

    Member Presto GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    Ft Worth, texas
    Country:
    United States

    i have been thinking about ordering a cyclo too but i have heard mixed reviews
     
  17. mattwasx

    Newcomer mattwasx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    I guess I was wrong in guessing Presto jumped for the wiininja when it came out. But ya it seems maxconsole supports the cyclowiz and gbatemp supports the wiininja. Thats just how I see it.
     
  18. cheesyPOOF5

    Member cheesyPOOF5 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    419
    Country:
    United States
    But if GBAtemp wants to be the better site, they shouldn't "support" anything.
     
  19. rkenshin

    Member rkenshin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    448
    Country:
    United States
    Maxconsole supports CycloWiz is due to Divineo telling them to..

    They don't know how to think for themselves to say the least
     
  20. Dirtie

    Former Staff Dirtie :'D

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,705
    Location:
    Zealer
    Country:
    New Zealand
    GBAtemp isn't supporting any chips and has no bias towards towards any product, every device is judged on it's own merits. Personally I don't understand fanboyism at all, especially when it comes to freaking modchips. It's not like GBAtemp is supported financially by any manufacturers or sellers of a particular device either. It just so happens that the Wiinja was the first chip released, and so the first chip reviewed - that doesn't necessarily mean it's going to be the only chip reviewed.

    If that's not a good enough explanation how about this:
    The Cyclowiz team promised to send us a sample for review near the beginning of the month, the only reason it isn't here yet is because they've taken their time and have been waiting to send us out a v2 chip (obviously they didn't want a review that pointed out the flaws of the original). Happy now?
     

Share This Page