Hacking CycloWiz Cured my Cancer!

paOol

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 22, 2006
Messages
274
Trophies
0
XP
135
Country
just kidding, but i saw this description on modcentral, and it confused me.

"
Cyclo-Wiz is an advanced modificiation for the Wii with many features and much more to come for developpers and hard core Wii users as the chip is programmable (it comes always with latest Bios available).
It is a quality built chip with strong component and require basic soldering skills to install.
- Direct boot of NTSC Wii imports on NTSC consoles (no patch needed)
- Direct boot of PAL Wii imports on NTSC consoles (no patch needed, partial compatibility)
- Direct boot of NTSC Wii imports on PAL consoles (no patch needed, partial compatibility)
- Runs imported GC games (partially without swap)
- Perfect compatibility (100% of games are working)
- Improved read (no more slowdowns)
- Compatible with DVD-R, DVD+R, DVD-RW and DVD+RW (no bitsetting required)
- Fully upgradable via DVD
- Supports D2B consoles (not D2C)
- Direct boot of Wii backups
- Direct boot of GC backups
- Direct boot of homebrew in GC mode
- Build-in audio fix (no patch required)
- Compatible with Multi-Disc games
- Stealth mode
- Multi-purpose LED
- Chips supplied in professional ESD packing "

i thought you still need to patch the .iso to run japanese games?
or is the cyclowiz truly able to play burned JAP games without any patching?


i was going to get the wiikey until i saw this description, so i just wanted to make sure.
i have a D2A or D2B wii.
LU503xxxxxxxx
 

Hiroshirou

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 10, 2006
Messages
12
Trophies
0
XP
224
Country
Canada
i have cyclowiz, and i didnt patch Mobile Suits gundam 0079 at all and it worked fine for me.

but i dont think the compatibility rate for import is 100%. because you still need to use wiibrickblocker to stop the updates.

to help you with this decision, cyclowiz got their own forums, their latest firmware (3.6b) runs mario galaxy and other most recent games.

best of all its open source so if it happens with its stopped being supported officially (i doubt it ever) there will be firmwares that will support this chip

edit: forgot to mention, the compatibility rate for GC seems to be 100%. all my gc games ran without a hitch at all. they are burned onto gcos multi disc dvdr
 

elomaniak

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2007
Messages
185
Trophies
0
XP
65
Country
Poland
the cyclowiz, with it's actual firmware is able to play japanese games, but only these that are listed working on the compatibility list.
the first revision had no on the fly patching but the new one does
 

arctic_flame

GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan
Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2006
Messages
2,835
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
England land
XP
168
Country
...
best of all its open source so if it happens with its stopped being supported officially (i doubt it ever) there will be firmwares that will support this chip
...

You're misinformed. The Cyclowiz Firmware is not open source.

However, it can be programmed with WiiFree, an open source PIC based modchip.
 

paOol

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 22, 2006
Messages
274
Trophies
0
XP
135
Country
forgot to mention, my wii is up to date with the latest update.
so am i screwed with the whole modchip thing?
 

Hiroshirou

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 10, 2006
Messages
12
Trophies
0
XP
224
Country
Canada
nope youre still good. i updated my wii before i installed my cyclowiz.

and if youre going for cyclowiz approach, just make sure you install the switch and solder a reset wire. you will need it to update cyclowiz.

if you dont wanna bother with any of that, you can just get wiikey since its newbie friendly (the reset wire/switch mod on cyclowiz can kill the wii if it was improperly installed or switched on at a wrong time)
 

raulpica

With your drill, thrust to the sky!
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
11,056
Trophies
0
Location
PowerLevel: 9001
XP
5,716
Country
Italy
forgot to mention, my wii is up to date with the latest update.
so am i screwed with the whole modchip thing?
No, no problem whatsoever.

Cyclowiz has a Region Free function integrated similiar to RegionFrii, so you'll never need to patch your games.

I would prefer a Wiikey over a Cyclowiz, though. That external update switch is HORRIBLE. I would never do an hole in my precious Wii.
 

Elfish

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2004
Messages
451
Trophies
1
Age
39
Website
Visit site
XP
563
Country
Gambia, The
forgot to mention, my wii is up to date with the latest update.
so am i screwed with the whole modchip thing?

No, no problem whatsoever.

Cyclowiz has a Region Free function integrated similiar to RegionFrii, so you'll never need to patch your games.

I would prefer a Wiikey over a Cyclowiz, though. That external update switch is HORRIBLE. I would never do an hole in my precious Wii.


It's patching the disc on the fly i think
 

Supertag

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
72
Trophies
0
XP
120
Country
United States
All of these chips use the same method for partial region-free support. They patch the image on fly. No chip is going to make all games work with this method
sonofwaffle.gif
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    It's a work of art
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Going back into making YouTube videos lol
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Psi like large private things
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Don't know why they side mounted the GPU could've easily fit with the ssds
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Lol true
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I might attempt that dual PC thing, would need a way to switch keyboard and mouse...
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Like a USB hub with a switch that could plug into both mobos...
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Linux/windows?
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Windows of course lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    What my idea is that I would be processing video on the new one while I could game on my current machine
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Sort of what I use my Pi 4 for now
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    luke is a simp for kath soucie ngl
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    @Psionic Roshambo don't worry my spanish is so bad, I said "quanto" on facebook instead of "cuanto"
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    I only know little Spanish, haven't done classes in a long time.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I used to know almost enough Spanish to have a simple conversation but not anymore lol
  • NinStar @ NinStar:
    quanto is portuguese
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    guys, hear me out
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    a backrooms or scp mmo would be sick
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    especially if you could change perspective (first person, third person, top down)
  • NinStar @ NinStar:
    backrooms kinda lost its magic for me
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Fluffernutter sounds like a sex move but apparently it's not.
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Blaster Master is the name of a game. by SUNSOFT! Totally not a sex move. :creep:
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Master Blaster is the name of a Mad Max character.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Characters to be precise.

    Veho @ Veho: Characters to be precise.