Crysis Question n

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by daProphet, Dec 20, 2007.

Dec 20, 2007

Crysis Question n by daProphet at 6:54 AM (2,639 Views / 0 Likes) 30 replies

  1. daProphet
    OP

    Newcomer daProphet Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    does crysis demand the highest system requirements for any pc game?
     


  2. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    $2800 dollars worth of graphics cards to run it at 30 fps on the highest settings says YES! That's just the cards alone, without the mobo, CPU, case, cooling, etc.

    Does that mean you can't play it on lower settings?...NO!
     
  3. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    No PC can currently get ALL high settings at 30 fps. Not even ones with SLI 8800 Ultras iirc.
     
  4. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    http://www.pcgameshardware.de/?menu=browse...image_id=747468

    That says you're wrong. I believe the article states it runs an average of 30 something frames with highest being 37 and lowest being 17 on VERY high.

    3 8800 Ultras in SLI. That's why it runs $2800.

    Note:
    3 8800 Ultras means, you need the newest mobo, with watercooling, and a pretty hefty case.
     
  5. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil

    Hmm. I stand corrected. In the end the PC would be around 3500$ with all the parts lol.
     
  6. slayerspud

    Member slayerspud GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    E6850 / Q6600 OC'd to 3.2
    8800GT / 512 GTS / GTX
    2GB RAM ( With decent timings)

    Should give you pretty decent FPS at mid / high
     
  7. R-Unit 4

    Member R-Unit 4 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Australia
    Crytek brings next gen games, to the current generation...I wonder what they use?

    Maybe they use prototype computer parts?

    If you have have a low end 256 MB card, it can run low on 40-50FPS per second...except in the Alien ship which it drops to 20 FPS.If you have a Mid end card, you could run low on 60-80(highly unlikely though) and if you have and high-end card, you can run MEdium on 50-70(just a guess).
     
  8. kellyan95

    Banned kellyan95 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    United States
    My god, are you people still on about this? Visit a Crysis forum for god's sake!

    My X1950XT 256mb can run it on medium/high at 25FPS. With some DX10 effects. The only mediums are shadows and post processing.
     
  9. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thats an interesting point.
    I wonder how they do that.
     
  10. wohoo

    Member wohoo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    490
    Location:
    Uppsala
    Country:
    Sweden
    My PC's got the following:
    AMD 4600+
    GeForce 7900GS 256MB (with the GPU factory-over clocked to 500, from 450MHz)
    3GB corsair XMS ddr2 RAM @ 667MHz

    And with that I can play singe player with most of the settings on medium (I think I have about two things on low) @ 800x600 at playable frame rates...

    the game itself "recomends" medium on everything @ 1024x768 (when I press the "find optimal settings" or whatever), but so it does if you have a 8800gts 640, 2gb ram and a 6000+

    the game looks great, and the final battle and the snowy maps are the only thing that made me irritated about the frame rate drops.

    So you don't need a ultra high end computer, but a pretty decent one to get it playing.

    Edit: better PC specs for my gaming rig.
     
  11. amptor

    Banned amptor Banned

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,554
    Country:
    United States
    I bought a laptop for $1000 and it runs crysis fine in directx9 mode with medium settings across the board at 1280x1024. Good enough for me, this game is most definitely not worth wasting money on.
     
  12. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    I read a review of this game that said you'd have to travel into the future to find a PC capable of running Crysis maxxed out at a playable framerate lol. I laughed. My PC can run it on High with no AA or AF at 1680x1050. Even then it slows down when there is tons of stuff going on. The single player was fun for 1 run through. After that, its over because the multiplayer is kinda lame.

    Honestly, the game isn't worth spending all your money to upgrade your PC EXTENSIVELY just to play it.
     
  13. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What large companies can afford > What you can afford

    Parallel processing computers?
     
  14. WeaponXxX

    Member WeaponXxX Too F'in Blonde

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,868
    Location:
    Currently in Chicagoooooooo
    Country:
    United States
    Is it NOT worth spending money on...as in like the game? Or not worth buying hardware for? I was thinking of picking up the title...but know nothing about it except its graphic intensive...
     
  15. Joey Ravn

    Member Joey Ravn F*** you, Nintendo!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,337
    Country:
    Spain
    OK, this may sound dumb... but what's so good about this game? The graphics, of course, they seem to rock hard. But we all know, because we love Nintendo, that graphics don't make the game. So, what about the "rest" of its components? Story, weapons, etc :S
     
  16. kellyan95

    Banned kellyan95 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    United States
    Nobody designs games on the same kind of PC that will be playing it - 10-20 people each with a great PC with at least 4GB of ram and probably quadros designing it and some pre release hardware (8800 Ultras at the time) to test it on
     
  17. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why would they just use a more powerful PC?

    Rendering stuff when designing uses enough power to warrant parallel processing machines...
     
  18. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Your right, graphics don't make the game. But Graphics fill up 45% of the game.
     
  19. gh0ul

    Member gh0ul GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    bleh
    Country:
    United States
    my $1,500 plays crysis just fine on medium/high settings (most of them are on high) with 1440X900 widescreen resolution.

    specs:
    amd x2 6000+ (oc to 3.2ghz)
    geforce 8800gts
    2 gigs ram
     
  20. pimpyT

    Member pimpyT GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    United States
    So intense, that this guy made a video clip of 3,000 barrels exploding and had to comment that he couldn't look in the direction of the explosion for more than 2 seconds because his computer would crash. That's some Physics engine and some high requirements!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YG5qDeWHNmk
    At 3:10 into the video...
     

Share This Page