Confused Acekard newbie

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Nasmds, Mar 12, 2010.

Mar 12, 2010

Confused Acekard newbie by Nasmds at 2:26 PM (1,449 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Nasmds
    OP

    Newcomer Nasmds Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok I've just purchased the Acekard 2 /2i for my DS lite (no not a DSi). I had the DSTT which I got sick of since it wasn't getting updated anymore or it takes them way too long to update and most of the time the update didn't work, well you all know about that already so I made the switch since a store in this area was selling very cheap (26% off regular price) so I bought a bunch of them [​IMG]

    Now as I mentioned I'm used to the DSTT with kernel 1.17a12 including Moonshell to listen to MP3's only. Everything would work fine but now I'm trying to get this Acekard working but it seems a little different as far as installing the things on it.

    What I did so far is I've cut & pasted everything from the memory card to my PC and then formated it to have a clean install of what needs to be done.

    - Next I installed the AKAIO 1.6 RC-1
    - Downloaded and copied the Ak2loader (don't remember where I got it from and not sure why I did, it was kinda late lastnight)
    - Created a Games folder, transfered all my games
    - tested it, and it works!
    - tried installing Moonshell, kinda works on ver. 1.71 but it doesn't for ver. 2 (Moonshell 2 AK2)

    So did I do this correctly? missing steps? jumped any steps?
    Was I suppose to install the "Acekard 2 Official 4.21" in the first place and then make the updates if needed?

    I'm willing to start all over if need be.

    All I want to do is be able to run Moonshell to listen to my MP3's but it must be kid friendly because I'll be doing the same for my 7yrs old Son [​IMG]
    And of course play does games without any problems with going back in forth (listening to MP3's and playing games).

    Please don't ask me to read all the setups listed here, I started and I got more confused than anything else because some are for DSi's which I do not have and others, well they're outdated so I don't know which is current.

    Thanks,
     
  2. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  3. penthaler

    Member penthaler GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    mystique
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    If 1.71 mshl works, there is another problem...

    Just edit ONE NUMBER in moonshl2.ini file

    Search for this row
    AlwaysDisabledCheckDisk=0
    and ZERO change to ONE and SAVE...

    MSHL2 will boot without any problem.

    ---- You probably has larger size of card (4 - 8GB) or "damaged" microsd card system (bad clusters, or bad free space or something) - that is the reason the MSHL2 cant start - it makes CHECKDISK... If checkdisk disabled, it runs great. (tested myself with version 2.10 - the same problem)
     
  4. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Of course that depends on which version of moonshell he's using - that option only appeared since v2.09 IIRC
     
  5. Nasmds
    OP

    Newcomer Nasmds Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok, this Moonshell is starting to p's me off, grrr

    I've installed Moonshell 2.00 beta.10 (Apr 13 2009)
    So I got that message
    "here is a loss in the main body of the ARM7/9 code"

    Then I fixed it by doing
    " 'Soft Reset' enabled (AKAIO [Start] > Left Trigger button > Soft Reset > Enabled)
    If so change it to Disabled"

    It ooks like my disk (memory card) has an eror.

    "A fatal disk error has ocured.

    A size that the directory entry shows and actual size of the file differs.

    Recovery report:
    Please back up all files to vaoid data loss.
    Restore files after formating your memory.

    The applicatin has halted unecpectedly."

    Can the scan be by-passed?
    Or do I reallt need to format once again?


    Thanks for all your help btw [​IMG]

    Oh, just noticed there's a higher version of Moonshell, I'm currently downloading version 2.10 (stable) directlty from the official site. Could this be the real fix? I surely hope so [​IMG]
     
  6. penthaler

    Member penthaler GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    mystique
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    Do what I wrote before... EDIT INI FILE... [​IMG]
    (next time just read)

    Stable version not fixed the problem, DISKCHECK DISABLING DO THAT
     
  7. Nasmds
    OP

    Newcomer Nasmds Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada

    YES that worked!!!

    Now I just need to know a few more things. Moonshell installed 3 .nds files which are moonshl2.nds (main file) and these 2 which moonshl2_AltLoader_DKPr27.nds & moonshl2_DirectBoot.nds
    Do I need those?

    It also put in a DustBox folder, is that just a folder created for no specific reason which I can just delete as well?


    I really appreciate all your help [​IMG]
     
  8. penthaler

    Member penthaler GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    mystique
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    moonshl2.nds is enough.

    directboot/altloader is for those, who wants to start it directly when starting DS (instead of AKAIO/AK system) - i think...

    If you start it from AKAIO, moonshl2.nds is right for ya [​IMG]
     
  9. Nasmds
    OP

    Newcomer Nasmds Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Thank you very much penthaler & CannonFoddr!

    Now I understand a bit better so I'll be able to fix the settings like I want and install it properly on my Son's DS. It was just that initial setup and because I was using the wrong version of Moonshell (doh!) which does help, lol

    I think I'll have more fun playing around with the settings and all instead of actually playing games, hahaha
     

Share This Page