Computer Problem.

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by Westside, Apr 15, 2007.

Apr 15, 2007

Computer Problem. by Westside at 8:54 PM (1,179 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. Westside
    OP

    Member Westside Sogdiana

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Location:
    Guantanamo bay
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    Hi, my last post I described a problem with services.exe, but now I have an even bigger problem...
    My computer won't even go to the logon screen.:'(
    Anyone know why windows might not even go to the logon screen?
    Thanks.
     
  2. qusai

    Member qusai GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    259
    Country:
    Canada
    Because its windows? [​IMG]
     
  3. fischju_original

    Banned fischju_original I used to be a jerk before i got banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,014
    Country:
    United States
    Just reformat and reinstall
     
  4. Westside
    OP

    Member Westside Sogdiana

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Location:
    Guantanamo bay
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    Thank you for the beautiful replies.
     
  5. fischju_original

    Banned fischju_original I used to be a jerk before i got banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,014
    Country:
    United States
    I reformat/reinstall windows every 6 months to keep it squeky clean
     
  6. nintendofreak

    Member nintendofreak Around. Shoot me a PM.

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,333
    Location:
    Cal Poly Pomona / (323)
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]

    When BF2142 wasnt working for me... REFORMAT ATTACK!!!


    When FEAR wasnt working for me... REFORMAT ATTACK!!!


    Works every time [​IMG] (mostly.)
     
  7. fischju_original

    Banned fischju_original I used to be a jerk before i got banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,014
    Country:
    United States
    The only thing I don't like about clean installs is that I have to redo all of my tweaks =\
     
  8. Kyuzumaki

    Member Kyuzumaki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if the boot up screen works and it jams just as login should appear it may be your graphics drivers. They load just before the login screen appears. Also network drivers can do that but it's rare (very ocasionally wildtangent software and TCP/IP 6 can interfere)

    A reboot into safe mode and driver reinstall should fix it! Reinstalling windows is just such a pain in the ass often it's easier to fix the problem!
     
  9. Psyfira

    Member Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can you get into safe mode? (press F8 when windows starts to load [more info]). If you can, can you follow the advice from the other thread from there? (virus scans, spyware removal, etc). Or try using System Restore to roll back to a time before the errors started happening (yes all you people who turn it off, system restore is actually useful sometimes)
     
  10. blade85

    Member blade85 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Messages:
    174
    Country:
    United States
    so did it get fixed? Or does the problem still persist
     
  11. fischju_original

    Banned fischju_original I used to be a jerk before i got banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,014
    Country:
    United States
    bah, I made my own windows installation disk that automatically formats my pc (mostly) how I like it, in about half an hour (I guess some people don't have the luxury =\ )
     
  12. nintendofreak

    Member nintendofreak Around. Shoot me a PM.

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,333
    Location:
    Cal Poly Pomona / (323)
    Country:
    United States
    More detail please on how-to [​IMG]

    EDIT: thankee
     
  13. fischju_original

    Banned fischju_original I used to be a jerk before i got banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,014
    Country:
    United States
  14. Caoimhin

    Member Caoimhin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    210
    Location:
    Kalwaria Zebrzydowska
    Country:
    Poland
    I would need a format, but.. I lost my Windows Installation Disk [​IMG] But I'm probably getting a laptop in about 2 months, so I'll buy Windows XP Pro with it [​IMG]
     
  15. fischju_original

    Banned fischju_original I used to be a jerk before i got banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,014
    Country:
    United States
    There are.....um......other ways to aquire Windows....
     
  16. Nestea80

    Member Nestea80 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    349
    Country:
    Canada
    I also made my own unattended windows installation ... so it installs all the registry tweaks 'n software I usually use. One of the things I hate about Windows is how they default to hiding extensions to files. That's just plain RETARDED. And a lot of noobs get confused and start deleting things they shouldn't delete.
     
  17. Caoimhin

    Member Caoimhin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    210
    Location:
    Kalwaria Zebrzydowska
    Country:
    Poland
    I'd like to have a legal OS [​IMG]
     
  18. fischju_original

    Banned fischju_original I used to be a jerk before i got banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,014
    Country:
    United States
    Well, you bought it once, just download it and use your key
     
  19. Westside
    OP

    Member Westside Sogdiana

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Location:
    Guantanamo bay
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    I got it working, it seems that my lsass.exe was bad.
     

Share This Page