1. Senjosei

    Senjosei Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Australia
    in xbrz if a pixel has 0 alpha it completely iqnores it and just returns 0 even if it has other color data inside it. i just made some color data checking instead of immediately returning 0. Also idk if its bcuz the ETC1 compression or its just like that, some texture has alpha holes that xbrz also threats weirdly. I'll make the PR after texcache2 gets merged and i make my code 'presentable' :rofl2:. Theres also the problem of video upscaling i tried detecting them and not scaling it but idk if it'll apply to everything. From my games theres only 1 game poke oras that does video differently so it still gets upscaled. Dont know if other games behaves like that too
     
    Last edited by Senjosei, Feb 4, 2018
    TotalInsanity4 likes this.
  2. jroweboy

    jroweboy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    United States
    Hey, I pushed out a fix for some multiplayer games. It's live on canary give it shot
     
  3. I''S

    I''S Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    Italy
    Is it normal this ghost effect with Fire Emblem Awakening? With Fire Emblem Fates I don't have this effect.
    fire1.JPG fire2.JPG
     
  4. jroweboy

    jroweboy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    United States
    We've looked into this, and its the game thats drawing it this way. Its possible citra has some misconfiguration thats causing the game to do this, but the ghosting is something the game is intending to draw.

    In other news, I got rid of the black log window on windows, check it out in the latest canary.
     
    jamieyello and Lunos like this.
  5. jamieyello

    jamieyello Professional Dumbass
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Messages:
    385
    Country:
    United States
    That seems like a bizarre way to do bloom.

    If I had to guess, I'd have to say that the game is drawing the characters multiple times from a buffer very transparently and then blurring them for bloom. I'm guessing for whatever reason it's not doing the blurring properly. Maybe it's just the upscaling, and there isn't any blur. What do you think @jroweboy? :P

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by jamieyello, Feb 21, 2018
    TotalInsanity4 likes this.
  6. JohnJohn3484

    JohnJohn3484 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Greece
    I noticed that in the latest canary the multiplayer menu isn't there anymore. I used a slightly older canary to link two omega ruby games. My friend connected successfully to the room but neither of us can see the other in the passerby section of pss. Am i doing something wrong?
     
    Last edited by JohnJohn3484, Feb 23, 2018
  7. Miguel Gomez

    Miguel Gomez GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    2,867
    Country:
    Seems that they're updating the multiplayer feature. I suggest you and your friend use older builds with multiplayer or wait for the next Canary build.
     
  8. JohnJohn3484

    JohnJohn3484 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Greece
    That's what we did. We used older canary builds, he connected to my room but i can't see him ingame.
     
  9. Slidingbass

    Slidingbass GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Regenerate console id in one of your citra canary builds.
     
    JohnJohn3484 likes this.
  10. jroweboy

    jroweboy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    United States
    its possible you downloaded the one version that had the multiplayer tab, but was missing the actual multiplayer backend code. we are in the process of merging multiplayer into nightly. when thats done the option won't ever disappear again :P
     
  11. JohnJohn3484

    JohnJohn3484 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Greece
    I regenerated console id and it worked!! Thanks!!
     
    Slidingbass likes this.
  12. perkel

    perkel GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    246
    Country:
    Poland
    b0b_d0e at r/citra dropped some heavy nukes on me and i can't not share with you guys:

    "Amd fix is already done now. It doesn't impact performance for Nvidia it seems. The code is on the final stretch now and is getting ready to go live. From there we can track issues with specific games and stuff.

    I've been keeping a spreadsheet of games performance differences but no one has tested mh xx so I can't say for that one. But here's some numbers from someone with a intel 3700k and a gtx 680 for some other mh games at 4x resolution and accurate mul on (which slows down all games but is required for some games) what I'm saying is if you drop resolution and turn off mul you'd likely get even faster, but we wanted to test the average scenario.

    Monster Hunter Generations 50% -> 275%

    Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate 10% -> 45%

    Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate 15% -> 50%

    Monster Hunter Stories 5% -> 17%"
     
  13. jroweboy

    jroweboy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    United States
    fyi my gamer tag is b0b d0e, but i code under my real name account jroweboy. i signed up for reddit for vidya game news, but signed up for gbatemp for responding to citra question, hence why my usernames are different. and yes thats accurate information. getting real close to release. every tester we had sent the build to agrees that its fast unless you have amd or integrated graphics (which is something we can't help much)
     
  14. perkel

    perkel GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    246
    Country:
    Poland
    That clears up things !
     
    AceofZeroz likes this.
  15. LouisBlaster72

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    France
    After I install a clean 4.5 nand (not mine) with my system archives from my 3ds, the version number shows up in system settings app like a real 3ds.
    Keyboard is also working but it crashes after pressing enter. Is my nand incomplete or the keyboard not fully operationnal ?

    Here is the keyboard before it crashes.
    Capture.PNG

    System settings app showing the true version number after install a clean nand.
    Capture2.PNG
     
  16. Miguel Gomez

    Miguel Gomez GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    2,867
    Country:
    Keyboard not fully functional for now. I tried it on my 11.6 n2DS and o2DS as well. No hope.
     
  17. jroweboy

    jroweboy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    United States
    b3n30 is working on it. he got it to work completely.... except citra crashes when you close citra so its not quite ready yet. he was also looking at making a FOSS replacement for swkbd so we can distribute it with citra
     
    Slidingbass likes this.
  18. demonata

    demonata Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Is it jroweboy's personal note only or is it somewhere online?
    When comparing Etrian Odyssey V on nightly and canary,
    frame time are around 5ms versus 20ms (in-game tavern screen, true for at least 3 latest windows builds on each side)
     
  19. Lunos

    Lunos GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    207
    Country:
    Uruguay
    I suppose that, in those tests, Jroweboy is talking about the upcoming feature that will boost the performance by passing some of the work that the CPU currently handles to the GPU. Users do not have access to it yet.
     
    Last edited by Lunos, Mar 3, 2018
  20. demonata

    demonata Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Thanks for clarification, that would be a great news to me.
    Kind of mixed it up with Phanto-m's texcache-pt2 since the page is under jroweboy's name...

    Until next-gen boost shows up in canary though, I'll need to keep an nightly-571 copy,
    Etrian Odyssey V got the slow down in nightly-572 as predicted (Texture Cache Rework).
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Emulator, Citra,