cIOS_fix Bricked Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Haxxy, Dec 6, 2009.

Dec 6, 2009

cIOS_fix Bricked Wii by Haxxy at 12:48 AM (3,794 Views / 0 Likes) 37 replies

  1. Haxxy
    OP

    Newcomer Haxxy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United States
    Hello! I was working on downgrading, and the instruction set I was following involved me installing cIOS_fix.wad. I did so and restarted my Wii, and I now get the "system files are corrupt" error. I've restarted the Wii at least 30 times, and no luck. I don't have BootMii installed.

    I'm screwed, right?
     


  2. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    cIOS_Fix is horribly outdated. If you're still using it, you shouldn't be. Anyway, if you didn't install bootmii as boot2 or preloader, yes your wii is bricked.
     
  3. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    How old is your Wii? And whatever the response to that question is, under no circumstances should you have needed to be downgrading anything. The guides in the stickies are stickied for a reason. Don't follow things over a year old when doing stuff on your Wii.
     
  4. Haxxy
    OP

    Newcomer Haxxy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United States
    You're right, I do feel dumb for trying it. It's just that it's the method I used last time I downgraded from the same system version (4.0), so I figured it'd work again.

    Also, my Wii is a launch Wii.

    The reason I restarted my Wii so many times was because I had previously gotten the same error message, and it would go away after several restarts. I didn't have hope, but I figured it was worth a shot.

    I never installed BootMii because I didn't like the startup menu, and I didn't figure out until now that I could prevent the startup menu from appearing unless I need it.
     
  5. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    When it came out, I hated it too until I discovered it could be hidden. Now, I won't live without it if a wii supports it.

    Why your wii bricked is beyond me. cIOS_Fix should not have bricked, even if installed on a boot2v4 ("LU64") wii. On LU64+'s, worst that happens is apps using cIOS won't work.

    It seems to be time to call N. An infectus and bootmii could unbrick it, but it's not worth the hassle. You'll get a refurb wii if you send it in.
     
  6. Haxxy
    OP

    Newcomer Haxxy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United States
    Are you sure I should call? I've had the Wii for 3 years and the warranty has obviously been obliterated. Also, wouldn't the Wii I get be an LU64+ with the latest system menu? And, would it cost money?

    There are unbricking services online. Would that be a better option?
     
  7. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Not every wii they send back is updated or even new. Someone recently got a 3.3 unit back.

    Worst that happens is you get an LU64-type unit with 4.2 and a backup-proof D3-2 drive. 4.2 is hackable and USB Loaders are a suitable replacement for discs. Only downside is no bootmii on newer wiis.
     
  8. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    the cIOS_fix.wad had nothing to do with your brick, the downgrade part do, why da' hell did you downgrade for..?? [​IMG] well anyways yeah you are screwed, send it to nintendo and pay for the reparation, or buy a new one at walmart, switch the consoles and return it, that way you'll end up with 2 new ones and you can sell one just to recover your investment...!! [​IMG]


    p.s. forget about a hackeable boot2 o a newer wii
     
  9. wiihacker3000

    Member wiihacker3000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Country:
    United States
    I ONCE had my cousin buy a wii with a warrenty from game stop, switched serial numbers, and took warrenty on recipt and switched my wii which couldent read disks for a new wii that was 3.3U that is also able to have bootmii as boot 2 just as my old wii. :)
     
  10. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    I'm curious if he actually downgraded. He said it bricked after he installed the cIOS_fix and quit wad manager (old ones reboots on exit. If he's using cios_fix, his WM is likely just as outdated...) I wonder if he actually ran cIOS Downgrader or whatever he planned to use.

    As for why he downgraded, yeah, no reason for it unless you want to brick your wii...4.0/4.1 is best place to be.
     
  11. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    no pre/priiloader????
     
  12. Haxxy
    OP

    Newcomer Haxxy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United States
    I did not go through the whole downgrade process. I only installed one or two downgraded IOSes via wad manager, including IOS 16. By "downgrade" I meant downgrade the necessary IOSes, not the entire system, in order to install cIOS and, subsequently, use USB Loader.
     
  13. Haxxy
    OP

    Newcomer Haxxy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, I've already set up a repair with Nintendo. I'd prefer if I were to get a "new" Wii anyway, since mine has screws missing, and it's overall been heavily worn. Thanks for the offer, though.
     
  14. Haxxy
    OP

    Newcomer Haxxy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United States
    I'd like to, but I don't believe there's a way to cancel the order. It was $85 including shipping.
     
  15. Am0s

    Member Am0s Mojo Risin

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    sounds like something wasnt right even before you did the downgrade
     
  16. Haxxy
    OP

    Newcomer Haxxy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United States
    The whole reason I formatted my Wii in the first place was because I was receiving error messages. I figured I had just messed with the IOSes so much that I was starting to get errors, but who knows, it could also have been a hardware problem.

    DeadlyFoez: I'll see if I can cancel the order.
     
  17. Adr990

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The so called 'cIOS_FIX.wad' will install its self on IOS247.

    I don't think that will hurt your Wii at all. (But may even improve, since Nintendo did skip this IOS in 4.2, may in 4.3 too, than you can still easily 'hack' your Wii.)

    Anyways, Downgrading could be the awnser why you bricked.

    It seems like you don't have a LU64+ Wii, otherwise your Wii shouldn't start anymore that far as 'system files are corrupt'.

    So something went wrong with installing/downgrading the IOS's over there.

    If you can't launch a game via SafeMii or SafeMiiFree (to update..) and don't have a modchip.
    You are screwed.

    Sending to Nintendo / Buy a new one is your only solution.

    Edit: Or sending it to DeadlyFoez. (That's your best bet!)
     
  18. Haxxy
    OP

    Newcomer Haxxy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United States
    First of all, I did NOT downgrade any IOSes except for IOS16, which is why I'm puzzled about this.

    Also, I have a Wiikey (original) modchip available to install. If I install this, is there a bootable disc I could use to help me out?

    EDIT: I read up on self-creating a bootable disc I can use. Is there a reasonable homebrew equivalent to a system format?
     
  19. Haxxy
    OP

    Newcomer Haxxy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United States
    Update: I installed my Wiikey, and I'm burning kitt's bootable discs from this thread:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=123708&st=0

    However, I'm getting the "an error has occured" message when trying to boot any of them. I have verified that the modchip functions properly. Any ideas?
     
  20. Haxxy
    OP

    Newcomer Haxxy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United States
    Update! I've successfully loaded WAD Manager 1.5. What's the easiest path to take from here? I wish I knew which IOSes were causing the problem.

    EDIT: For those wondering, I used SaveMiiFrii with the Universal Unbrick Disc v3.
     

Share This Page