Hacking cIOS_fix Bricked Wii

Haxxy

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
84
Trophies
0
XP
109
Country
United States
Hello! I was working on downgrading, and the instruction set I was following involved me installing cIOS_fix.wad. I did so and restarted my Wii, and I now get the "system files are corrupt" error. I've restarted the Wii at least 30 times, and no luck. I don't have BootMii installed.

I'm screwed, right?
 

nabster92

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
1,630
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
51
Country
United States
Haxxy said:
Hello! I was working on downgrading (first mistake), and the instruction set I was following involved me installing cIOS_fix.wad (second mistake). I did so and restarted my Wii, and I now get the "system files are corrupt" error. I've restarted the Wii at least 30 times (useless), and no luck. I don't have BootMii installed (fatality).

I'm screwed, right?

How old is your Wii? And whatever the response to that question is, under no circumstances should you have needed to be downgrading anything. The guides in the stickies are stickied for a reason. Don't follow things over a year old when doing stuff on your Wii.
 

Haxxy

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
84
Trophies
0
XP
109
Country
United States
You're right, I do feel dumb for trying it. It's just that it's the method I used last time I downgraded from the same system version (4.0), so I figured it'd work again.

Also, my Wii is a launch Wii.

The reason I restarted my Wii so many times was because I had previously gotten the same error message, and it would go away after several restarts. I didn't have hope, but I figured it was worth a shot.

I never installed BootMii because I didn't like the startup menu, and I didn't figure out until now that I could prevent the startup menu from appearing unless I need it.
 

techboy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
1,720
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Pennsylvania
Website
Visit site
XP
316
Country
United States
QUOTE said:
I never installed BootMii because I didn't like the startup menu, and I didn't figure out until now that I could prevent the startup menu from appearing unless I need it.
When it came out, I hated it too until I discovered it could be hidden. Now, I won't live without it if a wii supports it.

Why your wii bricked is beyond me. cIOS_Fix should not have bricked, even if installed on a boot2v4 ("LU64") wii. On LU64+'s, worst that happens is apps using cIOS won't work.

It seems to be time to call N. An infectus and bootmii could unbrick it, but it's not worth the hassle. You'll get a refurb wii if you send it in.
 

Haxxy

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
84
Trophies
0
XP
109
Country
United States
Are you sure I should call? I've had the Wii for 3 years and the warranty has obviously been obliterated. Also, wouldn't the Wii I get be an LU64+ with the latest system menu? And, would it cost money?

There are unbricking services online. Would that be a better option?
 

techboy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
1,720
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Pennsylvania
Website
Visit site
XP
316
Country
United States
QUOTE said:
There are unbricking services online. Would that be a better option?
I'd stay away from those things. Some do a poor job, or charge even if they can't unbrick it. Also, many are for banner bricks only. They're unlikely to be able to help with this issue. If you call N, you're at least guaranteed it will be unbricked or replacement will be given to you.

QUOTE said:
Are you sure I should call? I've had the Wii for 3 years and the warranty has obviously been obliterated....And, would it cost money?
Yes you should call. It'll cost around $70.

QUOTE
Also, wouldn't the Wii I get be an LU64+ with the latest system menu?
Not every wii they send back is updated or even new. Someone recently got a 3.3 unit back.

Worst that happens is you get an LU64-type unit with 4.2 and a backup-proof D3-2 drive. 4.2 is hackable and USB Loaders are a suitable replacement for discs. Only downside is no bootmii on newer wiis.
 

ether2802

we have the techno...!!
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
4,349
Trophies
0
Age
41
Location
Pto. Vallarta
XP
312
Country
Mexico
the cIOS_fix.wad had nothing to do with your brick, the downgrade part do, why da' hell did you downgrade for..??
wtf.gif
well anyways yeah you are screwed, send it to nintendo and pay for the reparation, or buy a new one at walmart, switch the consoles and return it, that way you'll end up with 2 new ones and you can sell one just to recover your investment...!!
tongue.gif



p.s. forget about a hackeable boot2 o a newer wii
 

wiihacker3000

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 25, 2009
Messages
217
Trophies
0
XP
77
Country
United States
I ONCE had my cousin buy a wii with a warrenty from game stop, switched serial numbers, and took warrenty on recipt and switched my wii which couldent read disks for a new wii that was 3.3U that is also able to have bootmii as boot 2 just as my old wii. :)
 

techboy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
1,720
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Pennsylvania
Website
Visit site
XP
316
Country
United States
ether2802 said:
the cIOS_fix.wad had nothing to do with your brick, the downgrade part do, why da' hell did you downgrade for..??
wtf.gif

I'm curious if he actually downgraded. He said it bricked after he installed the cIOS_fix and quit wad manager (old ones reboots on exit. If he's using cios_fix, his WM is likely just as outdated...) I wonder if he actually ran cIOS Downgrader or whatever he planned to use.

As for why he downgraded, yeah, no reason for it unless you want to brick your wii...4.0/4.1 is best place to be.
 

Haxxy

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
84
Trophies
0
XP
109
Country
United States
I did not go through the whole downgrade process. I only installed one or two downgraded IOSes via wad manager, including IOS 16. By "downgrade" I meant downgrade the necessary IOSes, not the entire system, in order to install cIOS and, subsequently, use USB Loader.
 

Haxxy

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
84
Trophies
0
XP
109
Country
United States
Actually, I've already set up a repair with Nintendo. I'd prefer if I were to get a "new" Wii anyway, since mine has screws missing, and it's overall been heavily worn. Thanks for the offer, though.
 

Haxxy

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
84
Trophies
0
XP
109
Country
United States
I'd like to, but I don't believe there's a way to cancel the order. It was $85 including shipping.
 

Am0s

Mojo Risin
Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2009
Messages
741
Trophies
0
Age
50
Location
England
Website
Visit site
XP
158
Country
Haxxy said:
The reason I restarted my Wii so many times was because I had previously gotten the same error message, and it would go away after several restarts. I didn't have hope, but I figured it was worth a shot


sounds like something wasnt right even before you did the downgrade
 

Haxxy

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
84
Trophies
0
XP
109
Country
United States
The whole reason I formatted my Wii in the first place was because I was receiving error messages. I figured I had just messed with the IOSes so much that I was starting to get errors, but who knows, it could also have been a hardware problem.

DeadlyFoez: I'll see if I can cancel the order.
 

Adr990

To boldly go where no man has gone before!
Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2007
Messages
1,567
Trophies
0
Location
The Netherlands
Website
www.hyrule.net
XP
737
Country
Netherlands
The so called 'cIOS_FIX.wad' will install its self on IOS247.

I don't think that will hurt your Wii at all. (But may even improve, since Nintendo did skip this IOS in 4.2, may in 4.3 too, than you can still easily 'hack' your Wii.)

Anyways, Downgrading could be the awnser why you bricked.

It seems like you don't have a LU64+ Wii, otherwise your Wii shouldn't start anymore that far as 'system files are corrupt'.

So something went wrong with installing/downgrading the IOS's over there.

If you can't launch a game via SafeMii or SafeMiiFree (to update..) and don't have a modchip.
You are screwed.

Sending to Nintendo / Buy a new one is your only solution.

Edit: Or sending it to DeadlyFoez. (That's your best bet!)
 

Haxxy

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
84
Trophies
0
XP
109
Country
United States
First of all, I did NOT downgrade any IOSes except for IOS16, which is why I'm puzzled about this.

Also, I have a Wiikey (original) modchip available to install. If I install this, is there a bootable disc I could use to help me out?

EDIT: I read up on self-creating a bootable disc I can use. Is there a reasonable homebrew equivalent to a system format?
 

Haxxy

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
84
Trophies
0
XP
109
Country
United States
Update! I've successfully loaded WAD Manager 1.5. What's the easiest path to take from here? I wish I knew which IOSes were causing the problem.

EDIT: For those wondering, I used SaveMiiFrii with the Universal Unbrick Disc v3.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Now I gotta set up all the smart shit again
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    @BigOnYa did mushrooms ever help with depression?
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I've never really been thru real depression, and I smoke lots of weed so that always makes me happy.
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa, as Snoop Dogg said: "smoke weed everyday"
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Wait it was nate who said it
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I only did shrooms a handful of times, and it was always while out camping/ fishing. And always had lots of beer to calm the effect if it got too intense.
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Booze, Beers n buds is all I do anymore, too old for that other shit, and scared cause nowadays you never know what's in it, like fentynal
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa, not interested in alcohol
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Only in drugs
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    And vaping
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Damn TVs are dirt cheap these days lol
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Xdqwerty, Shouldn't you not be allowed to smoke at a young age?
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @SylverReZ, probably doing it when i get older ofc
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Ah okay, that's totally up to you.
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Yea psi they are, I just recently got a 50" 4k Vizio for spare bedroom $249 at Wallys.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Was looking at one on Amazon about that price then noticed the giant ones are not much more these days
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    What's odd to me is that the 65 inch one is 20 bucks more than the 70 inch one lol
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Just like ken always tells you at night, bigger is better.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    I don't know why I feel "bad" when watching videos of people raging at video games
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Specially children
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Would you like one dosage of Lizzo to help you feel better about yourself?
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    120hz TVs are still kinda expensive tho, but they are nice for gaming on, Series X can output true 4k 120hz.
    BigOnYa @ BigOnYa: 120hz TVs are still kinda expensive tho, but they are nice for gaming on, Series X can output...