ROM Hack Question [Cheat] [Code Creation] Is there a way to set a value to specified address from resister's value

Jun_Bon_Jovi

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Japan
Hello,
I'm a beginner in creating switch games cheat codes, and reading "SX OS Cheat Hacker Guide".

So now, I want to make a code like this,
  1. Get a value from an address, and set the value to resister f.
    • it would be "5TMFI0AA AAAAAAAA"
  2. Set resister f's value to a specified address.
    • idk how to write..
Thank you.

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
If someone asks me to set something from a resistor I assume they want to be able to dial in a code from an external source (be it a proper decade setup or an analogue stick).
If someone wants me to set something from a register (that being a little dedicated area of memory within a computer that is used for operations or system states) that is a different matter entirely. It sounds like you are going for this.

Reading the guide it seems the SX OS engine peeps have also provided the would be cheat maker with a selection of registers of their own as well. Do you mean these?

If so it looks like you have two options, possibly 3 if the new address you want to set is mathematically related and you can do some maths on it. Here code type 4 is what you want unless you have a memory address elsewhere in memory
# Code Type 4: Load register with value

400R0000 VVVVVVVV VVVVVVVV

This code type will load one of the registers with a specific value

R = Register to be filled
V = Value to be put in register

# Code Type 5: Load register with value from memory

5TMRI0AA AAAAAAAA

T = Width of value to be loaded from memory (1/2/4/8)
M = memory type (0 = main nso, 1 = heap)
R = Load from register index
I = Load from register flag, set to 1 to load from register R instead of address A
A = Address relative to (M)

Jun_Bon_Jovi

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Japan
Thank you for replying :D