Chances of bricking my DS with R4?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Graffix, Jan 2, 2008.

Jan 2, 2008
  1. Graffix
    OP

    Newcomer Graffix Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    I read a lot about these brickers coded to delete the DS' firmware and was wondering what is the chance of me coming across an .nds file corrupted by this? It seems there is no new "virus" (if that's what you want to call it) that has been created anytime recently so I'm gonna assume I'm fairly safe but are there any pre-cautions I can take to avoid this happening? Considering I just got my DSL I would be incredibly pissed if I downloaded a game and it turns out it's infected with one of these two/three files. I'm still waiting on my R4 actually and just want to make sure I know enough about these type of things beforehand.
     


  2. asuri

    Member asuri GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    465
    Country:
    Canada
    find one ds rom site that has a big forum
     
  3. VBKirby

    Member VBKirby GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh! I didn't even know about this! I would like to know some precautions as well. (though I'm getting a new DS lite soon anyways due to my touch screen being pretty much useless on my current one.) I download my games off of isohunt torrents. Is that a bad idea?
     
  4. Taras

    Member Taras I'm Not Hating, I'm Just Sayin'

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    677
    Location:
    Boxcar #142, Santa Fe rail
    Country:
    United States
    I believe you need to run flashme if you are worried about bricking.
     
  5. VBKirby

    Member VBKirby GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Country:
    Canada
    what is flashme?
     
  6. Taras

    Member Taras I'm Not Hating, I'm Just Sayin'

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    677
    Location:
    Boxcar #142, Santa Fe rail
    Country:
    United States
    A firmware hack for DS that removes that annoying health warning screen (or not with stealth version), but I think it also safeguards against bricking by allowing you to restore normal firmware (unflash). Anyone correct me if I'm wrong.

    The process might seem like a hassle, bridging internal connections with a paperclip/metal object, but it's really not that bad.

    Then again, this might require a slot 2 device...
     
  7. VBKirby

    Member VBKirby GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, I looked on wikipedia and you need some sort of card for the gba slot.

    Is it a bad idea to download off of isohunt torrents?
     
  8. AndreXL

    Member AndreXL GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    514
    Country:
    Philippines
    If I remember correctly, Supercard SDONE has an anti brick code. Anyone who owns one want to verify?
     
  9. Graffix
    OP

    Newcomer Graffix Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    Isn't there a program out there that checks for the code used by the bricker file? I know of one DS rom site that has a smaller forum, I'd say a few hundred members max, can't be to sure either way.
     
  10. asuri

    Member asuri GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    465
    Country:
    Canada
    NDSTokyo Trim ds rom trimmer?
     
  11. six-five-two

    Member six-five-two GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Messages:
    134
    Country:
    Canada
    Just don't download roms from weird Russian websites and you'll probably never get the bricker.
     
  12. eddyisgreat

    Newcomer eddyisgreat Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Hrm....I wonder if R4 commander has the ability to check the roms...although my entire library (about 350 NDS roms...shhh) was recognized by R4C including release number and game title...

    Ahh well. In computer programming our professors gripe about future engineers not taking chances and fixing their mistakes [​IMG]
     
  13. TLSpartan

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    Yup [​IMG] It is built into moonshell.
     
  14. Ad_Enuff

    Member Ad_Enuff GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can download any rom from wherever you like, the best practice full stop is to use clrMAMEpro and the latest rom verification DAT from http://www.advanscene.com

    That way if anyone has tampered with it deliberately, just a duff rom or someone has patched it with an ARM7 fix, using that method will show up any problems and rename and zip your roms all at the same time.

    If you haven't done this practice before, I suggest you do so.
     
  15. sylux92

    Member sylux92 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    United States
    Actually flashme does run off a slot 1 cart, such as the r4. You just need the latest version of flashme.
     
  16. Mars

    Member Mars Radioactive Propaganda Minister

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    598
    Country:
    United States
    Make sure to check that each untrimmed rom you download is either 8, 16, 32, 64, 128, or 256 MB.

    However, following precautions isn't really necessary, just find a reliable rom source, and download all roms from there. Or if you use a torrent site, check to see if there are any comments from other users.

    Finding a bricker is very rare. I have yet to come across a bricker, and I download from various websites.
     
  17. MaHe

    Member MaHe one lazy schmo

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Maribor
    Country:
    Slovenia
    I just installed FlashME ... you can also restore your firmware from R4. [​IMG]
     
  18. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Being able to unbrick the DS is the only reason I still have flashme installed. That's the best thing to install to avoid bricking. I've always found that the bricker could be in the homebrew. Never had a problem with the Roms.
     
  19. Taras

    Member Taras I'm Not Hating, I'm Just Sayin'

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    677
    Location:
    Boxcar #142, Santa Fe rail
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't know that, could you elaborate?

    Thanks
     
  20. azotyp

    Member azotyp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,175
    Location:
    Poland
    Country:
    Poland
    I was always wondering how brickers can brick soft in DS. Because if you want to change soft you have to make short circuit withy small screwdriver. My theory is that brickers install themselves in ram memory , thus they could be erased by putting out battery (but it is just theory I never checked it ).
     

Share This Page