Hacking CFW Issues

kjb1686

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2009
Messages
273
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Olean New York
XP
389
Country
United States
Hi everyone I read some guides that said it was OK to update to the latest firmware which I did to see if that may fix a problem I was having with a game however now my CFW has stopped working. Is there a way I can downgrade to 11.4 or earlier with my gateway. I recall seeing a guide somewhere before but can't find it now. Some examples of what I mean by not working are that I had it setup where if I press down it boots to gateway firmware which no longer does. I can't launch the homebrew launcher or even launch CIA's that I have installed using FBI.
 

mikey420

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
911
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
493
Country
United States
Simply put you've been reverted to stock. hE doesn't work on the newest firmware and you are very lucky it didn't flat out brick you. You will need to follow 3ds.guide to repack your console and I highly suggest throwing your gateway card in the trash. They don't care that there product is bricking people because they already got there money out of the scene.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Quantumcat

kjb1686

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2009
Messages
273
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Olean New York
XP
389
Country
United States
That's what I figured I should have asked here before I did it my fault. Anyway I was looking at the guide since I figured that was what I might have to do. I have a 3DS Xl and I am fine with using DSiWare games to do so however I only have one 3DS and don't know if I can find another one already with Bootstrap on it. So I looked and saw ntrboot which only requires one 3ds and a NDS flashcart which I have a supercard DS Two and was wondering if I could use that somehow to do the process.
 

mikey420

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
911
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
493
Country
United States
BTW for information the reason it doesn't work is because it doesn't have the firm protection patch and firmware 11.3 and on has a function that attempts to rewrite the 3SD firm at boot removing any installed hack so without the patch it reverts O3DS to stock and bricks n3ds.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I'm not sure that particular card is supported for ntrboothax

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Looks like it is supported
 

kjb1686

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2009
Messages
273
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Olean New York
XP
389
Country
United States
OK thank you for all your help so far. I was just looking at that oh well it is my fault I will have to either find a second 3ds to use or wait to buy one of those cards to fix my stupidity.
 

kjb1686

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2009
Messages
273
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Olean New York
XP
389
Country
United States
Yeah I might pick that one up as it seems the cheapest option of all. One final question there is no way to downgrade firmware on my 3DS is there even if I have a gateway 3DS.
 

Ryab

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2017
Messages
3,231
Trophies
1
XP
4,456
Country
United States
Yeah I might pick that one up as it seems the cheapest option of all. One final question there is no way to downgrade firmware on my 3DS is there even if I have a gateway 3DS.
as of 11.4 no. keep in mind the dstt requires a nintendo ds or ds lite to flash with
 

Ryab

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2017
Messages
3,231
Trophies
1
XP
4,456
Country
United States
That's fine I have a old Nintendo DS that I can use. Besides the DSTT out of the cards able to be used what would be the best option to get. Below are the compatible ones just want a suggestion before I purchase.

https://3ds.guide/ntrboot
if you want a cheap cart then the dstt but if you want a cart to play ds roms on the 3ds and flash ntrboothax either get Ace 3DS X, R4i Gold 3DS RTS, or R4i Gold 3DS plus
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: @BakerMan, I have a piano keyboard but I never use it