1. RadMcFist

    RadMcFist Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2019
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    This may sound obvious but you never know: are you saving after editing the description? I'm not talking about pressing the Save button under the text input dialog where you write the description, I mean after doing, when you're done editing everything you want to edit, are you going to File and Save Database? If you don't, nothing will be saved, obviously. Down on the sort of status bar at the bottom of the program window there's a useful part that says UNSAVED if you have done any editing to the database that you haven't saved yet.

    If you're doing this correctly and still get nothing when reloading, you can see if CaVE is saving the files by yourself. Go to where your database is saved, then to romfs/bootapp/resources/strings/ and there should be a folder for your language (en, ja, sp, etc) containing a file named strings.lng. That's where the descriptions are.

    Between NES and SNES I have added over 600 descriptions to my games using CaVE and have never ran into any issue.
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2019
  2. AlanLC

    AlanLC GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    266
    Country:
    Brazil
    Nes (4.1) still doesn't need iPs patch, but Snes (1.1) needs a new iPs patch.


    Star Fox 2
    A8EC618C-6AF5-43F4-9F55-CC6B6F4FCEDB.jpeg
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2019
  3. DarkAkuma

    OP DarkAkuma GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United States
    Yea. I've been looking things over. The future full unlock will no longer enable snesc sfrom support, because that support has been removed from the code. Not a real loss anyway. I found the stuff for the RSA hack, and Im currently working on the Preset ID unlock.

    I haven't begone looking at the footers yet, but looking at the image you posted... whats different from my prediction is...

    They use compatibility mode 7 instead of 6, for some reason. The SuperFX clock value is new, but not significantly different... and... ugg... Looks like they enabled epilepsy protection for StarFox2...

    Get ready to see a lot of discussion about that, and how to disable it in the future... (FYI, use SFROM Tool, open starfox2 sfrom, go to advanced, Switch tab, and select Epilepsy Protection: off).

    EDIT:

    A test version of the SNES ad SFC Online full unlocks have been posted over to the Discord home channel (#switch-online) for anyone who wants to try it. Once I know this works for people I'll post them all on my website.

    Super Punch-Out!!
    Prediction:
    S-2019_e
    47 02 00 00 A9 10 74 06 70 01 0A 00 00 00 43 61 6E 31
    or
    47 02 00 00 A9 10 74 06 70 01 50 04 00 00 01 00 00 00 12 00 00 00 43 61 6E 31

    Official:
    S-2019_e
    47 02 00 00 A9 10 74 07 70 01 0A 00 00 00 43 61 6E 31


    Breath Of Fire 2
    Prediction:
    S-2025_e
    47 02 00 00 68 10 74 06 70 01 0A 00 00 00 43 61 6E 31

    Official:
    S-2025_e
    47 02 00 00 68 10 76 3C 74 07 70 01 0C 00 00 00 43 61 6E 31


    Kirby Super Star
    Prediction:
    S-2026_e
    47 02 00 00 9F 10 76 78 74 06 70 02 0C 00 00 00 43 61 6E 31

    Official:
    S-2029_e
    47 02 00 00 9F 10 74 07 61 02 41 02 00 00 0E 01 70 02 12 00 00 00 43 61 6E 31

    Star Fox 2
    Prediction:
    S-2027_e
    47 02 00 00 45 12 65 0C 74 06 70 01 55 02 00 00 3C 05 12 00 00 00 43 61 6E 31

    Official:
    S-2031_e
    47 02 00 00 45 12 65 0C 74 07 61 02 70 01 55 02 00 00 05 05 14 00 00 00 43 61 6E 31


    I got 2 Codes right. But no footers 100% right. They are using compatibility mode 7 for all these new games now, for some reason.

    BoF2 has a volume byte... So do, some dont. Hard to predict.

    Kirby Superstar has Epilepsy Protection turned on to v2_blend, and frequency time set to 270. And no volume byte...

    Star Fox 2 has Epilepsy Protection turned on to v2_blend, but uses default frequency. 1285 clock speed.

    Overall, nothing special from the footers. First official use of the Armet/Epilepsy params, and a new value for SFX clock speed is all.
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2019
    AlanLC likes this.
  4. DarkAkuma

    OP DarkAkuma GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United States
    Here's an update!

    I thought this might be coming based on observing the code of v1.0, but I didn't think it would be so soon. Kind of gives some people a reason to want to update to v1.1 now!

    Can someone please try a PAL game with v1.1? No PAL2NTSC patch (Robins pack includes these for a lot of game, so please be sure you are not using one). Just a normal PAL game. The new code suggests that support might be working for PAL games now.

    What to look out for is if the game seems to be running fast or not. A 50hz game running at 60hz means its processing 10 more frames a second that its intending, so... yea. Faster. Sound will be a little weird too since its running fast. Obviously, it will only be 50fps too... if you can tell the difference.
     
  5. 0bvious

    0bvious GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    Just a quick question.... I haven't updated yet. I am in Europe, so not sure if my version of SNES Online is covered by the unlock patch yet? After I figure that out I can try a PAL game
     
  6. DarkAkuma

    OP DarkAkuma GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United States
    There's only 2 versions. Western (SNES Online), and SE Asian (SFC Online). SFC Online covers Japanese, Traditional Chinese, and Simplified Chinese. SNES Online covers everything else.

    I posted patches for both versions in discord for testing.
     
  7. 0bvious

    0bvious GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    Where does the FullUnlock.pchtxt file go?
     
  8. DarkAkuma

    OP DarkAkuma GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United States
    SD:/atmosphere/titles/01008D300C50C000/exefs/FullUnlock.pchtxt
     
  9. 0bvious

    0bvious GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    I have followed everything through, and all my games are now broken (not loading at all).

    - Updated SNES online to v.1.1.0
    - Saved new 'stock database' in CaVE and selected it in program
    - Saved database
    - Deleted old instance of database on SD card and copied latest one over
    - Copied all patch files, as directed, to the right locations on SD card (including .ips .pchtxt and the .txt file in /cheats)

    SNES Online loads, but none of the games work now

    EDIT: seems to be something to do with new stock game database. It isn't loading in CaVE, and the games don't show in the updated app on switch. I can only get the stock games to load, and SOME of the extra games. So it could possibly be an SFROM thing. I did save the majority of my games in Switch format in SFROM Tool, but I know a lot has changed.
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2019
  10. DarkAkuma

    OP DarkAkuma GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United States
    Ok. I'm looking into it now with yuzu. Been kind of busy lately, and only wanted to do the bare minimum... hoping that would be good enough. So I didnt set up yuzu and test myself.

    Preliminary test with yuzu and the pchtxt shows, the RSA hack works (Stock games will not work on yuzu without the RSA hack, and they are working for me with v1.1). The 4 new games work, but I copied over the nodes manually to eliminate variables that could cause issues for testing. Custom games do not work though. So I know where I have to focus.

    The code de-compiles into a confusing jumbled mess. That plus some of the changes they made... I'm not 100% sure updated the hack correctly. The hack borrows the SMK setup routine... and I'm not 100% sure the routine I'm trying to use is from SMK this time. So I'll figure that out and get back.

    EDIT:

    I'm not having much luck with yuzu. Variations of the PresetID unlock hack that worked with 1.0... are not working for me right now. Maybe its just a yuzu thing. So try this.

    Code:
    @nsobid-66ABC177C38041BE62367BBCBA5A7F8FACEF1A8E
    
    #SNES Online 1.1.0.0 USA
    
    @flag print_values
    
    // Full Unlock
    @enabled
    001DD6AC 20008052
    001E2028 D0FEFF17
    
    @stop
    The above should be the correct update. The offset was wrong in the version I uploaded.

    If that does not work on hardware, try replacing the "001E2028 D0FEFF17" line with one of these lines.

    001E2028 06FDFF17
    001E2028 FEFEFF17
    001E2028 29FFFF17

    These variations just borrow routines from different stock games. These 4 are the only ones that worked in the past (well, sort of 1 other). If none of these work on hardware either... I'm going to have to go through testing all stock game routines again. If none of those work... I'll try that "sort of 1 other" hack. And if that doesn't work... Well, this is going to take longer than expected.
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2019
  11. 0bvious

    0bvious GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    OK. I was going insane over this. And I think Atmosphere might have moved some of its files in the latest build when i updated, or something. I found 01008D300C50C000 in a folder called 'contents' rather than 'titles'. Moving everything there made it load the new games properly.

    BUT I am afraid none of the codes above work in the \atmosphere\contents\01008D300C50C000\exefs\FullUnlock.pchtxt file. I tried them all.

    Also, I updated my emunand to the latest Switch firmware, just to see if that changed anything. It didn't.
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2019
  12. DarkAkuma

    OP DarkAkuma GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United States
    While I waited for a response, I went and tried ALL stock games routines. And none boot games on yuzu.

    But I did have different results with some ID's. It even makes a little sense. SMK and the other 3 games routines that booted games in 1.0 lacked a certain bit of code, but they all have that code now. While these new games do not have that code.

    Try this:

    @nsobid-66ABC177C38041BE62367BBCBA5A7F8FACEF1A8E

    #SNES Online 1.1.0.0 USA

    @flag print_values

    // Full Unlock
    @enabled
    001DD6AC 20008052
    001E1B78 20008052
    001E2028 D0FEFF17

    @stop

    Or maybe this:

    @nsobid-66ABC177C38041BE62367BBCBA5A7F8FACEF1A8E

    #SNES Online 1.1.0.0 USA

    @flag print_values

    // Full Unlock
    @enabled
    001DD6AC 20008052
    001E2028 91FDFF17

    @stop

    First just removes the problematic code from the SMK routine, second uses a routine that doesn't have it to begin with.

    These don't boot games for me on yuzu, but unlike most routines these do not cause a crash. For me the game just wont load. You stay on the menu screen.
     
  13. 0bvious

    0bvious GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    Sadly, neither of those work. The effect is exactly the same. The animation runs for a second, and a sound is played, seeming like the game is going to load. But it just jumps straight back to menu. All these codes do the same.
     
  14. DarkAkuma

    OP DarkAkuma GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United States
    I dont know then. I double checked, and the RSA hack is correct. And it works. With yuzu, the RSA hack is needed to boot stock games (for some reason), and thats still the case in v1.1. I tried booting Chrono Trigger before that using SMKs Preset ID as a test, and it failed to boot making me think it might be the RSA hack. You can try such a test as well if you want. Use a stock games Preset ID, just to see if you can boot a custom game that way. ATM I just need to collect some info I guess. I've kind of exhausted all the ideas I have for now... ugg... this update was not supposed to be this difficult. Should have been a simple uneventful update. I wasen't prepared to have to dive into this stuff again so soon...
     
  15. matt!

    matt! GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    446
    Country:
    Yes I'm saving the database, you can see me do it in the screen recording I shared in my earlier post.

    I'll take a look for the file you mentioned.
     
  16. matt!

    matt! GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    446
    Country:
    OK, bug/issue found. It's a problem with CaVE DBM when Language is set to EN-GB. The output is written to EN instead, and because there is no EN-GB folder the strings are not loaded back in on app launch so are effectively lost.

    Thanks for your help tracking it down!

    Paging @DarkAkuma
     
  17. RadMcFist

    RadMcFist Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2019
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, OK, I see. That should be very easy to manually fix yourself for now. If the changes are being written to "en" then they are not lost, you just have to manually move them to the correct folder. If you haven't already, create a folder named "engb" inside the "strings" folder (where the "en" folder is). Then move the file named "strings.lng" that CaVE created from "en" to "engb". You'll end up with "romfs/bootapp/resources/strings/engb/string.lng". Copying that to your Switch should do the trick. I don't know if CaVE will load them after all that (but try anyway), but there's no reason why the Switch shouldn't.

    I hope this helps for now!
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2019
  18. DarkAkuma

    OP DarkAkuma GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United States
    I don't get what you are talking about...

    "and because there is no EN-GB folder"... There should be a "engb" folder. There IS an engb folder with CaVE. It "engb", not "EN-GB" which is confusing me making me think I made some typo somewhere and added or didn't add a hyphon. But I can switch to engb just fine so I doubt that.

    The only way I can think of that you wouldn't have that folder is if you were using that testdb.rar i posted to the discord, which only has "en", not "engb" or anything else. But you shouldn't be using that because thats just for v1.1 of SNES Online only.

    Ignoring that for a moment, I can probably see a issue with changing language option not getting saved and that maybe leading to a bug where strings are saved to the wrong folder. I'd recommend clicking "Save Database" immediately after selecting a new language, as that will force such settings to be saved too. But otherwise, switching between en and engb seems to work just fine, as intended, for me.
     
  19. matt!

    matt! GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    446
    Country:
    Here's the original bug report that you may have missed, to save you clicking the quote arrows a bunch of times: https://gbatemp.net/threads/cave-da...nline-game-catalog.551466/page-5#post-8887652

    That was indeed the bug, thanks for the workaround!
     
  20. matt!

    matt! GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    446
    Country:
    Earlier I said:
    If I update to SNES Online v.1.1.0 then the Winter Gold that I previously installed and played OK will no longer launch.
    Uninstalling SNES Online v1.1.0 update (so back to v1.0.0) and Winter Gold once again launches and plays OK.

    Surely related to the ongoing 1.1.0 discussion.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Database, Manager, catalog