can the New 3ds start all old 3ds firmwares up to 4.5?

AnonymUnbekannter14

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 29, 2021
Messages
40
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
87
Country
Germany
Hello. I heard that the New 3ds can be downgraded to 2.1. And somewhere I also heard that the New 3DS can boot up to firmware 4.5 (from the old 3ds firmwares) But it could be a MCU brick happen when you close the 3ds under a firmware up to 4.5. Some also had 1.0 on the New 3ds. I only have old 3ds systems but would be interested to know as I used to own a new 3ds myself.
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
38,471
Trophies
3
XP
29,180
Country
United States
Hello. I heard that the New 3ds can be downgraded to 2.1. And somewhere I also heard that the New 3DS can boot up to firmware 4.5 (from the old 3ds firmwares) But it could be a MCU brick happen when you close the 3ds under a firmware up to 4.5. Some also had 1.0 on the New 3ds. I only have old 3ds systems but would be interested to know as I used to own a new 3ds myself.
this is true about the 2.1 part, but I don't know about how high it can go. I think the n3ds started with firmware 9.0.0.
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
38,471
Trophies
3
XP
29,180
Country
United States
you're right about not closing the lid. downgrading to 2.1 was part of the grueling a9lh tutorial. iirc, you had to downgrade to get your otp.bin.
 

AnonymUnbekannter14

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 29, 2021
Messages
40
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
87
Country
Germany
Here is a forum post
Screenshot_20230312-231958_Chrome.jpg
 

Hayato213

Newcomer
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
20,091
Trophies
1
XP
21,282
Country
United States
Hello. I heard that the New 3ds can be downgraded to 2.1. And somewhere I also heard that the New 3DS can boot up to firmware 4.5 (from the old 3ds firmwares) But it could be a MCU brick happen when you close the 3ds under a firmware up to 4.5. Some also had 1.0 on the New 3ds. I only have old 3ds systems but would be interested to know as I used to own a new 3ds myself.

On firmware 2.1 it was said to not to close the screen or put the 3DS in sleep mode.
 

AnonymUnbekannter14

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 29, 2021
Messages
40
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
87
Country
Germany
On firmware 2.1 it was said to not to close the screen or put the 3DS in sleep mode.
with an MCU brick, the screen is only black, but LEDs light up, right?
Post automatically merged:

And I have one more question. 2.1 was never developed for New 3ds, what if you put a new 3ds game on 2.1.
 

AnonymUnbekannter14

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 29, 2021
Messages
40
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
87
Country
Germany
Wie auch immer, zu Ihrer zweiten Frage, wenn Sie ein Spiel installieren, das eine höhere Firmware als 2.1 erfordert, werden Sie aufgefordert, ein Update durchzuführen.
I know, but a NEW 3DS game e.g. Minecraft in 2.1. does it then install the cias from the content7update.n3ds folder?
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: https://youtube.com/shorts/gz90ppV7yfE?si=y1IdUB1kPvndhn5P