Hacking Can I softmod and use Netflix - if so, how?

BigSteel

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 6, 2009
Messages
23
Trophies
0
XP
57
Country
United States
I have softmodded many Wii's using the tutorials above. I have someone that wants me to softmod their Wii and install Netflix. What would be the best way to do this? Update to 4.3, install Netflix and then softmod?
 

MarcusRaven

HBC Theme Maker
Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2010
Messages
963
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
N. Carolina
XP
1,326
Country
United States
I've always had issues with Netflix. The channel and disc work, but whenever I quit out of it to return to the main menu my Wii says "System Files Corrupt." I leave the Wii off for a minute or two, and it starts back up just fine. I tried just shutting down from the Netflix app, and the next time I turned my Wii on it said "System Files Corrupt." Another shutdown and waiting a minute seemed to fix it again, but it all worries me. I've tried everything to fix this, even safely updated to 4.3U, updated all my IOSs, tried a WAD of the Netflix Channel instead of the official download. It still happens, and I don't know why.

Basically, using Netflix while soft-modded may yield unsavory results. For me its usable, but I worry every time I shut my Wii off from that error message whether or not its going to come back on. >.<

Luckily I have a PS3 as well, so my wife and I favor that version right now, until I can get this fixed. (If I even can.)
 

Reboot

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 28, 2009
Messages
132
Trophies
0
XP
57
Country
United States
Just FYI, i'm on 4.0u, and do not have updated IOS's (been at Least 8+ months since I've done anything softmod wise with my wii) and I have no issues with the disc method.
 

nl255

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2004
Messages
2,984
Trophies
0
XP
2,521
Country
MarcusRaven said:
I've always had issues with Netflix. The channel and disc work, but whenever I quit out of it to return to the main menu my Wii says "System Files Corrupt." I leave the Wii off for a minute or two, and it starts back up just fine. I tried just shutting down from the Netflix app, and the next time I turned my Wii on it said "System Files Corrupt." Another shutdown and waiting a minute seemed to fix it again, but it all worries me. I've tried everything to fix this, even safely updated to 4.3U, updated all my IOSs, tried a WAD of the Netflix Channel instead of the official download. It still happens, and I don't know why.

Basically, using Netflix while soft-modded may yield unsavory results. For me its usable, but I worry every time I shut my Wii off from that error message whether or not its going to come back on. >.<

Luckily I have a PS3 as well, so my wife and I favor that version right now, until I can get this fixed. (If I even can.)

Are you using cioscorp or darkcorp? If so, get rid of them and use NeoGamma for disc backups.
 

nl255

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2004
Messages
2,984
Trophies
0
XP
2,521
Country
takninds said:
You can use wiiconnect24? Sorry, I'm a noob :/
Won't that update your wii automatically or something?

Nope, none of the three console companies (Nintendo, Microsoft, and Sony) will do automatic firmware updates due to the risk of bricking if done at a bad time. The closest any have come is Sony with the PS3 automatic download feature but even that will just download the firmware update file, you still have to manually run the updater yourself. It is rumored that the 3DS will have fully automatic firmware updating, probably by keeping a backup firmware copy (or possibly even more than one backup, NAND is cheap).
 

grnorris

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 11, 2010
Messages
61
Trophies
0
XP
33
Country
United States
CarbonX13 said:
Softmod the Wii, download the latest Shop Channel (v20) and the latest IOS56, and install them with a WAD Manager. From there, download Netflix from the Wii Shop Channel. Voila! No need to go to 4.3.

Thanks. I've actually looked into this before with no luck.

Basically so long as I have the newest IOS for shop channel and the newest shop channel I can still use my shop channel normally?

Also, should we install IOS56 then Shop Channel or does it not matter for regular channels at all (I'm thinking it shouldn't matter as IOS56 isn't needed to install Shop Channel).
 

MarcusRaven

HBC Theme Maker
Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2010
Messages
963
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
N. Carolina
XP
1,326
Country
United States
nl255 said:
Are you using cioscorp or darkcorp? If so, get rid of them and use NeoGamma for disc backups.

Neither. Just running the channel, or the disc ISO through a WODE, so just like a normal disc. My issue happens when I quit, that's it.
 

Arm73

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
2,046
Trophies
0
Location
Switzerland
XP
587
Country
Italy
BigSteel said:
I have softmodded many Wii's using the tutorials above. I have someone that wants me to softmod their Wii and install Netflix. What would be the best way to do this? Update to 4.3, install Netflix and then softmod?

You don't need to softmod a Wii to install Netflix.
From a non-modded Wii, all you have to do is download the Netflix channel .
I would do that first, and then proceed and softmod the Wii from one of the many tutorials out there, if desired.

If , on the other end , you mean to softmod a Wii to crack Netflix and watch movies for free, I'm afraid there is no way you can do that, because you need a Netflix account in order to stream movies.
Al you get with the Netflix channel or DVD iso is the movie player, the content has to be streamed from their servers.
 

BigSteel

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 6, 2009
Messages
23
Trophies
0
XP
57
Country
United States
CarbonX13 said:
Softmod the Wii, download the latest Shop Channel (v20) and the latest IOS56, and install them with a WAD Manager. From there, download Netflix from the Wii Shop Channel. Voila! No need to go to 4.3.

I should have replied back sooner, sorry. Anyway, a little google search led me to the exact same solution and it's all working good, thanks. The Wii was already on 4.3
 

rolandpibb

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2009
Messages
117
Trophies
0
XP
165
Country
Canada
With my 4.2u wii, I just installed the netflix wad that's floating around. On Mmy 4.1u wii, no go with the wad. I had to get Shop Channel (v20), IOS56 and downloaded Netflix from the Wii Shop Channel.
 

Lothlorian

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2009
Messages
207
Trophies
0
Location
Berdoo
XP
46
Country
United States
Reboot said:
I use the netflix disc, and it works fine without the shop channel...


The New Channel is an upgrade to the disk. It has more features and movie options than the disk. There is "Search" feature on the new Netflix Channel that the disk didn't have.


In a Nut Shell the Channel is Waaaaayyyyy better than the Netflix disk.
 

jbogart1973

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
166
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
167
Country
Canada
having a issue here , i follwed these steps download the latest Shop Channel (v20) and the latest IOS56, and install them with a WAD Manager. From there, download Netflix from the Wii Shop Channel BUT when i go to dl the netflex the shop channel still tells me i need to dl a shop channel update through wii system menu updates and will not let me procced . im on a 4.3 softmodded but havent downgraded to a 4.1 cause i forgot and loaded a dark red menu theme and afraid if i do downgrade now the menu theme wii bugger my wii up . any thoughts ?
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    being helpful to the community and a similar mindset as the rest of the staff also goes a long way
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Alot of users just want it for attention tbh
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I know a forum that said if you're good and don't ask you usually get it
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    you mean this forum?
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Nah others
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    You know what they say, I want never gets.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Iirc temp usually votes people in or holds an application every once in a blue moon
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    ^ that
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    They're pretty good at hiring the sexy ones
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Inc. Dinoh
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    550k members and only about a dozen staff they hold their own pretty well
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Stupid region locked digital keys are the dumbest thing next gen consoles have come up with
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    @DinohScene, that Xbox code ever work?
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    yeh it was the PC version of 76
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    regardless, the hubby took it : D
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    lawl the site said xbox
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Was given a PC Game Pass key for free on Temp, didn't work because region locking. :(
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Or as I like to call it, RACISM.
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    Now for someone to hack that thing and make pixel pr0n
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    It maybe possible.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Will be perfect for onlyfans links
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Gamers: I bet your 4k oled ain't a jump rop
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    No, but I can take my OLED jump rope for a 4k
  • Shape @ Shape:
    That's a race.
    Shape @ Shape: That's a race.