Can a ram expansion help my SNES emulater?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Strog211, Jan 27, 2009.

Jan 27, 2009
  1. Strog211
    OP

    Newcomer Strog211 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    First off, I want to say that I dont know a lot in this area, so if it won't work i wont be surprised. Im having problems with SNEemulDS. Its working how everyone says it would, but i want (if at all possible) to have it run more smoothly. Would one of the ram expansion packs help with that? Im just wondering if that would help smooth out some of the graphical glitches that go along with some games. Does anyone know if that would help?
     
  2. Joey Ravn

    Member Joey Ravn F*** you, Nintendo!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,337
    Country:
    Spain
    Eh, yes. AFAIK, SnemulDS uses the RAM expansion pack to improve performance on certain games, especially the larger ones.

    PS: I assume you hit "Add Reply" too soon [​IMG]
     
  3. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    SNEmulDS can use extra RAM, but it will only help with large (>3 MB) games, and it will only decrease the slowdown caused by the paging engine. It will do absolutely nothing in the way of graphics or sound emulation, only overall speed with larger games.
     
  4. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    It helps games above 3 megabytes run better. For example, Donkey Kong Country is a 4MB game. Without the expansion, every few seconds the action would skip. Basically the game would just pause for a slight milisecond. It's noticeable, but not too bad. The expansion fixes this problem. Unfortunately, it doesn't help real slowdown like when the game goes at only 80% speed.
     
  5. Advi

    Member Advi GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,143
    Country:
    United States
    Really big game files run a lot smoother with the extra RAM. I use my GBA Expansion Pack a lot because of it.

    However, cartridges with special chips do not have ROMs that will work on SNEmulDS just because of your RAM Pack, just in case this brought Super Mario RPG to mind. [​IMG]
     
  6. Strog211
    OP

    Newcomer Strog211 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm... So is there anything I can do about the graphical glitches? I find them pretty annoying to say the least. Also, do you think that there might be somthing done about that in the near future, or is it pretty much inpossible for the ds? The ds would be so much better than playing them on the computer.
     
  7. hdofu

    Member hdofu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    *cough* psp, much better (though nowhere near perfect either) snes emulation*cough*
     
  8. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    I'll say that SNES DS emulation could be much better, but the developers seem uninterested at the moment since it's clearly very difficult. Archeid, SnemulDS' developer came out with a statement last year that his emu wasn't dead, but just on hold. But I haven't heard anything since then.
     
  9. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    For layering issues, you can mess around with the options to try to get a working layer combination. For other graphical glitches, you'll probably have to live with it.

    The main issue here is that the DS doesn't have enough power to emulate the SNES in software, so it uses the DS's native 2D hardware to greatly speed up rendering speed at the cost of graphical accuracy.
     
  10. Strog211
    OP

    Newcomer Strog211 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, I think I understand it. Thanks.
     

Share This Page