Burned Wii game not working

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by zackfiles, Jan 17, 2010.

Jan 17, 2010

Burned Wii game not working by zackfiles at 11:51 PM (1,149 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. zackfiles
    OP

    Newcomer zackfiles Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Country:
    Canada
    I followed the softmod guide found here: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=204185 , and made sure everything was in place.

    I tried to burn Mario Kart but the Wii said an error has occoured and I need to eject the disk and turn the Wii off.

    I set ImgBurner at 4x speed and chose the right file.

    What did I do wrong?


    Sorry! I used DVD-R for this.
     
  2. TRushInfo

    Banned TRushInfo Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    978
    Country:
    United States
    ya do u have a newer wii with 4.0 or above on it?
     
  3. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Sorry, but you're wrong. 2.4x is a wrong speed for 2 reasons:
    1. It's a DVD+R only speed! Where did he say it's a DVD+R? If you burn a DVD-R at 2.4x and don't get crap, it wouldn't have mattered at all which speed you chose, either the burner or media or both would be very good then.
    2. Burning slow is only good for burners and media from the stone age. If burner and media are 16x, you won't get good results with something slower than 4x. Most likely the best result would be achieved with 8,12 or 16x.

    But you may be right about the drive. But since there's no info the post, everything is just blind guessing and it could be anything that's wrong.
     
  4. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    The burn speed shouldn't matter. In fact burning at a faster speed is generally better. More then likely you have a newer wii drive that won't read dvd backups. If that's the case you should look into a usb loader.
     
  5. BBking83

    Member BBking83 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Which guide did you follow??

    I know that on my Wiikey, trucha signing the SM IOS gets rid of that error.
     

Share This Page