Bricked Wii, now with symptoms!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by mrfraser89, Mar 24, 2011.

Mar 24, 2011
  1. mrfraser89
    OP

    Newcomer mrfraser89 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Australia
    So I received the wii today.

    When plugged in, the power light is Red. When I turn it on, Green light.

    The wii makes a light beep, the screen goes from No Signal to a slightly changed shade of black. Then it sounds as though the disc drive is searching, or the fan is whirring (not sure.)

    Tried the gamecube restore menu trick to no luck. Or at least, nothing is displayed on screen? On my other wii, the version number is displayed when using this method.



    The previous owner, said that the problem occurred when trying to install softmod stuff onto the wii, which already had a modchip installed. The chip is a wasabi DX.

    What's my next approach to working out what's wrong guys?
     
  2. zizer

    Member zizer GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,035
    Country:
    try run priiloader (by holding the RESET button while the Wii boots)
     
  3. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If SaveMiiFrii worked on your other Wii but not this, then it doesn't sound good. If no version number is displayed then its possible that there isn't a functioning system menu. With no DVD in the drive, do you get a quick succession of flashes when you turn on the unit, or just a single one?
     
  4. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,121
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    A couple random things. Probably won't solve anything, but worth the try:

    -hold the reset button before powering on the wii to see if preloader/priiloader menu comes up
    -boot the wii with the files from bootmii into place to see if bootmii is installed
    -try using the cables of the other wii on this one to see if it is the wii or the cable

    That's roughly the first aid for these sort of things. Deadlyfoez can probably tell more about infectus...infractous...something that may revive it (this shows how much I know about it). But still...a bit more information than "install softmod stuff" would be nice. If he followed some half-assed guide that had him downgrade his firmware for no reason, region change it for the heck of it, install a bunch of random wads 'because the guide told him to do so' and proceeded to play the end user ('I didn't understood that technical mumbo jumbo, so I may have skipped a step or two')...then it may be very hard to actually recover anything from the wii (well...except the chip, of course). [​IMG]
     
  5. mrfraser89
    OP

    Newcomer mrfraser89 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Australia
    No priiloader or boot2 it seems.

    As I don't have the front faschia, and I don't want to open up my other wii, I don't actually have any blue light to go off. (Although it is just a 2 prong adapter I may be able to rig something up anyway).



    I pulled it apart to install the Wasabi back in. The LED on the chip is green, as there was a burnt DVD left inside the Wii. I managed to get it to eject after a bit of mucking around, and now the Wii just does a quick sound of reading the drive then nothing (whereas before it just kept spinning the disc it seems).

    Without a disc, the screen flashes white for a brief second (with a bit of graphic corruption on it, but no words or anything) then returns to black.

    Is it worth trying an autoboot WAD Manager, or is that only relevant after the restore menu?
     
  6. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not sure if it will work. It does appear that theres no functioning menu/IOS (could be wrong) and I think you need that as a minimum for autoboot
     
  7. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,384
    Country:
    Sweden
    Isnt this the bluetooth module problem?
     
  8. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Shouldn't the menu version still show though?
     
  9. mrfraser89
    OP

    Newcomer mrfraser89 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Australia
    Hmmm I may give this a miss now, buy myself a wii with a faulty disc drive, and swap the chip and drive over, then sell the faulty one. As faulty [​IMG]

    Thanks for the ideas guys, but as the Savemii didn't work, I didn't have much hope after that (considering prii and bootmii weren't present).
     
  10. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If Linuxares is right, a BT module doesn't cost a great deal and isn't hard to replace. Im a big believer in exploring your cheapest option first.
     

Share This Page