Hacking Bricked r4i upgrade. Please help me unbrick it

qwertybanana

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2010
Messages
39
Trophies
0
XP
43
Country
New Zealand
I really need help. I accidentally turned my ds off when my r4i was updating its firmware for 1.4.4, and now it doesn't show up on the ds menu on any ds. Please help.

Here's a link to the r4i card I have: http://www.r4issdhc.com/
I want to make sure I have got the proper firmware update file, so I'm asking anyone to help me find it.

Edit:heres a link to where i got the update from. This website is on my r4i

http://www.r4issdhc.com/downloaden.html
 

qwertybanana

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2010
Messages
39
Trophies
0
XP
43
Country
New Zealand
I heard i could restore it buy putting the update file into another flash cart, then take out the card when it is about to update and replace it with the r4i and start the update. it should unbrick it. Im not sure but will it work? Ive seen youtube videos of it but with different flash cards such as acekard2i.
I've got an acekard 2i aswell
 

Pong20302000

making notes on everything
Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2009
Messages
8,076
Trophies
0
Location
One's inner self
Website
3dsdb.com
XP
2,305
Country
hmmm you could try, the site says the update loads soon as you run the .nds update file

you can try hotswaping the cards and see what happen

worst thing will be if you run the update on the acekard it will just say "card error" because its not the correct card

wont affect the Acekard
 

qwertybanana

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2010
Messages
39
Trophies
0
XP
43
Country
New Zealand
But it also comes with a .dat file. Will that affect my acekard because my acekard is the only GOOD card I have. And what do you mean by hotswapping?
 

Pong20302000

making notes on everything
Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2009
Messages
8,076
Trophies
0
Location
One's inner self
Website
3dsdb.com
XP
2,305
Country
the .dat is just what the .nds loads

hotswapping is where you change the card while the .nds file is loaded

it is highly unlikely as the acekard will not accept data for another card so would throw a error
 

qwertybanana

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2010
Messages
39
Trophies
0
XP
43
Country
New Zealand
how come it wouldnt work affect my acekard?
sorry for being a pain in the butthole :P
I'm just worried that both of my flashkarts will be screwed including my dsi
 

Pong20302000

making notes on everything
Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2009
Messages
8,076
Trophies
0
Location
One's inner self
Website
3dsdb.com
XP
2,305
Country
BECUASE THERE COMPLETELY DIFFERENT CHIPS!!!!

HENCE WHY AKAIO wont work on Supercard, EOS (supercards kernel) wont work on Acekard, and WOOD only works on R4 Origonls and has to have different versions for different cards

DSi frimaware inst touched

GROW SOME DAM BALLS
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person

qwertybanana

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2010
Messages
39
Trophies
0
XP
43
Country
New Zealand
Will the update file ask me whether I want to start the update or will it do it do it automatically?
If its automatically then how would I hotswap the cards? :/
 

qwertybanana

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2010
Messages
39
Trophies
0
XP
43
Country
New Zealand
Hmmm it says noID:check then I take the acekard out and replace it with the r4i. I click a and it says ID:0000 (I forgot how many zeroes there were) then nothing happens
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: Referring to the Ayn Odin btw.