Hacking Bricked my Wii I'm gonna cry

madcow043

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
ok so My wii is twilight hacked wiht the HBC, but my dumb brother formatted the system for some retarded reason, now all that shows up is that preloader menu (including HBC) what can I do to restore my Wii, please this was my brother's birthday gift and I feel really bad for him. I need any kind of help, what should i do. Ok so Im not a pro but what I thought was to go to the CIOS downgrader and select a firmware version, I tried that but couldn't because there is no connection to the internet, however if I could change the settings then I could probably install the firmware. (PS. I don't even know if this will work) any other suggestions?

Golfman560

TheRapist.com
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Well if you have Preloader you're fine, just make sure you don't unistall it. Im going to bed but someone will help in a few minutes. If not, use the search function. None of the stickies really help since they use Starfall.

D

Deleted User

eh like......

You have preloader?

But you just did twilight hack and hbc.

Anyway... try booting a hbc installer dol (or WAD Manager) to install HBC. Then, install a system menu WAD (Don't ask for this. version 289 for US and 290 for PAL)

WB3000

Trophies
Website
wb3000.co.nr
XP
Country
United States
If you still have Preloader then you'll be fine. If it was formatted, then you don't need that downgrading stuff. You'll need to fix whatever is missing/corrupt.

I wouldn't want to install another System Menu wad, since you have at least the main part (which is Preloader) and it would be risky to chance losing that.

So loading the menu doesn't work at all? Does HBC work, or perhaps autobooting dols?

kylsav

Trophies
Website
kylsav.dyndns.org
XP
Country
United States
Can the wii still boot games though some sort of backup loader on the homebrew channel?

You probably have a semi brick.