1. UrkeytaY

    OP UrkeytaY GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    United States
    I'll just fill in the backstory here...


    A friend gave me his Wii that he purchased off of craigslist, he got it home and it was all in Japanese. The seller stated that it had a mod-chip in it, which I can confirm it does (just don't know which chip)

    He asked me if I could get it changed to English. Sure, I said...

    I ran the Twilight hack, with the anyregionchanger .dol file. I chose all the settings at the top to change it to USA, but didn't save(I think that's where I went wrong). Then I went to update the menu to 3.2. It started the network initialization, then all of a sudden all the wording was really scrambled and the Wii rebooted. The menu's are now in english, but now it won't boot any discs, and I can't get into the system menu. It won't even boot up retail games either...

    I tried the savemiifrii with a gamecube controller with an auto-boot anyregion changer disc, and it ran any region changer, but then bugged out again. Now it won't load the auto-boot ARC disc at all when in recovery mode.

    I have now since ordered a Savemii, which ended me up with the same results (not surprised, but i didn't mind supporting either)

    So does anyone know what I need to do to fix my poor friends Wii with Savemii?

    Thanks, and I hope someone can help me because I really feel bad for what I accidentally did to my friends Wii =/
     
  2. Mark McDonut

    Mark McDonut GBATemp's Resident Ghostbuster
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    830
    Country:
    United States
    did you try autobooting into twilight princess to run the twilight hack to get anyregionchanger running again?
     
  3. UrkeytaY

    OP UrkeytaY GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, actually that was one of the first things I tried when using savemiifrii.

    I mean this thing won't boot ANYTHING I throw at it? Is it possible that somehow this borked the modchip along with bricking it?

    I have a wiikey sitting around that I never used from a while ago, so I may try to go that route...but whoever installed this modchip previously did some MAJOR damage to ONE screw, so I can't get the thing fully apart.
     
  4. UrkeytaY

    OP UrkeytaY GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, not very gracefully, but I managed to get it open and it has a wiikey already in it...
     
  5. TheNewMouse

    TheNewMouse Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Country:
    even if theres a modchip, if there no IOS for the sys menu then it wont boot anyway..

    you need a valid IOS9 for Zelda also.
     
  6. UrkeytaY

    OP UrkeytaY GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    United States
    Heh, I'm predicting having to buy this friend a new Wii in the near future =/
     
  7. TheNewMouse

    TheNewMouse Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Country:
    can you get ANYTHING to boot?

    you could....and this is a big possible

    patch Zelda to run from a diff IOS, however you need to find one thats actually working..

    if you could find a working IOS for Zelda to use then you could get it to load a .dol of AnyRegion Changer and this time use the correct settings lol.
     
  8. david432111

    david432111 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    859
    Country:
    Yup, patch zelda to diff ios using ios patcher, that's your only hope.
     
  9. UrkeytaY

    OP UrkeytaY GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    United States
    No, no discs will run. For some reason the auto-boot ARC booted once...but that was it!

    Hmmm, so what IOS should I patch zelda to? I've got the ISO I ripped from my original...

    but really, if I can't get any discs to run, is this even worth a shot?
     
  10. Tichinde925

    Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,096
    Country:
    United States
    Use RegionFrii on the Autoboot ARC and change the region to JPN.

    If it does not work, get the WiiKey config 1.9s disc and reflash the chip. (Change region to US)
     
  11. UrkeytaY

    OP UrkeytaY GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    United States
    Tried both, still won't read any discs...
     
  12. TheNewMouse

    TheNewMouse Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Country:
    what about autoboot wadmanager? does that load?

    you said autoboot ARC loaded once? try autobooting them with SaveMii
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Bricked,