Bootmii Problem

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by tomthemon, Jul 11, 2009.

Jul 11, 2009

Bootmii Problem by tomthemon at 2:13 AM (1,134 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. tomthemon
    OP

    Newcomer tomthemon Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Canada
    So i'm new here and ive read pretty much everything on bootmii but im having a big problem i cant find help for. I used hackmii istaller recently to install bootmii as boot2 and as an IOS. they both successfully installed and i can access bootmii from the homebrew channel as an ios, but it wont load as boot2 when i turn on my wii. My Lexar 2gb SD card is compatible with bootmii. I really want this extra brick protection. Please Help. Thanks.
     
  2. mrgarrison

    Newcomer mrgarrison Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Kelowna BC
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm having the same issue. Installed as Boot2 only and it worked fine, all the files are on the SD card. But when i power the wii it just pauses for 5 seconds, does the double flash on the LED slot, then waits for you to press A at the safety menu. I'v changed the bootmii.ini and enabled the AUTOBOOT but it does nothing, chaning the AUTOBOOT delay also does nothing. If i power the wii with no SD card it goes to the safety menu right away. I'v read all i can find about bootmii but still cant figure this out. I know installing as an IOS will let me access the bootmii menu but it seems a little stupid/pointless as the boot2 says it was succesful. I'v tried clearing the SD and uninstalling/reinstalling bootmii as boot2, all went perfectly, but with the same result. Am i just missing something small here? Any help on this puzzling problem is appreciated [​IMG]

    Wii specs:
    3.3u
    HBC 1.0.3
    cIOSrev13b
    Bootmii (beta 2)
     
  3. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Did you press enter on the HackMii Installer/BootMii part where it says "PREPARE SD"...?? that worked for me, after you get that working, use the "BootMii Configurator" app to set the SysMenu on autoboot, or in whatever you want...!! [​IMG]
     
  4. Luckkill4u

    Member Luckkill4u SOLDIER

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    728
    Location:
    Far far away!
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm having the same problem. I prepared the SD and i tried to configure the bootmii.ini file but the program didn't recognise it. I am using a Lexar 4gb SDHC card and bootmii beta 1 worked normally
     
  5. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    You can do it manually too, I just mention the BootMii CFG Editor to do it all from inside the HBC, but you can open the .ini file with doble-click and edit it yourself by hand...!! [​IMG]
     
  6. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, Lexar 2GB sd is incompatible. Mine doesn't load it. Secondly as everyone said modify the CFG file.
     
  7. tomthemon
    OP

    Newcomer tomthemon Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Canada

    how is it incompatible? maybe im an idiot but this says its compatible. http://wiibrew.org/wiki/BootMii/SD_Card_Compatibility_List

    What should i modify in the CFG file?
     
  8. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    I have a Lexar MicroSD that works with Beta1, but I haven't updated to beta2 yet. I'll be doing that in a few weeks when I have my Wii again. Maybe the guys who posted in that wiki haven't updated since beta1
     
  9. tomthemon
    OP

    Newcomer tomthemon Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Canada
    ok, lets say my sd card is incompatible. bootmii has been successfully istalled as boot2 so if my wii for some reason bricks i could buy a compatible sd card, transfer the bootmii files from my old sd card onto my new, compatible one, turn on my wii and bootmii will load? is this correct?
     
  10. Eddie_Brock

    Member Eddie_Brock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes, this is correct.

    I had the same problem... My 2gb SanDisk SD card doesnt work at all with bootmii, yet my 1GB SanDisk does. If you really have to, you can move the files to the working SD card and boot it that way, were you to brick.
     
  11. sm32

    Newcomer sm32 Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    its definitely the SD card. i installed bootmii beta2 just fine and prepared about 6 SD cards (2x Microcenter 2GB, 1x microcenter 1gb, 1x PNY 2gb, 2x Sandisk 8gb MicroSDHC, 1x 512mb sandisk) and only two of them worked for booting up, yet i could technically prepare all of them just fine. it's because the code to read SD cards is different in the installer and the app. something about MINI -- someone else needs to explain that part. good luck!
     

Share This Page