BootMii as IOS

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by blitter, May 20, 2009.

May 20, 2009

BootMii as IOS by blitter at 3:17 PM (2,216 Views / 0 Likes) 3 replies

  1. blitter
    OP

    Newcomer blitter Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm thinking of upgrading from 3.2E to 4.0E, but my Wii is completely IOS based (no chip, no boot 2).
    I also have Preloader 0.27 (which I might upgrade first), which I can run HBC 1.0.2 then BootMii from and have access to NAND backup/restore.

    My questions:

    1) if I upgrade to 4.0, will I lose Preloader? And if so, is it 100% to re-install it on 4.0?

    2) will a NAND restore work via IOS?


    Obviously I need Preloader at all times to keep things brick-proof.
     
  2. Neku_Sakuraba

    Member Neku_Sakuraba GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Country:
    United States
    #1. IF you upgrade then you will lose the preloader. If you upgrade to the latest version of preloader then there is a 50% perscent chance that it wont work.

    #2. That i have no idea because i have not tested it because i load bootmii via IOS also and don't have a GC controller.
     
  3. cwstjdenobs

    Member cwstjdenobs Sodomy non sapiens

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1) You loose preloader if you install a SM so will have to reinstall it. 0.29 works on 4.0.

    2) Yes, but TT don't recommend it.

    Just don't update from Nintendo. Use waninkokos Firmware Updater 4.0
     
  4. blitter
    OP

    Newcomer blitter Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for replies. I'm now on 4.0 no problem, thanks also to Waninkoko's utils.
     

Share This Page