Hacking Block updates with a FRITZ!BOX Fon Wlan 7360 router

LysergCooltyp

I don't know why the microwave burns
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2011
Messages
613
Trophies
1
XP
1,498
Country
Hey there,

i'm a bloody noob when it comes down to that kind of stuff, so after reading Ninja_Carver's tutorial things were still as clear as mud for me.
Thus my question is if anyone has experience with blocking the adresses in the router i mentioned in the title and guide me through? I know that the router has a child safety lock, but that's it pretty much lol.
 

dibas

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
76
Trophies
0
XP
904
Country
Bahamas, The
I just threw this together. Language in the screenshots is German but afaik these routers are only popular around here, so it should help most users with similar hardware.

http://imgur.com/a/XQ2h1

I'm too lazy to explain what's being shown in each screenshot but they should be self-explaining. If you have any questions, go ahead!
 

LysergCooltyp

I don't know why the microwave burns
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2011
Messages
613
Trophies
1
XP
1,498
Country
what didn't you understand about the tutorial? i'll do my best to help you... to answer your question, i've never even heard of this router, so i have no idea on how to guide you...
I was lost after the middle passage. My brain refused to function when you talked about executiing files. I appreciate the offer, but i i think dibas got me covered.

I just threw this together. Language in the screenshots is German but afaik these routers are only popular around here, so it should help most users with similar hardware.

http://imgur.com/a/XQ2h1

I'm too lazy to explain what's being shown in each screenshot but they should be self-explaining. If you have any questions, go ahead!


Roger, got everything set according to the screenshots i think, however if i remove 'HTTP Abfragen erlauben' as indicated by the screenshot, then gbatemp doesn't work anymore for example, so i enabled it. Was that the right thing to do, or did i mess up somewhere along the way? Also thanks to you too for the help.

E: is the e-shop supposed to be still accesable?
 

kettenschutz

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 15, 2010
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Website
www.batman.de
XP
180
Country
France
if youre removing "HTTP Abfragen erlauben", your most likely dis-allowing everything http related
so ... http protocol is blocked ... so ... no website is working anymore ;)
FRITZ makes awesome routers, even for beginners.
just block the mentioned sites by rule, and youre fine ;)

OFT... nice 2 see some FRITZ users around here ;)
 

LysergCooltyp

I don't know why the microwave burns
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2011
Messages
613
Trophies
1
XP
1,498
Country
Yeah, thought so. Was just waiting for the confirmation, since it's disabled on the screenshot.

nus.c.shop.nintendowifi.net
nus.cdn.c.shop.nintendowifi.net
nus.cdn.shop.wii.com
nus.cdn.wup.shop.nintendo.net
nus.wup.shop.wii.net

Those are the ones i got blocked and the e-shop still works which is odd.

Yeah, the router has been pretty decent so far. :)
 

dibas

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
76
Trophies
0
XP
904
Country
Bahamas, The
Nope, you shouldn't be able to access the Eshop, well, at least in my setup I can't.

The problem with enabling HTTPS (the S is important here) is, the FritzBox black list does not seem to use any sort of DNS redirection, but rather apparently does not forward HTTP requests with blacklisted domains to the Internet. Without having further looked into this, I am fairly certain the communication between the Wii U and Nintendo runs over SSL. If you allow SSL traffic, the FritzBox will not be able to read these packets contents (read: the domain name) and will forward it as usual, rendering the blacklist ineffective. The blocking mechanism definitely is not what could be called ldecent, but without any further custom modding of the router this is the most you can do. You should therefore leave the SSL option unchecked. As for connecting to gbatemp you can try to connect to http://gbatemp.org instead of the secure https:// one, it should work, but it's a rather dirty fix, you should be aware of the implications this causes (traffic is not encrypted and can be sniffed).
 

LysergCooltyp

I don't know why the microwave burns
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2011
Messages
613
Trophies
1
XP
1,498
Country
I disabled HTTS again. Gotta enable it when i want to browse FB (would whitelist'ing it solve that?), but that's okay. http://gbatemp.org unfortunatly doesn't work, but http://gbatemp.net does.

Nintendo Wii U: eingeschränkt (Internetzugriff), unbegrenzt (Onlinezeit), Blackliste (Zugangsprofil) is what the parental control states. I also checked the applied network and the Wii U is listed there. So it should be active, but i still manage to open the shop lol.

E: disabling HTTPS 'fixed' it. Can't access the e-shop anymore. Thanks!
 

BullyWiiPlaza

Nintendo Hacking <3
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2014
Messages
1,932
Trophies
0
XP
2,446
Country
Germany
I did this and no other websites are blocked. Thanks for sharing. Oddly enough, I tried to find something like this a while ago and it was posted. Thanks :)
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    K3N1 @ K3N1: Theirs a ton of videos going about how people are getting dust clogged consoles from DKOldies