Hacking Black Screen Brick - Any solutions?

Eggman4527

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 6, 2009
Messages
5
Trophies
0
XP
73
Country
United States
Alright, so I've been helping my friend use Homebrew on his Wii. He was system menu version 4.0 or 4.1, I'm not entirely sure. No BootMii or Preloader, because most of the .WADs he uses I check on my Wii first, with BootMii. He only hacked his Wii to use .WADs (mostly free VC games). Anyway, he was installing just a free VC .WAD (not injected, just normal Paper Mario 64 from a legit source). He started installing the Paper Mario .WAD on WAD Manager 1.5 and used IOS 36. Halfway during the installation, the idiot thought that it froze and unplugged the Wii. Now, when he boots, he just has a black screen on his Wii. No Opera error message, no corrupt files message, no nothing. The Wii starts up at a blank screen. It reads the game inserted in it (which I assumed caused there's a "whirring" noise in the Wii.

Is there anything we can do? Does SaveMiiFrii work on a full-brick (which I assume this is)? The idea that the AV cables were acting up came up too, but I tried them on my Wii and they're fine. Thanks in advance!
 

Szalkow

RawkSD Cheerleader
Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2009
Messages
673
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Uni
Website
Visit site
XP
90
Country
United States
Does he see the Health Screen? A bad WAD isn't going to cause a full brick, but it could cause a Banner Brick (which sounds similar to these symptoms).

SaveMiiFrii *might* be able to autoboot for you, toss in a game and see if you can boot it by holding down the GCN plus pad in slot 4. If it works, you can make an autobooting disc with a recovery tool.

No BootMii or Preloader was a terrible idea. Never install wads without boot protection. Also, there is no such thing as free VC from a legit source.
 

The Pink Gato

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2009
Messages
181
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Candy Mountain with Mitch
Website
Visit site
XP
44
Country
United States
Eggman4527 said:
Alright, so I've been helping my friend use Homebrew on his Wii. He was system menu version 4.0 or 4.1, I'm not entirely sure. No BootMii or Preloader, because most of the .WADs he uses I check on my Wii first, with BootMii. He only hacked his Wii to use .WADs (mostly free VC games). Anyway, he was installing just a free VC .WAD (not injected, just normal Paper Mario 64 from a legit source). He started installing the Paper Mario .WAD on WAD Manager 1.5 and used IOS 36. Halfway during the installation, the idiot thought that it froze and unplugged the Wii. Now, when he boots, he just has a black screen on his Wii. No Opera error message, no corrupt files message, no nothing. The Wii starts up at a blank screen. It reads the game inserted in it (which I assumed caused there's a "whirring" noise in the Wii.

Is there anything we can do? Does SaveMiiFrii work on a full-brick (which I assume this is)? The idea that the AV cables were acting up came up too, but I tried them on my Wii and they're fine. Thanks in advance!

"No BootMii or Preloader, because most of the .WADs he uses I check on my Wii first, with BootMii."

No matter if you scan it, check it, or do anything, WADs are still unsafe to use.

NEVER, I MEAN NEVER UNPLUG YOUR WII NO MATTER WHAT!!!!!!!!!!

I am not sure if you can use SaveMiiFrii, because it states that it can be used for Opera errors.
You could try it, and it could work OR you could have wasted $50.00.
(WARNING: NOT EASY FOR NOVICES)

~modmystuff~
 

Eggman4527

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 6, 2009
Messages
5
Trophies
0
XP
73
Country
United States
Szalkow said:
Does he see the Health Screen? A bad WAD isn't going to cause a full brick, but it could cause a Banner Brick (which sounds similar to these symptoms).

SaveMiiFrii *might* be able to autoboot for you, toss in a game and see if you can boot it by holding down the GCN plus pad in slot 4. If it works, you can make an autobooting disc with a recovery tool.

No BootMii or Preloader was a terrible idea. Never install wads without boot protection. Also, there is no such thing as free VC from a legit source.

Yeah, looking back on it, no BootMii or Preloader was a horrible move. I guess I got cocky cause I got BootMii on mine as a boot2, so I figured I was indestructible and never really thought about putting it on his. And no, the Health Screen doesn't even show up, which I thought was strange, considering the normal thing is a message saying "The system files are corrupt". I'll try SaveMiiFrii in a bit here.


QUOTE(modmystuff @ Nov 10 2009, 03:38 AM) NEVER, I MEAN NEVER UNPLUG YOUR WII NO MATTER WHAT!!!!!!!!!!

Yeah, I yelled a good bit at him for pulling the plug.

Thanks a lot for your replies and support!
 

Eggman4527

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 6, 2009
Messages
5
Trophies
0
XP
73
Country
United States
Update - Just tried SaveMiiFrii with Animal Crossing: City Folk. Didn't work. Can anybody ball-park how much Nintendo would charge him to repair a Wii with Homebrew Channel on it?
 

joda

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
436
Trophies
0
Location
Umeå
XP
119
Country
Just tell them it bricked when you tried to update to 4.2 and hope for the best.

Posts merged

Other than that, you could install a modchip and boot a wad-manager autoboot disc through SaveMii(free) to repair it.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Which phone do you have
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    a nearly 6 yr old moto g5 plus
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Not saying its not happening for you. Your image is right there. I just dont know why yours is so high and mine is so low. :)
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    It could be other factors high ram refresh rate etc
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    know a good app to double check? perhaps my phones own memory usage stats is full of shit. lol
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Samsung UI is probably a ram hog as it is
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Yeah. Could be a number of things. My old ass phone has a custom rom on it too so a lot of the bloat is gone, and its not using the moto UI
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @K3N1, I'm using an XCover 5
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    re youtube on phones. Newpipe is the way
    +1
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    3x playback speed and no adverts plus whole load of other things.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Until it gets a lawsuit notice
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    Not sure what path they would use for this one
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    On a different note entirely I randomly ended up on a hardware mods website. Lot of stuff for the GBA and DS it seems that I had missed entirely.
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    as well as the option to pay $2 for a surface mount standard fuse
  • Oleboy555 @ Oleboy555:
    i use re vanced
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    VPN YouTube premium $15 a year with a Turkey connection lol
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    D, E, F, G...
  • cearp @ cearp:
    @FAST6191 - totally agree. not sure the reasons people use vanced/revanced over newpipe.
    I guess it's because of people still wanting to use their yt account (with vanced)?
    +1
  • cearp @ cearp:
    when I use newpipe, I am not signed in, no ads, have exportable watch lists etc... really good.
  • luotesi @ luotesi:
    Does anyone have a golden cheat for D2R v1.0.2.0?Like Money、Exp。
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Look elsewhere or make your own
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    With hookers and booze!!!
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: With hookers and booze!!!