Best way to setup CFW and emuMMC on a clean iPatched switch ver 4.1.0

Blootie Aug 25, 2019.

1. Blootie
    OP

Blootie Advanced Member

Newcomer
    Jun 9, 2016
    United States
    My brother recently bought his own switch and he didn't realize its a patched unit BUT luckily its on ver 4.1.0. I setup Atmosphere on my own Switch about 2 months ago so I'm not a complete noob to this but reading about how easily brickable the iPatched Switches can be, I'm kind of scared to go through this without proper guidance. I see that some of the sites have guides (switch.homebrew.guide, NH Switch guide) for setting up emuMMC but only on the unpatched versions.

So my question is, does anyone have a method/guide to setup Caffeine/CFW + emuMMC and updating it with ChoiDujourNX to the latest while also keeping his sysMMC clean and 4.1.0? Not sure if I should setup CFW first or emuMMC, so any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance!

NoNAND and piwix like this.
  2. NoNAND

NoNAND GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

Aug 22, 2015
    Albania
    The Adriatic Sea
    Setting up emuMMC on an ipatched unit can be trick and tiring indeed.
    Because for one, you'll have to boot Caffeine through the sysNAND thus leaving traces of CFW
    I'd suggest you to set up emuMMC but don't turn autoRCM on in any given circumstance.
    To make things simple change themes so that your emuMMC and sysNAND won't have the same one, thus making it easier to distinguish between them.

MicmasH_W and Blootie like this.
  3. pLaYeR^^

pLaYeR^^ Doctor Switch

GBAtemp Patron
    pLaYeR^^ is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

Our Patreon
    Sep 18, 2014
    Austria
    Austria
    Blootie and NoNAND like this.
  4. Blootie
    OP

Blootie Advanced Member

Newcomer
    Jun 9, 2016
    United States
    Finally had some time this morning and got around to it and it works perfectly. Thank you to the two people who did reply :]