Hacking Best Solution to play GBA/GBC/GB Games?

DylanRay-Michael

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Feb 29, 2012
Messages
1
Trophies
0
XP
1
Having both a DSi and a GameBoy Micro, what would be the best method of playing GBA, GBC, and GB games? I've researched flashcarts for the GBM, but there doesn't seem to be one that supports RTC, which I consider a top priority as I'd like to play through Pokemon Gold/Silver/Crystal, and then move on to the third gen games. I've also noticed there are some emulators for flashcarts for the DSi, and I already have an M3i. I'd prefer to use my Micro, though, as it's considerably smaller, but I am willing to use the DS to have the added convenience of not switching consoles.
 

how_do_i_do_that

Blue Wizard is about to die.
Member
Joined
May 16, 2008
Messages
5,135
Trophies
1
Location
You have insufficient posts to view user location.
XP
3,001
Country
Antarctica
See the previous post, same answer for you: http://gbatemp.net/t...-ds-flashcards/

For emulators: http://gbatemp.net/t...lot2-emulators/
You can download them on filetrip, thats the Downloads link on the top menu bar of this site, scroll up and click.




Slot1: use something like lameboy to play your GB/C games on a DS flashcart.
Or pick something else here: http://gbatemp.net/topic/255764-list-of-all-emulators-for-ds/
 

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
30,854
Trophies
3
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
29,944
Country
Poland
You don't necessarily need RTC to play Pokemon games on a flashcart - if I recall correctly, there are patches out there that correct this error by simply using game time as reference rather than the RTC clock.
 

h8uthemost

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2006
Messages
702
Trophies
1
XP
403
Country
United States
Is it possible to scale the game screen in Goomba Color, like you can with Lameboy? I'm not seeing any option to do this so I'm wondering why Dwedit hasn't implemented it?
 

DanTheManMS

aka Ricochet Otter
Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
4,453
Trophies
1
Age
34
Location
Georgia
XP
752
Country
United States
Goomba Color uses hardware rendering rather than software rendering like Lameboy does, so scaling the screen would not be possible except maybe vertically. Horizontally would not be doable.
 

h8uthemost

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2006
Messages
702
Trophies
1
XP
403
Country
United States
Goomba Color uses hardware rendering rather than software rendering like Lameboy does, so scaling the screen would not be possible except maybe vertically. Horizontally would not be doable.
I actually saw your post over at PocketHeaven(I remember you back when I used to frequent SCDEV.org, looks like that forum isn't very active anymore) a little while after making that post saying the same exact thing. I forgot to make an edit.

And that's too bad. That's one of the things I'm loving about Lameboy, that fullscreen stretch is great. It's pretty hard for my eyes to see that tiny screen of Goomba Color. Like I said, that's too bad...

Anyways, thanks for the info.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Just double click the folder and add it
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    The root folder where you have games stored
  • HiradeGirl @ HiradeGirl:
    Yeah, just try the "add new game directory".
  • JefferyCuddletrousers @ JefferyCuddletrousers:
    no error message, and its just a file not a folder
  • HiradeGirl @ HiradeGirl:
    And do what the troll said.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Yeah but Citra uses that to scan folders
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    So it could be like C:\\Games\folder\game.Cci
  • JefferyCuddletrousers @ JefferyCuddletrousers:
    nothing like that pops up
  • JefferyCuddletrousers @ JefferyCuddletrousers:
    wait i mightve gotten it
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    You'll want to add c:\\Games\folder
  • JefferyCuddletrousers @ JefferyCuddletrousers:
    it works now i have no clue what just happened?

    :nayps3:
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    You can also drag and drop the game into it for future reference
  • JefferyCuddletrousers @ JefferyCuddletrousers:
    i know that, it just wouldnt show because it had to be a file and it wasnt
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Well now it works
  • JefferyCuddletrousers @ JefferyCuddletrousers:
    yeah im confused but thanks all for trying to help haha
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Think this Nyko PowerPak+ in my OG 3DS is starting to expand ever so slightly 😨 what a shame, to have to go back to an OG size battery soon.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Most emulators will be like that where it asks for a parent directory
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    @Sicklyboy, 3ds batteries are fairly cheap just don't overspend on oem
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Yeah I just like this massive extended battery lol
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Lol length
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I remember those psp batteries that came with bulged psp battery covers
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    my PSP battery started swelling up AGES ago
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    As in I got rid of the battery when I noticed
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    People were hacking batteries just to cfw them
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: @JefferyCuddletrousers, welcome