Hacking Basic question about soft modding the 3DS

rorro

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 8, 2014
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
105
Country
Mexico
Im a complete NOOB regarding the 3DS (i have more experience with the Wii), so i have a couple of questions that i hope someone kind enough can answer for me.

I want to buy a brand new 3DS XL from bestbuy. Now, i know that its going to come with a version way past 4.5.... so:

1.- Is it possible to upgrade that brand new 3DS to a version past 9.0 that i can softmod?? Basically, im interested in playing backups from the 3DS and i dont know if its going to be possible because it needs 4.5, right?

2.- Is it possible to play backup games from the DS?

3.- Is it possible to play NES/SNES/GBA games from an emulator?

Thanks in advance.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Armadillo

Bug_Checker_

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2006
Messages
950
Trophies
0
XP
664
Country
United States
Im a complete NOOB regarding the 3DS (i have more experience with the Wii), so i have a couple of questions that i hope someone kind enough can answer for me.

I want to buy a brand new 3DS XL from bestbuy. Now, i know that its going to come with a version way past 4.5.... so:

1.- Is it possible to upgrade that brand new 3DS to a version past 9.0 that i can softmod?? Basically, im interested in playing backups from the 3DS and i dont know if its going to be possible because it needs 4.5, right?

2.- Is it possible to play backup games from the DS?

3.- Is it possible to play NES/SNES/GBA games from an emulator?

Thanks in advance.


Short answer there is no PUBLIC SOFT mod for ALL retail games.
Start here and ask in that thread.
https://gbatemp.net/threads/3ds-noob-paradise-ask-questions-here.359035/
 

DarkFlare69

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2014
Messages
5,147
Trophies
2
Location
Chicago
XP
4,749
Country
United States
I got him Bug_Checker_

1. If your 3DS is LOWER than 9.0, yes. You need to buy a game that requires firmware 9.0 (NOT ANY HIGHER) and then play it once just to update your system, then you can sell it again, or keep it.

2. Not sure what you mean.. backup DS roms and backup 3DS roms require a flashcart, like gateway.

3. With Ninjhax or a flashcart, yes, it's possible.
rorro
 

reaper527

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2011
Messages
105
Trophies
0
XP
166
Country
United States
1. If your 3DS is LOWER than 9.0, yes. You need to buy a game that requires firmware 9.0 (NOT ANY HIGHER) and then play it once just to update your system, then you can sell it again, or keep it.

i just want to add to this, make sure that your wifi is turned off and that you don't have any pending updates (you'll see a nag screen when you turn on the system if you do). if you don't double check this, you run the risk of the console downloading/installing the newest version instead of using the update that's on the cart you loaded.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DarkFlare69

DarkFlare69

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2014
Messages
5,147
Trophies
2
Location
Chicago
XP
4,749
Country
United States
i just want to add to this, make sure that your wifi is turned off and that you don't have any pending updates (you'll see a nag screen when you turn on the system if you do). if you don't double check this, you run the risk of the console downloading/installing the newest version instead of using the update that's on the cart you loaded.
Yeah, this too. Thanks.
 

WaterBotttle

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2014
Messages
163
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
307
Country
Im a complete NOOB regarding the 3DS (i have more experience with the Wii), so i have a couple of questions that i hope someone kind enough can answer for me.

I want to buy a brand new 3DS XL from bestbuy. Now, i know that its going to come with a version way past 4.5.... so:

1.- Is it possible to upgrade that brand new 3DS to a version past 9.0 that i can softmod?? Basically, im interested in playing backups from the 3DS and i dont know if its going to be possible because it needs 4.5, right?

2.- Is it possible to play backup games from the DS?

3.- Is it possible to play NES/SNES/GBA games from an emulator?

Thanks in advance.

At the moment there is no public softmod option available. A flashcard team called "Gateway" is working on supporting firmware 9.2 and below, 9.2 is higher that (to my knowledge) all current newly bought 3DS so any picked up from the store will be fine. The update will be released *soon* if you follow the mega thread we have for it, but it will be able to play 3DS backups and potentially DS. I don't know about NES/SNES/GBA I remember something about virtual console games.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Anrei @ Anrei: oh ok it's fine lol was just confused with blank ping