ROM Hack Atelier Lina ~The Alchemist of Strahl~

Polling for interest.

  • Yes, I'm interested. / Yes, I would play this game if it were translated to english.

    Votes: 146 84.4%
  • Yes, I'm interested and would consider volunteering or donating to help support the project.

    Votes: 20 11.6%
  • Not sure.

    Votes: 4 2.3%
  • No, I'm not interested / No, I wouldn't play this game if it were translated.

    Votes: 3 1.7%

  • Total voters
    173

frozenBahamut

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Feb 9, 2013
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
51
Country
Malaysia
I would love to help, but I'm not good on Japanese translation(Japanese is not my language).
But here is the video demo that I did modification on the dialog script. The 17 characters limitation can be solve by simply add extra dialog script, but it will not look so good especially the voice and the dialog not match...

 

Auryn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2011
Messages
559
Trophies
1
Age
51
XP
706
Country
Swaziland
Not bad but there are some strange phrases, some wrong/strange line breaks ( i understood why) and some typos (example the forest in Fire: uppercase :P).
Why do you use SJIS instead of ASCII??
You will need sombody that change you the automatic 17 characters linebreak with ASM and then you it would look very good:
4590linanoatelierstrahl.png
 

frozenBahamut

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Feb 9, 2013
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
51
Country
Malaysia
Not bad but there are some strange phrases, some wrong/strange line breaks ( i understood why) and some typos (example the forest in Fire: uppercase :P).
Why do you use SJIS instead of ASCII??
You will need sombody that change you the automatic 17 characters linebreak with ASM and then you it would look very good:

Sorry, my english not good too.
some strange line break in the video, is because I added "/" for next line :)
I use SJIS because of the auto line break, SJIS which makes the text appear full on the dialog box :D

Anyway,
Here some not complete script byte information,
The script starts with 2 bytes file length(up to 65536 possible, cannot be 0 length), after file length bytes, then it will be data bytes and the script is little endian format
All text message can be line break with "/" except option choice
Code:
01 = Text Message
    Byte 2 = Text Data Size
02 = Character Name ID, character name ID
    Byte 2 = Character Name ID
03 = Something to do with dialog box
    Byte 2 = Duration Time
04 = ???(Unknown)
05 = Script Pause
    Byte 2 = Duration Time
0D = Background Picture ID
    Byte 2 = Background ID
0E = ??? (maybe a Sound initializer code)
    Byte 2 = unknown(usually 0x01)
10 = Character portrait location
    Byte 2 = Portrait position(04 = Right, 05 = Center)
    Byte 3 = Character portrait ID(example, 65 = Lina normal, 66=Lina angry)
    Byte 4 = ???
    Byte 5 = ???
20 = Play BGM
    Byte 2 = BGM ID
        0x00 = Today We Also Have a Nice Weather
        0x01 = Girl of the Summer Breeze
        0x02 = Observation Diary
        0x04 = I'm Working Right Now!
        0x06 = Pretty Green
        0x07 = Sprout
        0x14 = Cyclone
21 = Stop BGM
24 = Play Sound/Voice
    Byte 2-3 = Sound/Voice Selection
25 = No Wait
 
33 = Choice
Choice Structure:
[33][A][B][C]([D][E])
    A = ???(usually 0x03)
    B = Choice Message Length(include null terminate)
    C = Total Choice Option(1Byte)(Max up to 10 only, more than that will cause graphic glitches)
    D = Option Message Length(include null terminate)
    F = Script File Pointer(2Byte)

Here some pics of the Choice
lina2732738.png


Hope someone can use this info to make it english translate possible :)
 

Auryn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2011
Messages
559
Trophies
1
Age
51
XP
706
Country
Swaziland
Sorry, my english not good too.
What is your language?? Maybe can exchange ideas better in that language in PM

some strange line break in the video, is because I added "/" for next line
Yes, i understood that after playing with the game some minutes.
I use SJIS because of the auto line break, SJIS which makes the text appear full on the dialog box
No promises but a friend of me will take a look at the game ASM wise and try to change that 17 to 34 or completely deactivate the autolinebreak.

Anyway did you understand the idea i told you about before??
Now you have a structure like:
text window 1> call voice act 1> call bg 1> etc..
text window 2> call voice act 2> call bg 2> etc..
text window 3> call voice act 3> call bg 3> etc..
(i know you not change bg everytime but is just to give you the idea)
you can change it to:
text window 1> call voice act 1> call bg 1> etc..
text window 1a
text window 2> call voice act 2> call bg 2> etc..
text window 2a
text window 3> call voice act 3> call bg 3> etc..
text window 3a
So you have enough place to translate the whole voice dub.
Anyway if we find how to change that autolinebreak, this will probably not be necessary.

Everything else is good work :)
 

Auryn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2011
Messages
559
Trophies
1
Age
51
XP
706
Country
Swaziland
I admit that it's 6.30am and i just finish work but are you sure you wrote the correct offset??
That would be and ARM of over 32MB and from what i have in my mind, the arm9 of the game is between 1-1.5MB decompressed.
 

Normmatt

Former AKAIO Programmer
Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
2,161
Trophies
1
Age
33
Website
normmatt.com
XP
2,221
Country
New Zealand
I admit that it's 6.30am and i just finish work but are you sure you wrote the correct offset??
That would be and ARM of over 32MB and from what i have in my mind, the arm9 of the game is between 1-1.5MB decompressed.
The arm9 binary is loaded into 02000000 in memory. I simply gave the memory location.
 

Auryn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2011
Messages
559
Trophies
1
Age
51
XP
706
Country
Swaziland
@frozenBahamut: there is another limit to the text but it should no cause too many troubles.
The limit is x6A and give you so much text:
4590linanoatelierstrahl.png

I believe this limit is because after x6A, it will need a new line (4th line).

The game will show you this text if you reach the limit:
4590linanoatelierstrahl.png

Basically a warning that the game wants max 17 characters and 3 lines.
This message will appear even if you force line breaks to a 4th line or naturally if the automatic linebreak and forced linebreaks go over 3 lines.

Just as a note, it's possible that there is a character count to 6A. In itself, it should not be a problem but if you have control codes and/or formatting between the text and those are counted as well even if not on screen, it's possible that you reach that limit.
 

Normmatt

Former AKAIO Programmer
Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
2,161
Trophies
1
Age
33
Website
normmatt.com
XP
2,221
Country
New Zealand
@frozenBahamut: there is another limit to the text but it should no cause too many troubles.
The limit is x6A and give you so much text:
4590linanoatelierstrahl.png

I believe this limit is because after x6A, it will need a new line (4th line).

The game will show you this text if you reach the limit:
4590linanoatelierstrahl.png

Basically a warning that the game wants max 17 characters and 3 lines.
This message will appear even if you force line breaks to a 4th line or naturally if the automatic linebreak and forced linebreaks go over 3 lines.

Just as a note, it's possible that there is a character count to 6A. In itself, it should not be a problem but if you have control codes and/or formatting between the text and those are counted as well even if not on screen, it's possible that you reach that limit.
To bypass that warning change the byte at 020E513F from 0x1A to 0xEA.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://wccftech-com.cdn.ampproject.org/v/s/wccftech.com/amd-800-series-am5-motherboards-launch-r...