PS1/2 Having problems loading FreeMCBoot, was previously working

Wolvenreign

Transhuman Satanist Furry Technocrat
Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2008
Messages
740
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Indianapolis, IN
XP
935
Country
United States
Hey all. My PS2 doesn't load FreeMCBoot properly anymore. I didn't make any changes, but now it only seems to load FreeMCBoot in about 1 out of every 10 tries or so.

Anyone else with this problem?
 

Wolvenreign

Transhuman Satanist Furry Technocrat
Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2008
Messages
740
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Indianapolis, IN
XP
935
Country
United States
No. That was my only FreeMCBoot memory card. I was going to use it to make a backup.

This sucks. ESR was my first completed hack. I had to use a jump method to get it to work with my Slim PS2, including using an old Gameshark on a Phat PS2 and tons of hours of tweaking. I was so proud when it was done. =(
 

trumpet-205

Embrace the darkness within
Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
4,363
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
692
Country
United States
No. That was my only FreeMCBoot memory card. I was going to use it to make a backup.

This sucks. ESR was my first completed hack. I had to use a jump method to get it to work with my Slim PS2, including using an old Gameshark on a Phat PS2 and tons of hours of tweaking. I was so proud when it was done. =(
Well I can do free FreeMcBoot installation for you if you want. If you have a spare memory card you can ship it to me and I'll ship it back with FMB back.
 

blaisedinsd

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
1,105
Trophies
0
Age
45
XP
616
Country
United States
I am having issues too, I just installed it last night using swap method with mgs3. Ps phat is pretty old.

It seems to freeze up when I boot up with a disc in the console but it works when it's empty.

Does the memory card have to be in the same slot as when it's installed for it to work? I installed in the first slot but now I want to use it in slot2 so I can have a regular card in the first slot but it doesn't seem to work in the second slot. I am thinking it may be difficult to reinstall in the second slot with out having to swap again, if I launch the explorer and installer from the first slot can I swap the memory card to the second slot and then run the installer or will removing the memory card screw it up? The installer is running from the USB so I think it may be safe.
 

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
28,248
Trophies
2
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
25,640
Country
Poland
If you have another memory card, I suggest putting the FreeMCBoot installation files on a USB stick or something, trying to boot it from your current card and installing it on the other one while it still boots at all. ;)
 

blaisedinsd

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
1,105
Trophies
0
Age
45
XP
616
Country
United States
Good idea to have a backup I guess. I will have to clear some space on the memory card first though. Is it pretty simple to back up the saves to USB and restore them? I am really new to this, just got a ps3 and a psp and started messing with my ps2 this weekend.

Can these saves be easily transferred to ps3 as well? I got backward compatibility.
 

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
28,248
Trophies
2
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
25,640
Country
Poland
Good idea to have a backup I guess. I will have to clear some space on the memory card first though. Is it pretty simple to back up the saves to USB and restore them? I am really new to this, just got a ps3 and a psp and started messing with my ps2 this weekend.

Can these saves be easily transferred to ps3 as well? I got backward compatibility.

You can transfer all data back and forth using USB without a hitch. As for putting them on the PS3, I don't know - my PS3 isn't BC-compatible. Your saves will work perfectly fine when on a PS2 memory card though, so no worries there.
 

blaisedinsd

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
1,105
Trophies
0
Age
45
XP
616
Country
United States
Thank you. I have found out they will not work on ps3, it uses psv format that no one has cracked. Only a ps3 can make a psv file. You have to buy a memory card adapter but I heard if you can boot swap magic on the ps3 there is a method. Both cost money. I bought a knock off adapter off eBay for around $10, so hopefully that will work. Sonya official one I see going for over $30 and swap magic cost around $25.
 

Magsor

I am watching you
Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2010
Messages
1,268
Trophies
0
Location
Amos
XP
968
Country
Canada
Thank you. I have found out they will not work on ps3, it uses psv format that no one has cracked. Only a ps3 can make a psv file. You have to buy a memory card adapter but I heard if you can boot swap magic on the ps3 there is a method. Both cost money. I bought a knock off adapter off eBay for around $10, so hopefully that will work. Sonya official one I see going for over $30 and swap magic cost around $25.

You know what's funny? You can install FreeMCboot with the memory card adapter and a PC...
 

blaisedinsd

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
1,105
Trophies
0
Age
45
XP
616
Country
United States
Yeah, I was seeing something about that but I am not sure if it will work with the non official adapter. Since i already did the fmcb install I really just need it to work one time to get my saves on to the ps3
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Lol AHS is getting funny two dudes and two girls get pregnant
    Gift
  • Toastee_ @ Toastee_:
    Whats AHS?
    Gift
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    What are you supposed to do when you have a thousand dollar piece of hardware that won't work because the API the manufacturer provided doesn't want to work?
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Ebay
    Gift
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    Oh great.
    Gift
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    It's a Linux bug.
    Gift
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    Well a bug with their Linux drivers or something.
    Gift
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    It captures 2x the amount of packets on Windows 10 in a freaking VM where USB access is slower/more latent.
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    what is this piece of hardware @gudenau
    Gift
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    Beagle 480
    Gift
  • T-hug @ T-hug:
    Dune 2021 1080p HDRip X264 AC3-EVO
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Dune? Reminds me of seeing my ex naked
    Gift
  • mr_switch @ mr_switch:
    Oh yeah Dune movie is out, watching it later
    Gift
  • mr_switch @ mr_switch:
    Here is hoping 2022 is a good year for DC cinematic universe
    Gift
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    Honestly don't really know what Dune is.
    Gift
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    Anyone here know much about Jetbrains InteliJ Idea?
    Gift
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Oh, T-hug was here :blink:
    Gift
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Hey, where the admins at? Come in the chat. I got a idea. How bout a Sound notification or something when someone tags you in chat? :ninja:
    Gift
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    Post it in the v8 feedback thread
    Gift
  • Gift
  • OzKenny1983 @ OzKenny1983:
    Post what sorry? I'm guessing we were talking about this ages ago, but I haven't been on GBATemp in almost a year so my memory is failing me :-/
    Gift
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    feedback and or bugs that may have popped up since the migration to XenForo 2!
    Gift
  • OzKenny1983 @ OzKenny1983:
    Umm...I think you might have the wrong person, since that may as well have been written in Chinese. I have nothing to do with the management of this site, nor have I ever been involved. I'm just a member, and hardly even qualify as that...like I said my last post was almost a year ago lol
    Gift
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    Lol no, Sonic Angel Knight had an idea, best would be to post it in that thread haha
    Gift
  • OzKenny1983 @ OzKenny1983:
    Sorry, don't know Sonic Angel Knight either...
    Gift
    OzKenny1983 @ OzKenny1983: Sorry, don't know Sonic Angel Knight either...