Asking for system update when using non-backup game disc

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Mature Lamb, Oct 12, 2009.

  1. Mature Lamb
    OP

    Newcomer Mature Lamb Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey guys, sorry if this is the wrong place to ask, and yes I have tried searching on google and the forums. Anyways, when I insert my real copy of SSBB into my softmodded PAL Wii, it asks me to update my system. I'm scared that I might brick my Wii. It has never asked me to update before when I inserted the disc when my Wii was still a virgin. Anyone have any ideas?

    EDIT: I'm also using Wii System Menu 4.2 btw
     
  2. Szalkow

    Member Szalkow RawkSD Cheerleader

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    Uni
    Country:
    United States
    The most common way around this is to install Preloader and use the "skip disc update check" hack.

    Installing disc updates *usually* won't hurt you, but it's a good idea to read up and determine what the update changes. Often it will include only a new version of an IOS with compatibility fixes (I believe the Brawl disc updates the IOS for better dual-layer handling), although some discs (and only a few) have system menu updates. Sometimes the updated IOS will be necessary to play the game correctly, but keeping your IOSes up-to-date will make this unnecessary anyway.
     
  3. Mature Lamb
    OP

    Newcomer Mature Lamb Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks for the reply, I'll look into installing Preloader. This doesn't only happen with Brawl, it happens with all my other games too which have never asked me to update before (Wii Sports, Wii Play, Guitar Hero: World Tour)
     
  4. nutta_nic

    Member nutta_nic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    this means you have some ios missing, if you update through the disk it will only install the missing ios
     
  5. flame6753

    Newcomer flame6753 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    Tri-State
    Country:
    United States
    Lol, stop telling this guy to update. He can install missing Ios's manually. The only thing he'll end up with is a BRRRRIIIICK! [​IMG]
     
  6. nutta_nic

    Member nutta_nic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    why would he brick?

    1. the games in region
    2. his system menu is higher so it will only install the ios
     
  7. flame6753

    Newcomer flame6753 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    Tri-State
    Country:
    United States
    Even though it is a higher version, depending on what Ios's he already has, that doesn't stop these particular games from bricking the console. your train of thought is correct, so usually I wouldn't even think twice to update those old ios files. But I've seen quite a few people complain of brawl bricking their console when they were on 3.4, and brawl installs 3.2 ios. So, I suggest he install them manually through ios updater.
     
  8. Mature Lamb
    OP

    Newcomer Mature Lamb Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey again guys, I looked into using Preloader but it looked pretty scary.. anyone know how I can find out what IOS's I am missing?
     
  9. rubberchickenmx

    Member rubberchickenmx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    It's scary at first but just install it works fine here.
     
  10. Mature Lamb
    OP

    Newcomer Mature Lamb Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Australia
    Instead of Preloader I used Startpatch for 4.2E PAL to block disc updates, but when I insert my actual games and load them through the disc channel, it still asks to perform a system update. Any ideas? [​IMG]
     
  11. jazvdb

    Member jazvdb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Location:
    In front of computer...
    Country:
    United States
    Facepalm
     
  12. Mature Lamb
    OP

    Newcomer Mature Lamb Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Australia
    So nothing's working so far.. and I've tried to update some of my IOS's using DOP-IOS. Should I just take the risk and blame you all if my Wii bricks? [​IMG]
     
  13. The-Magician

    Newcomer The-Magician Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico
    Country:
    Mexico

    On that i also am trying to find an answer.
     
  14. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    DOP-IOS shows you what IOS you have installed and which version. Realy neat app, have a look at it.
     
  15. Ramzee

    Newcomer Ramzee Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This WiiHacks Thread say SSBB uses IOS 36 v1042 so I'd start there using Dop-IOS to get the latest v3351
     
  16. jabmaster2

    Member jabmaster2 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    United States
    Just run the game through gecko os. It'll will install missing ios without messing up ur system.
     
  17. The-Magician

    Newcomer The-Magician Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico
    Country:
    Mexico
    That part i found, but how when you install your games on HDD. Doing it like this you still have to burn them?
    Or do I miss seeing something here.
     
  18. Szalkow

    Member Szalkow RawkSD Cheerleader

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    Uni
    Country:
    United States
    1. There are lists for that. I believe Wiihacks.com was already mentioned, a quick Google search should turn something up. For SSBB, it's probably IOS36.

    2. If you install it on your hard drive and use a USB loader it omits the update sector anyway, so you'll never get this message with a USB loader. Disc loaders often (but not always) skip the update check by default as well.
     

Share This Page