Artifacts on screen

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by MANTI5, Apr 29, 2010.

Apr 29, 2010

Artifacts on screen by MANTI5 at 5:17 AM (1,240 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. MANTI5
    OP

    Newcomer MANTI5 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    I've had my Wii since the day it was released and recently it started displaying artifacts. I've read this is a defect with the GPU heatsink. Are there any fixes you can do yourself for this or do I need to get a new Wii? Also, is there a way to know if I get a new one that it will be able to play backups like my current one?
     
  2. Nintendo_Chick

    Member Nintendo_Chick GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    386
    Country:
    United States
    Any Wii can play backups, only difference will be you you can't install bootmii as boot2.

    As for your other problem, I have no idea.
     
  3. MANTI5
    OP

    Newcomer MANTI5 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    I've read newer Wiis can't read recordable dvds.
     
  4. BlackEnigma

    Member BlackEnigma GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Country:
    United States
    It's supposedly the D3-2 drives that can't read recordable discs.
     
  5. MANTI5
    OP

    Newcomer MANTI5 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a way to know which they're in before buying?
     
  6. C.S.I.

    Member C.S.I. GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    Down under
    Country:
    Australia
    Any new Wii will have that drive.

    But you can always use Backup Loaders =)
     
  7. GreatZimkogway

    Member GreatZimkogway Touhou Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,140
    Location:
    Imoriata
    Country:
    United States
    See, you guys must mean EXTREMELY new Wii's, as in within 3 months. Because I got a Wii late January and mine has no trouble loading recordable DVDs.
     
  8. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    [​IMG]
     
  9. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    just because u bought ur wii 3 months ago doesn't mean its new... since u can play copied DVDs, that means that wii has been sitting in its box (or a shelf or wherever) for 1-2 years
     
  10. GreatZimkogway

    Member GreatZimkogway Touhou Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,140
    Location:
    Imoriata
    Country:
    United States
    Uh...nooo. I had to have my Gamestop order mine from Nintendo. Sooo...no.
     
  11. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    [​IMG] I've had these artifacts since 2008, but I already have HBC/DARKCORP/cIOS/WADs installed. Damn artifacts are so distracting, I can't beat NSMBWii 2-4 because of them (I can beat it no problem on my cousin's Wii, which was a 2006 Wii).
     

Share This Page