Are minor updates under DSi 1.4u safe?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by mrmariowario, Dec 29, 2009.

Dec 29, 2009
  1. mrmariowario
    OP

    Newcomer mrmariowario Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Boston
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys,

    For Christmas i got a shiny new DSi, with system menu 1.4u included. I patched my Acekard2i to get it running on the DSi, which works fine now, but then my DSi told me that an update was available. The update prompt says 'Without the update, certain DSi applications or games may not work.'

    Now I have tried googleling for more information on the minor updates that Nintendo releases, but to no avail. Do any of you know if it is safe to install minor system menu updates, or will they block the acekard?

    Thanks for your help in advance! [​IMG]
     
  2. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    minor updates?
    ive never seen any
     
  3. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    1.4 is the latest.
     
  4. mrmariowario
    OP

    Newcomer mrmariowario Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Boston
    Country:
    United States
    Well, there isn't any news out about menu 1.5u that i can find. And since my DSi is the new model that just came out, minor updates seems to be the only explanation.
    I think it might be the same thing as on the Wii, where sometimes you need to install a minor update to play a brand new game....
     
  5. Chris_Skylock

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    I got a new DSi (PINK) and I got the 1.3U. Enlighten me on your new DSi. What color?

    There are no updates nor minor updates so it's safe. The only update you can have is the DSi Browser and/or the DSi shop
     
  6. mrmariowario
    OP

    Newcomer mrmariowario Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Boston
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]

    Its the metallic blue Mario DSi bundle. It had 1.4u on it when I turned it on.
     
  7. unknownsoul

    Newcomer unknownsoul Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    It always says that even when there is no update.
     
  8. mrmariowario
    OP

    Newcomer mrmariowario Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Boston
    Country:
    United States


    FFFFFFFFFFFFFF!!! YOUR RIGHT! [​IMG]

    I just went through the update process and it said I was up to date and didn't need to update. What a load of BS. Nintendo really needs to fix that.


    Thanks for the help you guys! Much appreciated! [​IMG]
     
  9. LightyKD

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    I didnt know there were any minor updates. I just got a Blue DSi back in November and the last update I saw was the one for the Web Browser.
     

Share This Page