Hacking Any way to force wii to display 720p?

marcelotps

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
39
Trophies
0
XP
82
Country
United States
Hi guys,

So there is any way to change wii firmware to force wii to display 720p? (Component cables can display 720p withough no problems)
Somebody just need to change the firmware?

Thx
nayps3.gif
 

lll

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2008
Messages
132
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
57
Country
As far as I know the Wii is only capable of outputting 480i, 576i and 480p.

Even if you were somehow able to get it to output 720p (which I doubt is possible), the GPU would be too slow to handle that res.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Darkworld92

j103

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
611
Country
United States
From what I know, the only thing actually holding it back is the VRAM. It takes something like 7 megs of VRAM to buffer HD images at 720p, while the Wii is running somewhere between 1.5 and 3 megs.
 

Knyaz Vladimir

3DS Hacker
Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
556
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Unconfirmed
Website
Visit site
XP
68
Country
Canada
j103 said:
From what I know, the only thing actually holding it back is the VRAM. It takes something like 7 megs of VRAM to buffer HD images at 720p, while the Wii is running somewhere between 1.5 and 3 megs.
Considering that if the Wii could output 720p, then it'd be the first HD console (as 360 and PS3 go between 576 and 720)
 

pepxl

GFX W!Z4RD
Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
3,263
Trophies
0
XP
303
Country
Knyaz Vladimir said:
j103 said:
From what I know, the only thing actually holding it back is the VRAM. It takes something like 7 megs of VRAM to buffer HD images at 720p, while the Wii is running somewhere between 1.5 and 3 megs.
Considering that if the Wii could output 720p, then it'd be the first HD console (as 360 and PS3 go between 576 and 720)

the PS3 and 360 can output 1080P, they are HD consoles the wii isnt
 
  • Like
Reactions: Darkworld92

Knyaz Vladimir

3DS Hacker
Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
556
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Unconfirmed
Website
Visit site
XP
68
Country
Canada
pepxl said:
Knyaz Vladimir said:
j103 said:
From what I know, the only thing actually holding it back is the VRAM. It takes something like 7 megs of VRAM to buffer HD images at 720p, while the Wii is running somewhere between 1.5 and 3 megs.
Considering that if the Wii could output 720p, then it'd be the first HD console (as 360 and PS3 go between 576 and 720)

the PS3 and 360 can output 1080P, they are HD consoles the wii isnt
Output? Yes. Render? Far from it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Fartonaut

Clarky

Don't you know who I think I am?
Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
1,960
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
814
Country
United States
if you are desperate for 720p or even 1080 there is an upscaler available for the wii but reviews i have seen always seem mixed
 

ravagetalon

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 16, 2009
Messages
20
Trophies
0
XP
35
Country
United States
Games on 360 at a minimum render at 720p(a restriction set by Microsoft) with a few exceptions. (MW2 rendered at 600p, Gears of War was, if I'm not mistaken rendered out at full 1080p). As far as I know *everything* is 720p on the PS3. The Wii, however, hardware wise could potentially output at 720p, but it's GPU is far too weak to render at 720p.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Darkworld92

Blue-K

No right of appeal.
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
2,572
Trophies
0
Location
Helvetica
XP
189
Country
Swaziland
If you want your Wii/GC-Games in 720p, or even 1080p, your only chance is to use the Dolphin Emulator (comes with added 3D-Bonus
yaywii.gif
. But you'll need a really good PC, and it's still in developement). I seriously doubt that your Wii will ever be able to output 720p, no matter what you're doing. I would even call it impossible.

(And lol @"only change firmware")
 

Knyaz Vladimir

3DS Hacker
Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
556
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Unconfirmed
Website
Visit site
XP
68
Country
Canada
davidsl_128 said:
What's the difference between render and output? I don't get it
huh.gif
Render means that the game creates an image at 720p. Output means the quality of the image seen on your screen. The Wii renders a few games at near-720p quality, but it can only output at 576i, having lower quality than what the Wii makes.
 

Jacobeian

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 15, 2008
Messages
1,893
Trophies
0
XP
386
Country
Cuba
Actually, there are no proof the Wii video hardware can output 720p.
On the contrary, since it's a custom video chip, it's very likely they cutted-off features for saving money. What's the point of having hardware supporting something but no way to use it in software ?

It seems very unlikely since 720p does not only require more GPU memory but also the Video Encoder working at a faster clock.
 

pbsds

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 16, 2009
Messages
52
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Røros
Website
pbsds.net
XP
1,110
Country
Norway
That would be horrible quality.
480p scaled up to 720p would have the same horrible quality as running a computer game on 800x600 on a 1024x768 screen.
wink.gif
 

Crass

Rock me Dr. Zaius
Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2006
Messages
1,004
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Oregon
Website
www.ds-scene.net
XP
544
Country
United States
Technically the Wii is capable of internally rendering images FAR BEYOND 720p (albeit at diminishing returns, you wont be able to get the same frame rate rendering a scene at 480p as you will at rendering that same scene in (unless you reduce the texture quality and polygons etc etc etc)1080p but it is still technically possible) Its like how you can buy a shitty pc video card, and still play games at high resolutions with all the settings cranked up, but you will only get 0.2 fps or whatever. However, even if you were trying to play a game with very basic graphics in 720p on the wii you are still limited, as previously stated the VRAM or framebuffer on the Wii is only 2mb (3mb if you include the texture cache), and you need much more to effectively output a clean looking image so you wouldn't be able to apply after effects like anti-aliasing (the Xbox 360 has a dedicated superduperfast 10mb video ram chip, thats why all games support 2xAA regardless of how heavy the game is, and PS3 exclusives are capable of rendering better images than its internal graphics chip by utilizing the Cell processors).
 

sorgelig

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 2, 2009
Messages
170
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
69
Country
Serbia, Republic of
ravagetalon said:
Games on 360 at a minimum render at 720p(a restriction set by Microsoft) with a few exceptions. (MW2 rendered at 600p, Gears of War was, if I'm not mistaken rendered out at full 1080p). As far as I know *everything* is 720p on the PS3. The Wii, however, hardware wise could potentially output at 720p, but it's GPU is far too weak to render at 720p.

not sure about XBOX360.
PS3 support rendering up to 1080 but not many games use it.
 

Bunie

#1 Princess
Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2010
Messages
568
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Pleasureville, KY
XP
278
Country
United States
sorgelig said:
ravagetalon said:
Games on 360 at a minimum render at 720p(a restriction set by Microsoft) with a few exceptions. (MW2 rendered at 600p, Gears of War was, if I'm not mistaken rendered out at full 1080p). As far as I know *everything* is 720p on the PS3. The Wii, however, hardware wise could potentially output at 720p, but it's GPU is far too weak to render at 720p.

not sure about XBOX360.
PS3 support rendering up to 1080 but not many games use it.
I'm fairly sure GTA4 on PS3 rendered at 480p Lol. i may be wrong though. =/ would need to look into it.
 

Crass

Rock me Dr. Zaius
Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2006
Messages
1,004
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Oregon
Website
www.ds-scene.net
XP
544
Country
United States
Bunie said:
sorgelig said:
ravagetalon said:
Games on 360 at a minimum render at 720p(a restriction set by Microsoft) with a few exceptions. (MW2 rendered at 600p, Gears of War was, if I'm not mistaken rendered out at full 1080p). As far as I know *everything* is 720p on the PS3. The Wii, however, hardware wise could potentially output at 720p, but it's GPU is far too weak to render at 720p.

not sure about XBOX360.
PS3 support rendering up to 1080 but not many games use it.
I'm fairly sure GTA4 on PS3 rendered at 480p Lol. i may be wrong though. =/ would need to look into it.

I don't know the resolution for GTA4 on the PS3, but its safe to assume that all multi-platform games will be inferior on the PS3. Its dedicated video card is equivalent to a nvidia geforce 7800, and is inferior to the Xbox 360s graphic chip. However, "exclusive" titles designed from the ground up to utilize the Cell CPUs, are able to boost the graphics capability. For the most tho, games on Xbox 360 and PS3 are faux-hd, and the only way to guarantee the best and most awesomeness graphics is to get a PC. http://insomnia.ac/hardware/the_fake-hd_era/
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Veho @ Veho: He has Scooby.