Any way to force wii to display 720p?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by marcelotps, Dec 1, 2010.

Dec 1, 2010
  1. marcelotps
    OP

    Newcomer marcelotps Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    United States
    Hi guys,

    So there is any way to change wii firmware to force wii to display 720p? (Component cables can display 720p withough no problems)
    Somebody just need to change the firmware?

    Thx [​IMG]
     


  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, the Wii is technically capable of 720.

    Games run not run at it, though.
     
  3. lll

    Member lll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As far as I know the Wii is only capable of outputting 480i, 576i and 480p.

    Even if you were somehow able to get it to output 720p (which I doubt is possible), the GPU would be too slow to handle that res.
     
  4. j103

    Newcomer j103 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Cleveland, TN
    Country:
    United States
    From what I know, the only thing actually holding it back is the VRAM. It takes something like 7 megs of VRAM to buffer HD images at 720p, while the Wii is running somewhere between 1.5 and 3 megs.
     
  5. Knyaz Vladimir

    Member Knyaz Vladimir 3DS Hacker

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    555
    Location:
    Unconfirmed
    Country:
    Canada
    Considering that if the Wii could output 720p, then it'd be the first HD console (as 360 and PS3 go between 576 and 720)
     
  6. pepxl

    Member pepxl GFX W!Z4RD

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the PS3 and 360 can output 1080P, they are HD consoles the wii isnt
     
  7. Knyaz Vladimir

    Member Knyaz Vladimir 3DS Hacker

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    555
    Location:
    Unconfirmed
    Country:
    Canada
    Output? Yes. Render? Far from it.
     
  8. Clarky

    Member Clarky Don't you know who I think I am?

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,960
    Country:
    United States
    if you are desperate for 720p or even 1080 there is an upscaler available for the wii but reviews i have seen always seem mixed
     
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    No dude, they can render at it (though many games don't go up to 1080).
     
  10. ravagetalon

    Newcomer ravagetalon Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Games on 360 at a minimum render at 720p(a restriction set by Microsoft) with a few exceptions. (MW2 rendered at 600p, Gears of War was, if I'm not mistaken rendered out at full 1080p). As far as I know *everything* is 720p on the PS3. The Wii, however, hardware wise could potentially output at 720p, but it's GPU is far too weak to render at 720p.
     
  11. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    If you want your Wii/GC-Games in 720p, or even 1080p, your only chance is to use the Dolphin Emulator (comes with added 3D-Bonus [​IMG]. But you'll need a really good PC, and it's still in developement). I seriously doubt that your Wii will ever be able to output 720p, no matter what you're doing. I would even call it impossible.

    (And lol @"only change firmware")
     
  12. davidsl_128

    Member davidsl_128 GBAtemp Brightsider

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    629
    Country:
    Colombia
    What's the difference between render and output? I don't get it [​IMG]
     
  13. Knyaz Vladimir

    Member Knyaz Vladimir 3DS Hacker

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    555
    Location:
    Unconfirmed
    Country:
    Canada
    Render means that the game creates an image at 720p. Output means the quality of the image seen on your screen. The Wii renders a few games at near-720p quality, but it can only output at 576i, having lower quality than what the Wii makes.
     
  14. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    Actually, there are no proof the Wii video hardware can output 720p.
    On the contrary, since it's a custom video chip, it's very likely they cutted-off features for saving money. What's the point of having hardware supporting something but no way to use it in software ?

    It seems very unlikely since 720p does not only require more GPU memory but also the Video Encoder working at a faster clock.
     
  15. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Only way to output 720p would be to buy a converter box that converts 480i/p into 720p.
     
  16. pbsds

    Newcomer pbsds Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    Røros
    Country:
    Norway
    That would be horrible quality.
    480p scaled up to 720p would have the same horrible quality as running a computer game on 800x600 on a 1024x768 screen. [​IMG]
     
  17. Crass

    Member Crass Rock me Dr. Zaius

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    984
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    Technically the Wii is capable of internally rendering images FAR BEYOND 720p (albeit at diminishing returns, you wont be able to get the same frame rate rendering a scene at 480p as you will at rendering that same scene in (unless you reduce the texture quality and polygons etc etc etc)1080p but it is still technically possible) Its like how you can buy a shitty pc video card, and still play games at high resolutions with all the settings cranked up, but you will only get 0.2 fps or whatever. However, even if you were trying to play a game with very basic graphics in 720p on the wii you are still limited, as previously stated the VRAM or framebuffer on the Wii is only 2mb (3mb if you include the texture cache), and you need much more to effectively output a clean looking image so you wouldn't be able to apply after effects like anti-aliasing (the Xbox 360 has a dedicated superduperfast 10mb video ram chip, thats why all games support 2xAA regardless of how heavy the game is, and PS3 exclusives are capable of rendering better images than its internal graphics chip by utilizing the Cell processors).
     
  18. sorgelig

    Member sorgelig GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Country:
    Russia
    not sure about XBOX360.
    PS3 support rendering up to 1080 but not many games use it.
     
  19. Bunie

    Member Bunie #1 Princess

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    553
    Location:
    Pleasureville, KY
    Country:
    United States
    I'm fairly sure GTA4 on PS3 rendered at 480p Lol. i may be wrong though. =/ would need to look into it.
     
  20. Crass

    Member Crass Rock me Dr. Zaius

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    984
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know the resolution for GTA4 on the PS3, but its safe to assume that all multi-platform games will be inferior on the PS3. Its dedicated video card is equivalent to a nvidia geforce 7800, and is inferior to the Xbox 360s graphic chip. However, "exclusive" titles designed from the ground up to utilize the Cell CPUs, are able to boost the graphics capability. For the most tho, games on Xbox 360 and PS3 are faux-hd, and the only way to guarantee the best and most awesomeness graphics is to get a PC. http://insomnia.ac/hardware/the_fake-hd_era/
     

Share This Page