Alarm for 3DS in DS mode?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by NathanDuma, Mar 22, 2012.

Mar 22, 2012

Alarm for 3DS in DS mode? by NathanDuma at 2:01 AM (9,496 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. NathanDuma
    OP

    Member NathanDuma GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    114
    I was wondering if there was an alarm app for the r4. There isn't an alarm for the 3DS, and I need an alarm. Are there any alarms that run in DS mode out there? I tried searching and got nothing.
    Thanks in advance.
     


  2. elgarta

    Member elgarta GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    421
    Country:
    United States
    Aren't there alarm clocks that you can by from the e-store? I remember my brother had this annoying Mario clock on his that he used to wake up in the morning.
     
  3. Ryupower

    Member Ryupower Brood

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,762
    Country:
    United States
    think there maybe a dsi app that may work
    look at the eshop
     
  4. NathanDuma
    OP

    Member NathanDuma GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    114
    I read about that, but I don't want to spend money to buy one.
     
  5. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,767
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    It wouldn't be that hard to make one...I wonder...I'll see what I can do, it'll probably be the most basic thing ever but hey, it works. Maybe.
     
  6. Kiaku

    Member Kiaku GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    273
    Country:
    United States
  7. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    yeah but that really kills battery
     
  8. Kiaku

    Member Kiaku GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    273
    Country:
    United States
    Doesn't leaving your DS on for an alarm kill battery anyhow?
     
  9. mysticwaterfall

    Member mysticwaterfall Streamforce Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,868
    Location:
    Right behind you
    Country:
    United States
    Like Luigi says, an alarm for ds would seem sort of pointless because it would always have to be running on your ds. Surely you can set an alarm on any number of other things.
     
  10. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    well for me the battery lasted longer with the ds's built in alarm (ds lites not 3ds's)
    @mysticwaterfall i didn't say it was pointless.
     
  11. elgarta

    Member elgarta GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    421
    Country:
    United States
    Couldn't you just leave it on charge at night, or when you are asleep?
     
  12. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    What about firmware.nds?
     
  13. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    I thought that didn't work on the 3DS.
     
  14. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Plenty of people have mentioned using firmware.nds for Pictochat, so I assume the alarm clock would also be functional.
     
  15. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    No, I meant that you can't get past the "Shut off the system to complete setup" screen, because it doesn't save.
    Am I wrong?
     
  16. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    But the alarm clock settings screen lets you start the alarm clock with the specified settings, without having to turn off to save the settings.
     
  17. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    I never noticed an ability to use the alarm clock without saving the settings at the start. :O
     
  18. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    *tests with his DS Lite*
    Yup.
     
    2 people like this.
  19. Dolei

    Newcomer Dolei Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Twitter
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Do you not have a cellphone? o.o
    3DS' aren't exactly designed with alarm functionality in mind.. speakers aren't exposed when shut, battery is good but not great etc.
     
  20. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    Believe it or not, there are a lot of people who don't have cell-phone things.
     
    jsa likes this.

Share This Page