Akaio 1.5.1 quirks

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by BloodAdept, Feb 21, 2010.

Feb 21, 2010

Akaio 1.5.1 quirks by BloodAdept at 7:35 AM (2,848 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. BloodAdept
    OP

    Newcomer BloodAdept Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    United States
    I only recently realized that in none of my games can i use soft reset since i updated to 1.5.1 . Oddly i can no longer soft reset from akaio 1.5 either, anyone else come across this problem and/or know the solution?

    Additionally i cannot save Ace Attorney Investigations: Miles Edgeworth. When i attempt to it just freezes (thinking it was just taking awhile i left it alone for 3 hours, and when i came back it still said "saving"). Anyone got any ideas?
     


  2. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    Format and install a fresh copy of akaio? Well mine works fine.
     
  3. BloodAdept
    OP

    Newcomer BloodAdept Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    United States
    if by format you mean the sd card, i'll have to pass. Read to many accounts of people doing that and destroying their micro sd's. While 8gb micro sd cards are cheaper than they used to be, i can't afford to buy a new one...
     
  4. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    Where have you seen people destroying their micro sd's from formatting?

    How about just a fresh copy of akaio then. [​IMG]
     
  5. obito

    Member obito I can have a title?! :O

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Country:
    New Zealand
    ... i've screwed up my 2gb sandisk before..

    and anyway on topic: go to options for whatever game is not soft resetting and set soft reset to enabled.. (usually it'll be on default)
     
  6. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    Actually it should be disabled now that I think about it. (well at least mine was if yours isn't) I put a fresh copy of akaio today as I changed back to my acekard and first thing I did was go to my system properties. [​IMG] Well that doesn't solve the other problem though.
     
  7. dsrules

    Member dsrules GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,279
    Country:
    check your Game Config Option and make sure that SoftReset is ON... and there is no point of waiting for a few hours for a game to Save, it would only take a few seconds the most
     
  8. BloodAdept
    OP

    Newcomer BloodAdept Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    United States
    Covering soft reset: Not only have i enabled it specifically for games, but also set it to enable all games from the system properties.

    As for waiting 3 hours, i took a much needed nap.
     
  9. Dark^'^Knigh

    Member Dark^'^Knigh GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Location:
    Paradise
    Country:
    Australia
    Seeing you obviously are NEVER going to format your msd (I 'd like to call my bookie to place a bet on it), if I were you I would get my hands on another msd (not to buy, borrow from mobile phone, etc) to test it...otherwise, without the formatting solution you are just going to have to live with it.
     
  10. wannawanna

    Newcomer wannawanna Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    United States
    I'm having the same soft reset issue.
     
  11. yuyuyup

    Member yuyuyup GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    3,300
    Location:
    USA MTN timezone
    Country:
    United States
    you are supposed to format mini sds with the panasonic formattersdsdsdsddssdsdds
     
  12. geoflcl

    Member geoflcl Permanent GBAtemp Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,373
    Country:
    United States
    Gee, if your SD card corrupts while formatting, you know you're having bad luck.

    I say you should try it. Panasonic's formatter has never let me down. Copy your files first, of course... And if worst comes to worst, mow a few lawns and buy a new one for less than $10.
     
  13. wannawanna

    Newcomer wannawanna Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    United States
    Where are you getting 8gb for less than $10? Can you link me or send a pm?
     
  14. BloodAdept
    OP

    Newcomer BloodAdept Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    United States
    To quote one of my favorite songs.

    "I'll take that bet, and your gonna regret" kudos if you know the song.

    Geoflcl where you find an 8gb msd card for $10?
     
  15. geoflcl

    Member geoflcl Permanent GBAtemp Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,373
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't mean an 8GB card... Just a decent 2GB one...

    Sorry to ruin your hopes and dreams. [​IMG]
     
  16. choconado

    Member choconado Doesn't understand a damn thing on here

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    536
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe it's just me, but I've NEVER had luck with "hotkeys". I think I got it to work ONCE when I first got my AK. As it stands, I'll just hard reset. It's easier with very similar results.
     
  17. BloodAdept
    OP

    Newcomer BloodAdept Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    United States
    Dear god, if you think that made it into my dreams your seriously demented... As for hopes, eh not really was actually fascinated more with the thought. Sadly I cannot even afford $10 at the moment. Someone thought it would be funny to well... Lets just say I owe someone $5,000 for something I had nothing to do with -.-" [​IMG]

    Side Note:

    Went to start backing up my files in order to format my micro sd card, Ace Attorney Investigations Miles Edgeworth was a corrupted file... will test later if a new copy will allow me to save properly.
     
  18. BloodAdept
    OP

    Newcomer BloodAdept Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    United States
    Odd discovery! [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    For anyone experiencing the soft reset problem, do L+R+A+X+Y+B and then the down directional key. Tested with all 37 games on the 8gb micro sd card. This solution worked on all of them.
     
  19. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Doesn't anyone read the AKAIO Wiki anymore? The correct soft reset is: L+R+B+A+Down. I had a little trouble getting it at first as well because of my switch from an M3 DS Simply which had a different keystoke.
     
  20. BloodAdept
    OP

    Newcomer BloodAdept Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    United States
    Damn, your right... thanks for reminding me.
     

Share This Page