AK2i From DX?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Dangy, Mar 15, 2010.

Mar 15, 2010

AK2i From DX? by Dangy at 12:31 PM (1,423 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. Dangy
    OP

    Member Dangy Twisting Your Mind & Smashing Your Dreams

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,391
    Country:
    United States
    I heard that the AK2i's from DX won't update, is this true? Because I'm ordering one today.
     
  2. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    i don't think is true..
    could be some bad batch

    furthermore, all the newer batch of ak2i should be DSi 1.4 compatible
     
  3. overlord00

    Member overlord00 A motherfucking birdplane

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    664
    Country:
    Australia
    they are theoretically true cards (not clones) but have troubles updating...
    i have two, and had to use a hacked R4i update, which ended up working fine...
     
  4. D34DL1N3R

    Member D34DL1N3R Nephilim

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,614
    Country:
    United States
    Well I hope that's not true because I ordered one last week. It will be going back if that's the case.
     
  5. overlord00

    Member overlord00 A motherfucking birdplane

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    664
    Country:
    Australia
    neither do i, but hey, i updated one, it works fine, and am using an unupdated card (im 1.3A (australia)) running AKAIO 1.6 RC1.
    its all running fine.
    playing soulsilver atm

    ----
    ie;
    -one card is the updated (1.4) card that my cousin has
    -another card that is not updated, and is also running akaio 1.6RC1
     
  6. Hasney

    Member Hasney GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just ordered one. Do you only need to update for newer DSi firmwares?

    On a phat so won't need to bother if that's the case.
     
  7. overlord00

    Member overlord00 A motherfucking birdplane

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    664
    Country:
    Australia
    no, its not needed then
     
  8. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  9. rommy667

    Member rommy667 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Down the road around the corner
    Country:
    Ireland
    Thanks for the nfo about the updated update lol,ive use the older one many times and it never got stuck at 0% but ill use the newer version from now on [​IMG]
     
  10. Dangy
    OP

    Member Dangy Twisting Your Mind & Smashing Your Dreams

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,391
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, I bought my AK2i, you can lock this thread if you want.
     
  11. Mr.Mysterio

    Member Mr.Mysterio GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    Qatar
    Anyone can confirm that the AK2i's bought now from DX can run AKAIO 1.6RC1? I thought there were some fake AK2is.
     
  12. fallinroxas

    Member fallinroxas GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    United States
    I can confirm that acekard 2i bought from DX are legit. I own three [​IMG] All of which work with AKAIO 1.6RC1
     
  13. shideneyu

    Newcomer shideneyu Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    France
    Dealextrem have removed linker two month ago xd So you'll not be able to buy one in DX during a looooooooooooooonnnnnnnnnnng time ;D
    Your question does not even exists lol (before, when they were still selling linkers, ak2i wasn't fake, my friend has bought one)
     
  14. Mr.Mysterio

    Member Mr.Mysterio GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    Qatar
    When did you buy those? Was it recently?
    I have a broken legit AK2i which was I bought about 3 weeks after its release and it looks like the new fake ones with actel chips????
    I heard the newer batches from DX were fake and AKAIO doesn't work/semi works on those.

    EDIT: You can still buy AK2is from DX.
    LINK
     
  15. D34DL1N3R

    Member D34DL1N3R Nephilim

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,614
    Country:
    United States
    Linkers???

    Anyway. DX does in fact still sell the AK2i.
     
  16. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Linkers are what people who typically don't know what they're talking about call 'Flashcards'.


    @shideneyu: http://www.dealextreme.com/feedbacks/Brows...ws.dx/sku.18728
    Click the "Add to Cart" button to buy it.

    They removed many of the Flashcards listings to comply with a DMCA (Digital Millennium Copyright Act) notice which threatened to suspend their PayPal account if they continued to list the various flashcards they had. Even though the listings are removed, you can still buy them by adding them to your cart from the Review pages.
     

Share This Page