Hacking AK2 freezing up on games

CPhantom

The Noob :(
OP
Member
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
587
Trophies
0
Age
32
Website
Visit site
XP
310
Country
United States
Hello, a friend of mine has just gotten her AK2 last night and brought it over for me to get set up. However, she contacts me today saying her Hello Kitty game and The World Ends With You freeze up.


Hello Kitty right after tapping the start screen

TWEWY right after the tutorial.


Any help? Thanks!
 

Chaykin

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
79
Trophies
1
XP
882
Country
Poland
Maybe try turning off the soft reset function (if you have it on ;-P). Highlight the game file, then Y, again Y, set "soft reset" to "Disabled". Return and try it.
 

Izzy011

The Business Bitch
Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2008
Messages
247
Trophies
0
XP
313
Country
United States
In The World Ends With You,it freezes during the opening movie
(for me it was when Beat and Neku are next to eachother)
if you have a slow sd card.
lecture.gif
Just close and open your ds a couple of times until the movie is over.
lecture.gif
 

Briankealing

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
641
Trophies
0
XP
85
Country
United States
Hello Kitty? Umm... that's kind of a dumb game, no offense.

Have you done anything to the ROMs? Make sure all the ROMs are completely clean rips.
 

Another World

Emulate the Planet!
Former Staff
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
10,578
Trophies
2
Age
47
Location
From Where???
Website
wiki.gbatemp.net
XP
5,521
Country
Colombia
turn off the patching (cheats, download play, softreset, etc) for that rom and retest.

doesn't twewy need a dat patch to get it working? or was that twewy 2? there were fixes for both but i never played either, i can't recall what did what.

-another world
 

CPhantom

The Noob :(
OP
Member
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
587
Trophies
0
Age
32
Website
Visit site
XP
310
Country
United States
@Briankealing: It's for a friend, she loves that stuff, and is like that xD So, yeah...I gave her the game she wanted.

@Another World: Well there is no TWEWY 2, so you might have the wrong game.



ALSO, just noticed this. I didn't realize that AKIAO or whatever it is is a AK2 setup. I used the original carts stuff from the website. Should I switch it over to AKIAO and it'll be better?
 

ibis_87

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
350
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Moscow
XP
199
Country
Serbia, Republic of
the solution described here for TWEWY is not too elegant but pretty reliable. As far as I know, It's only one movie that is a problem, so it should not be a big deal
smile.gif
 

Another World

Emulate the Planet!
Former Staff
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
10,578
Trophies
2
Age
47
Location
From Where???
Website
wiki.gbatemp.net
XP
5,521
Country
Colombia
CPhantom said:
ALSO, just noticed this. I didn't realize that AKIAO or whatever it is is a AK2 setup. I used the original carts stuff from the website. Should I switch it over to AKIAO and it'll be better?

akaio does run better as it is a lot more optimized. but akaio's loaders are based off the 4.07 source right now. you may have a better combination of using akaio and the official 4.12 loader in the ak2 loaders folder of the msd. you tell the rom (in its properties) to use either the akaio 4.07 modified loader or the official loaders you store in the ak2 loaders folder.

try both combinations and see if either of them work.

--- i just relized i was thinking of bleach 1 & 2.

-another world
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    iirc it's the same soundchip as the Sega genesis
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Xdqwerty, That's a YM2612 for the Genesis.
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    It sounds similar tho
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    They do. They both use a six-channel FM synthesis.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    And some master system games support fm synthesis
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Like wonder boy 2
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Speaking of wonder boy, i didnt know adventure Island was actually the first game of the wonder boy series
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Xdqwerty, Me neither.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    And then adventure Island became its own series
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Never knew this was ever a thing. Nice piece of history there.
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    The wonder boy series is kinda confusing
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Just look at this:
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Okay
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Okay it's not that confusing
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    But there are like 2 wonder boy 3
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Two Wonder Boy 3s?
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Yea
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Monster lair and the dragon's trap
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    That's understandable, especially if they both have the same name. Dragon's Trap is a remake of the 3rd game, whereas the 3rd game is the OG version of Dragon's Trap.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Confusing af
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    No, it's more like this
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Confusing cronology
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    I agree.
    SylverReZ @ SylverReZ: I agree.