Advance games to DS

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by RODIFIRE, Nov 22, 2010.

Nov 22, 2010

Advance games to DS by RODIFIRE at 1:23 PM (1,169 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. RODIFIRE
    OP

    Member RODIFIRE GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    GREECE
    Country:
    Greece
    hi I have a DSi and my girl a DSI XL and we both have acekard 2i can someone help me and tell me how can I play gameboy advance games to my DSi/XL? with my acekard?
     
  2. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,452
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    You can't. You need one of the cards with the built-in CPU and RAM (like the iPlayer or the Supercard DSTWO or the iSmart MM), that can run the GBA emulator. Unfortunately, that's the only way to play GBA games on a DSi.
     
  3. RODIFIRE
    OP

    Member RODIFIRE GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    GREECE
    Country:
    Greece
    oh..... this is sad [​IMG]
    thanks anyway for the help and how much cost the cards that is avalable to play GBA games?
     
  4. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,452
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    The DSTWO is $35 on ShopTemp, not sure about the other cards but I think they're around $35-40 as well.
     
  5. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    Don't bother with the iPlayer. DSTWO is your best friend in this case. Just be prepared to lose around 2 hours of battery life because of the CPU in the card. But still, who plays DS for 8 hours straight?
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    You can't run GBA games natively from slot-1, you need a slot-2 (GBA slot) card, but since the DSi/XL doesn't HAVE it you can't run GBA games normally, thus you will need a slot-1 card with extra bits inside it to emulate the GBA.
     
  7. zruben

    Newcomer zruben Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Mexico
    NDS Lite with EZ 3-in-1 is still the best way to play GBA games =)
     
  8. Demonstryde

    Member Demonstryde GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    373
    Country:
    United States
    that is great.... except he has an acekard and dsi system/system..... anyone who owns one of these devices isnt going to go backwards just to play older games..... like going back to vhs(are you serious?)....i hate dslite and dsphat users that make those kinds of comments ... like " ds lite is the best way to go.. no need to update" make those comments because they are jealouse that their parents didnt buy them one......cus they too cheap to go and shovel snow or rake leaves or cut grass to pay for their own....
     
  9. Rascal

    Member Rascal GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    Look who's hating [​IMG]

    Why not own both? I have a DSTwo and trust me, the GBA Emulation is far from perfect. It is best to keep around a DS-Lite for the Slot-2 and buy the latest and greatest (DSi, 3DS, etc) for their own benefits.

    BTW, how are you going to update your Acekard when you accidentally accept a future DSi firmware update? That's one of the other benefits of having a non-DSi around the house [​IMG]
     
  10. Etalon

    Member Etalon Former Akaio Fanboy

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,205
    Country:
    Morocco
    If you're a DSi user and need to play GBA games:

    Get a DS lite, EZ Flash & Acekard.

    DSTWo GBA-emulation is simply not good enough. It can't even save.
     
  11. Presto99

    Member Presto99 You slammin, bro?

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    910
    Location:
    Skyworld
    Country:
    United States
    Actually it can. You need to press (X) to open the menu and press "Exit". It's pretty good. Not perfect, but good, and on a DSi, too!
     
  12. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    Pay no attention to him, he's a huuuuuge troll against the DSTWO.
     
  13. MdX MaxX

    Newcomer MdX MaxX Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Or you could just, maybe, buy a Game Boy Advance and a flash cart. It'll be cheaper than a DS lite.

    @Demonstryde: Is getting a lite really going backward? What DSiWare games are really all that great? Who wants 0.3 MP photos? I'll take longer battery life and GBA compatibility instead.
     
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    If you don't know which DSiWare games are good, try checking out the sticky. Also, Cave Story.

    It may only be 640x480, but that's a 640x480 image you couldn't take with a DS Lite.
     
  15. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That was my thought; a 0.3 MP camera, while not particularly high resolution, is still better than no camera. If you have a DSi and no other consoles like a DS/Lite or GBA and no intentions of getting one then emulation is still better than having nothing at all.
     

Share This Page