Acekard2 and EZ Flash 3 in 1

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Grimm, May 1, 2009.

May 1, 2009

Acekard2 and EZ Flash 3 in 1 by Grimm at 5:46 AM (922 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. Grimm
    OP

    Newcomer Grimm Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    United States
    I have an Acekard 2 and 4gb micro SDHC card that I use to run DS homebrew and a few DS games. I'm getting interested in running GBA games from my SDHC card as well, but I seem to recall hearing that it requires the use of a ram expansion pack that fits in slot 2. I think it was called EZ Flash 3 in 1, is that correct?

    I was also curious if the ram expansion helps other homebrew such as snemulds to run games faster, or helps in any other way besides enabling the use of GBA games from slot 1.

    Thanks for taking the time to read and bear with me - i'm still learning. [​IMG]
     
  2. Smartpal

    Member Smartpal The Guitar Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Country:
    India
    Yup you require the 3in1 to run GBA games plus it also gives you extra RAM which can be use to run the opera browser, DSlinux and homebrew like you said. Plus it also acts as a rumble for DS games.
     
  3. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    But, if the SRAM dies, then it becomes a 2-in-1.
    If the RAM dies, it becomes a 1-in-1.
    If the rumble dies, then it's a dustcover-in-1.
     
  4. Grimm
    OP

    Newcomer Grimm Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    United States
    Ok cool, I thought thats how it worked. I'm assuming it just enables you to load the games but you can actually store them on your slot 1 device, right? What has me confused is that it says it has 512mb of Norflash memory in addition to 4mb sram. Does this mean that i'll be able to store gba games or homebrew on the 3 in 1 as well as my sdhc card?
     
  5. Chris_Skylock

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    Trust me, you dont want to use the rumble feature for the 5th time. it's fun but it eats the battery that much.
     
  6. Smartpal

    Member Smartpal The Guitar Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Country:
    India
    [​IMG]
     
  7. zruben

    Newcomer zruben Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Mexico
    as far as I understand, you can store 1 game at the NOR memory at the time... you need this to run GBA games that are larger that 32 mb... for example, if you try to run Mother 3, it will "store it" in the NOR and then it will run... in that moment, your EZ3-in1 will be like a regular GBA game...

    for example when you turn your DS on again, you'll see in the DS menu that you have a GBA game in... it will be Mother 3...

    anyway, if you have a game stored in the NOR, you can still use the SRAM regularly, you can still run... for example, Final Fantasy VI with no problem, and it won't affect the NOR and your Mother 3 game at all...

    but if you try to run a game larger than 32 mb, you would have to erase Mother 3 and replace it with the new game you are trying to run...

    I don't know if I was very clear, english is not my native language... =P

    hope it helps
     
  8. Smartpal

    Member Smartpal The Guitar Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Country:
    India
    You are absolutely right. Couldn't have explained it better myself.
     
  9. logical thinker

    Member logical thinker GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    567
    Country:
    Japan
    As far as I know, the current version of the 3in1 (the 3in1plus) is only supported as RAM expansion by the Nintendo DS Browser with cory1492's patch (included in AKAIO).
     
  10. Briankealing

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
  11. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmm... Anyone know a good place to buy them? DX have some, but they're more expensive than an Acekard 2i.

    Cheers.
     
  12. logical thinker

    Member logical thinker GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    567
    Country:
    Japan
    It works just fine? So you are saying that homebrews (snemulds, MoonShell 2, DSLinux, Quake DS...) use it as RAM expansion?
     
  13. Briankealing

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
  14. logical thinker

    Member logical thinker GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    567
    Country:
    Japan
    Objection!
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  15. cory1492

    Member cory1492 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,489
    Location:
    Home, WhereElse?
    Country:
    Canada
    Yep, as far as I know nothing else has supported/been recompiled for the new PSRAM page locations (if anything the first would usually be dslinux.) Haven't got a plus, so I've not done any testing to see if PSRAM game loading is workable, though there is a 3in1p ips patch for exploader out there somewhere I can't say for sure if it is only for NOR stuff.
     

Share This Page