Acekard RPG vs. DSTwo?

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by The_Dark_Knight, Oct 13, 2010.

Oct 13, 2010

Acekard RPG vs. DSTwo? by The_Dark_Knight at 5:03 AM (1,783 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. The_Dark_Knight
    OP

    Member The_Dark_Knight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United States
    hi all,

    I had enjoyed my Acekard RPG for about two years with stellar results. However, in the last 6ish months, I've had trouble properly running newer games and older games that I hadn't tried before. I've used several different softwares and versions but am still met with frustration.

    I heard very good things about the DSTwo's game compatibility. Should I believe the hype? Could it possibly be the last card I need to buy for my DS needs? (since the 3DS is coming, variations in DS programming might slow down, right?)

    What would be the foreseeable pros and cons compared to the Acekard I'm using (or trying to use) now??

    Thanks in advance!!
     
  2. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    here's how it is
    the dstwo is like driving a benz
    and the acekard rpg, is like driving a hyundai

    also, with the 3ds coming, it not like there's a flash cart for it..
    look at all these complaint about AP..but guess what we dstwo user is doing??
    we're playing games, while you guys search for fix, and patch, etc.
     
  3. The_Dark_Knight
    OP

    Member The_Dark_Knight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United States
    and do you see this awesome compatibility of the DSTwo continuing indefinitely?
     
  4. Raynar

    Member Raynar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Internet 2.0
    Country:
    United States
    I personally had the AK2i as my first Flashcart in Jan this year when I got my DSi. Loved it really, but I got sick of waiting for AKAIO updates and patching roms. When Pokemon HG/SS came out I got sick of intros and patches that screw up the rom. Also when DQ IX came out I had to deal with an intro which every time it gets annoying.

    My bro Haldrie got a DSTWO and saw it in action loved it. A Month later I got it and retired my AK2i for it. Personally DSTWO is the best and it lives up to what they promised. Granted the SNES and GBA Emus need some work. But there work fine to play with. I am glad to own clean roms since I help my bro out with no intro roms. AP bypass works like a charm! A great example is Pokemon BLK/WHT while others had to wait for patches or cracks. Us DSTWO owners where rocking the game when it was release.

    Supercard Team is already promising it will work on 3DS (DS mode not 3DS mode). But I do for see them making 3DS flashcart when the time comes...

    Overall DSTWO is worth the 40 bucks and best investment.

    If you wanna buy it I suggest ShopTemp or Realhotstuff (Extremely fast for US)

    Real hot stuff, DSTWO - Free shipping.
    ^ Prefer this thats where I got mine. There located in New Jersey, USA. All packages will be shipped out from out New Jersey office (Plainsboro) or there warehouse (Lyndhurst). and extremely super fast shipping.
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Definitely go with the DSTwo, it's the ultimate cart.
     
  6. The_Dark_Knight
    OP

    Member The_Dark_Knight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, and the Supercard Team will be around for a while cranking out updates?

    Is the capability just as good with OLD ds games?

    Thank you guys for entertaining all my n00by questions!
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The team's been here for ages and has plans for the 3DS as well.

    Yes, it works fine with old games.
     
  8. The_Dark_Knight
    OP

    Member The_Dark_Knight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United States
    well alrighty. I may purchase one tomorrow then.

    ANY possible downsides or other things I should be aware of first??
     
  9. jakeyjake

    Member jakeyjake GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I love my dstwo.
     
  10. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    yeah, read gbatemp's official dstwo review, there's tons of information there
    make sure you research firmware, 1.05 before updating the firmware
    http://gbatemp.net/t232281-supercard-dstwo-review
     
  11. The_Dark_Knight
    OP

    Member The_Dark_Knight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United States
    wow. perhaps it's because I've been "driving a hyundai" for so long, but that sounds like a very impressive device!

    I'm sorry but could you either rephrase or elaborate on this? I'm not sure exactly what advice you're trying to give me.

    thank you!
     
  12. R4Liam

    Member R4Liam Artsy Dude

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    all flashcards were blocked by the dsi's 1.05 firmware upgrade. The DSTWO has a fix for that though so don't worry. If you upgrade your dsi firmware to 1.05 be sure to download the DSTWO fix for it.
     
  13. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    It's probably just your English but...
    1.The latest update was the 1.4.1,which blocked the cards
    2.RPG doesn't even work with the DSi,which probably means OP has a DSPhat/Lite


    [​IMG]

    Anyways,if you don't need the extra features,AKRPG is good enough with Wood
     
  14. The_Dark_Knight
    OP

    Member The_Dark_Knight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United States
    yes, I only have a DS lite. so does that mean I don't have to worry about RoMee's warning?

    PS - I ordered the DSTwo card and it is on its way to me. I've been looking over this thread

    http://gbatemp.net/t258707-the-right-way-t...supercard-dstwo

    and I just wanted to make sure that, like any device made in questionable parts of the far East, the first thing I should do is reformat this card when it arrives right?
     
  15. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The DSTwo was updated for the DSi firmware anyways.

    Reformat the SD, yes.
     
  16. tehnoobshow

    Member tehnoobshow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    468
    Location:
    The Space Time Continum
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ds two wins hands down......and yes reformatting is good
     

Share This Page