1. LittleLisi

    OP LittleLisi Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Brazil
    I know there is a Wiki page for GBA Runner 2, but I just don't get it. I'm trying to use GBA Runner 2 on my New 2DS.
    I've downloaded gba bios and it worked fine, but when I start a game it freezes on a white screen.
    I looked on wiki and it says I need a commit and a rom3M branch. What is all these things? I'm really lost haha
    I also downloaded something called GBARunner2_arm7dldi_3ds.nds. I've put that on root folder because I don't know where I should put this.
    And the last thing I've tried is to patch the rom with gbata.
    If someone have a very detailed tutorial, I'd be thankful, sorry for being so stupid with all these things lol
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  2. Rahkeesh

    Rahkeesh GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    1,406
    Country:
    United States
    Right now the easiest way to run this is probably through the latest TwilightMenu. It includes a recent build of GBARunner2 and it will run it at the fastest speeds with the most memory.
     
  3. alexander1970

    alexander1970 Austrian Guy - allowed make grammatical Errors
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    6,773
    Country:
    Austria
    Hello.:)

    Is your SD Card/your Flashcards microSD Card formatted with FAT32 (not exFAT !!) ?
    Please have a look at this.

    Thank you.:)
     
  4. LittleLisi

    OP LittleLisi Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Brazil
    I'm using Twilight Menu ++ sorry for that.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    It is formatted with FAT32
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  5. Dodain47

    Dodain47 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,057
    Country:
    Austria
    What is the name of the game you want to play?
     
  6. LittleLisi

    OP LittleLisi Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Brazil
    Pokémon Emerald and Fire Red
     
  7. Dodain47

    Dodain47 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,057
    Country:
    Austria
    alexander1970 likes this.
  8. LittleLisi

    OP LittleLisi Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Brazil
  9. Dodain47

    Dodain47 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,057
    Country:
    Austria
    Download both arm7 build and place them in the ds rom folder of Twilightmenu. That´s where I have them.
    Then start Twilightmenu and navigate to the ds rom folder and start gbarunner arm7dldi wramicache.nds.
    The cache version should run faster.
     
    Tarmfot, LittleLisi and alexander1970 like this.
  10. Gericom

    Gericom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,278
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Dodain47 and alexander1970 like this.
  11. LittleLisi

    OP LittleLisi Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Brazil
    I downloaded all the builds that were in the link you sent me, but Pokémon Fire Red and Emerald didn't open, just got on a black screen, and The Sims 2 Pets makes a loud weird sound, however the ROM of Pokémon Mystery Dungeon Red Rescue Team worked, do I need to make a patch on the ROMS or something like that?
    Sorry for a such late answer lol
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2020
  12. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    5,595
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried playing those games with GBA VC injection made in NSUI beta 27 or latest nightly mGBA emulator?
     
    Retro_Mod_Gamer likes this.
  13. LittleLisi

    OP LittleLisi Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Brazil
    I was thinking about doing this, but I would really like to make GBA Runner 2 work normally, It's pretty for organization.
    NSUI just throws all your ROMS on the menu, and I don't like It lol
    And I don't know what is that mGBA emulator.
     
  14. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,681
    Country:
    United States
    you could try a gba inject, if you haven't already. I injected all of my games, plus mother 1 and 2 as well as minish cap. all other game dumps were done by me on a ds along with their saves. I found two saves that were all F's (i.e. corrupted). it was on the cart that way, so something must've gone wrong. anyway, it's a bit of a pita to get all saves working, since they appear to be mounted one at a time, but it's worth it. I also recently bought the everdrive for a majora's mask gba sp. I have the n3ds xl (majora's mask), so they look awesome together. it's the improved gba sp with the really good back light. :D
     
    TurdPooCharger and LittleLisi like this.
  15. LittleLisi

    OP LittleLisi Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Brazil
    Okay I'll think about doing that, thanks for your help :)
     
    godreborn likes this.
  16. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    5,595
    Country:
    United States
    Here's their main website to learn about mGBA emulator.
    I'm surprised that you've never heard about this is as it is basically the go to GB/GBC/GBA emulator found across multiple cross platforms (not just the 3DS btw).

    Since you have a n2DSXL and their recently released v0.8.0 has some noticeable speed upgrade over their previous 0.7.3, GBA pokemon games should be (more or less) playable at full speeds.

    Edit - I'll drop this here in case you go with lots of GBA VC injections.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2020
    LittleLisi and godreborn like this.
  17. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,681
    Country:
    United States
    yeah, it's pretty nice, but the save situation. you have to mount the game's save with agbsave.bin. it's only a few hundred kilobytes, so it can only hold one save. you then have to put the last modified save on your computer before you do the next game or else the system will overwrite it. I never saw this warning anywhere, but I managed to figure it out.
     
    LittleLisi likes this.
  18. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    5,595
    Country:
    United States
    Lol. Nah, not anymore you don't. Check my edited post above yours.
     
    godreborn likes this.
  19. LittleLisi

    OP LittleLisi Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Brazil
    Wow nice! I'll try it later and then I'll answer you, thank you :D

    Uhh, I'll look up to it then
     
    godreborn likes this.
  20. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,681
    Country:
    United States
    interesting. it's too late for me though. I've already done my injects. I didn't have that much to do (only about 12-15 saves). on the everdrive, you have to know which save extension to use, since it doesn't use the raw .sav format. that was new, but easy to do based on the size of each save.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Runner,